Reply
New Visitor
v1k1ngjt
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-14-2013

Arris Interactive, L.L.C. tm722g

The modem I have (model # is the subject of this message) is almost 10 years old. All the resetting in the world doesn't seem to help anymore.  I remember when 56K was "fast" but the 2.67Mbps I'm downloading at now seems painfully slow. I've had three differant routers throughout the lifespan of this one modem.

 

Is the modem delivering the speeds I'm paying for?

Bronze Problem Solver
cjerian
Posts: 1,315
Registered: ‎01-11-2013

Re: Arris Interactive, L.L.C. tm722g

[ Edited ]

The tm722g is a 4 way docsis 3 modem with voice and can run easily at over 100mbps.  I have one and it has no trouble getting the 50mbps service I have.  It came out in sep 2009  http://www.arrisi.com/product_catalog/_docs/_specsheet/TM722G%201SEP09.pdf  The newer version is 8 way and can go over 300mbps and is called tm822g. http://www.arrisi.com/products/_docs/TM822G_PF_13JUN11.pdf 

Cable Expert
i-am-nerdburg
Posts: 11,203
Registered: ‎06-27-2009

Re: Arris Interactive, L.L.C. tm722g

[ Edited ]

We need more information please:

- Post your upstream and downstream signal levels. Click the link or type: http://192.168.100.1 or http://10.0.0.1 into your browser. We are interested in your power levels (dBmV) and your Signal to Noise Ratio (SNR). You may also want to contact Comcast and ask for your upstream SNR (uSNR) and receive level.
- Post your modem’s error logs.
- Post the make and model of your modem.
- Post the make and model of your router if you have one.
- Let us know if you contacted Comcast or had a tech visit.
- Let us know what the lights on your modem are doing when you are having problems.

- Plug directly into the modem (no router) via ethernet and run ShaperProbe.

 

New Visitor
v1k1ngjt
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-14-2013

Re: Arris Interactive, L.L.C. tm722g

OK it turns out that Comcast only thinks I have the above modem. What I have is a Motorola Surfboard SB5100 that I know has been plugged in since 2003 except for various resets, power outages, etcetera, etcetera.

 

The log…

 

2013-04-15 19:50:05

3-Critical

R005.0

Started Unicast   Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out

2013-04-15 17:42:46

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

2013-04-15 16:46:07

3-Critical

R005.0

Started Unicast   Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out

2013-04-14 14:56:50

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

2013-04-14 14:17:04

3-Critical

R005.0

Started Unicast   Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out

2013-04-13 15:52:35

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

2013-04-13 14:36:00

3-Critical

R005.0

Started Unicast   Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out

2013-04-04 19:01:37

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

 

And so on…

 

The router is a Netgear N600 #WNDR3400

 

No, I’ve not had Comcast out… yet.  This is the first time I’ve contacted anyone about this. I’m just now becoming annoyed at my offsprings’ complaints about how “sucky” the internet is when they come home.

 

The lights on the modem are doing what they’ve always done as far as I can tell. All are lit and one blinks rapidly. Can’t see the labels by the lights well. Sorry, I’m an old flatulator. (This forum refuses to allow me to post the alternative term that I preffer)

 

As far as the last request goes, I have to see if I can find a cable to run it and I’m out of time to do that this evening, maybe tomorrow. If I don’t die in a fiery car crash.

 

Thanks for your responses.

Bronze Problem Solver
cjerian
Posts: 1,315
Registered: ‎01-11-2013

Re: Arris Interactive, L.L.C. tm722g

There are different speeds you can pay for, with different names, what speed are you paying for?

They have names like Economy, Performance, Blast and more expensive ones are faster.

 

The modem SB5100 you have is too slow for the 50 mbps since it doesn't do DOCSIS3, buy you won't have that I guess.

New Visitor
v1k1ngjt
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-14-2013

Re: Arris Interactive, L.L.C. tm722g

Thanks to all of your advice and assistance, Comcast is sending us a modem that is compatible with the service we are paying for. I have my fingers crossed. Now to see if they credit my account for what we've been paying for vs. what we've been capable of. I'm not holding my breath :smileyhappy: