New Visitor

Cable modem upgrade

I've been renting Comcast's cable modem (SB4100) for over 2 years now, and would like to know if Comcast provide free upgrade to a newer/better cable modem for people like me ?
If not then could someone tell me if I use my own new cable modem and return the old one to Comcast, how much money can I save per month ? (now I pay $47.68/month)

Thanks
David
Mac Expert
Joel

Re: Cable modem upgrade

You pay $3 a month for modem rental. You are free to buy your own, or Comcast should upgrade to a newer one if you want to continue renting. The SB4100 is alleged to not be compatible with the upcoming gold-tier upgrade to 6.0, with a top d/l speed reported in this forum of about 4.9Mbps. In other words, it is entirely possible that if you are having no problems, and you're only upgrading to the 4.0 tier, you may possibly have issues exchanging it. All you can do is call and ask.
Regular Contributor

> You pay $3 a month for modem rental. You are free to
> buy your own, or Comcast should upgrade to a newer
> one if you want to continue renting. The SB4100 is
> alleged to not be compatible with the upcoming
> gold-tier upgrade to 6.0, with a top d/l speed
> reported in this forum of about 4.9Mbps. In other
> words, it is entirely possible that if you are having
> no problems, and you're only upgrading to the 4.0
> tier, you may possibly have issues exchanging it. All
> you can do is call and ask.

I've had the SB4100 since my ATTBI days and when I wasn't getting the 6Mbit speed I should be getting and after Jason1 posted to upgrade the modem, I called Tech Support and had a tech come out and upgrade the modem. He installed a SB5120 and my speed was still the same as before the upgrade. So, for some of us it is not an issue of modem upgrade.
Most Valued Poster

These are modems known right now that have a problem with the new speed increases:
unable to reach 4mbps: Terayon ECM615
unable to reach 6mbps: