New Visitor

CABLE MODEM CONNECTION ISSUES!

If you are having problems with your cable modem, please refer to the following.

An intermittent connection can be very frustrating. What happens when you have a intermittent connection? Let's say your cable status light goes out on your modem. (Some modems will re-cycle all the lights on the front panel of the modem)

I have been a tech with Comcast for 7 years. I go to alot of homes and diagnose alot of intermitten connections. Alot of them are Self-Install kits that the customer picked up from a store or had mailed out by Comcast. Here are some important info to remember.

YOU NEED A DEDICATED LINE!
What I mean by that is-- Where ever your cable somes into your house at (side of house or utility room); you need to run a line from that point right to the modem!! This will MOST likely solve your problem. make sure all your connections are tight! And please don't use those cheap screw on connectors. (They will allow off-air signals leak in your system) IF YOU have your cable modem going through 2 or more splitters, you MAY experience connection problems.

After you have a dedicated line, and you still are having problems; it can be one of two things.

1: Your line coming to your house is BAD! (CALL COMCAST)

2: You may have a area problem!! If your neighbors have the service, ask them if they are having problems with intermittent connection!! The more infor you can give the techs, the BETTER! (CALL COMCAST!!)

Now, if you have intermittent connections, and the lights on your modem are on, you may want to check:

1: network cable going from the modem to the computer.

2: If you have a router hooked up, bypass that!(sometimes you have to reset the cable modem, then the router, then reboot your computer) (IN THAT ORDER)

3: Sometimes you may get a virus and it will affect your operating system!! MOST of the time you will get NO CONNECTION!! but it may also cause intermittent connection.