Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
You can contribute an answer or post a question.
Reply
Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎04-06-2011
Posts: 5

Arris TM402p modem: How Can I Open ports?

Hi people, i got an Arris TM402P from the first day i started using comcast service, now I want to open a few ports due to my school project. When I go to 192.168.100.1, there is no place for me to open any port. Does it mean all the ports are opened? or all closed? i know the 80 is opened.

 

Please help!!!

 

Thank you

 

Mythuan

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 45,854

Re: Arris TM402p modem: How Can I Open ports?

[ Edited ]

That eMTA doesn't have a router segment. It acts as a layer 2 bridge. There are no "ports" to configure within it.

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎06-30-2003
Posts: 7,148

Re: Arris TM402p modem: How Can I Open ports?

A modem just passes data back and forth

do you have a router?

Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎04-06-2011
Posts: 5

Re: Arris TM402p modem: How Can I Open ports?

 


EG wrote:

There are no "ports" to configure within it.


 

So It means I cannot open any port. How can I open the ports I need right now? or just open the ports from my router?

Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎04-06-2011
Posts: 5

Re: Arris TM402p modem: How Can I Open ports?

 


Joe wrote:

A modem just passes data back and forth

do you have a router?


Yes I do have, and i can config to open my router ports

 

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 45,854

Re: Arris TM402p modem: How Can I Open ports?


Mythuan wrote:

 


EG wrote:

There are no "ports" to configure within it.


 

So It means I cannot open any port. How can I open the ports I need right now? or just open the ports from my router?


That's correct. This needs to be done in your router and any software firewall that you may have installed on your computer. The modem is a transparent bridging device.

Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎04-06-2011
Posts: 5

Re: Arris TM402p modem: How Can I Open ports?

That is Great!!

Thank you to EG and Joe.

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 45,854

Re: Arris TM402p modem: How Can I Open ports?

Tally-ho ! :smileyhappy:

Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments