Contributor
shorty3300
Accepted Solution

Can't get Ubuntu (Linux) to connect to my Xfinity internet service

The harddrive in my laptop which previously ran Vista crashed. So I bought a new hard drive and didn't want to spend 200 dollars for a new operating system. Therefore I went with Ubuntu, which I absolutely love. Now the problem I'm having is that I can't figure out how to connect to the internet. When I replace the hard drive with one that runs Vista I can connect to the internet just fine. However I'm in love with Ubuntu and I want to have my internet service on the Ubuntu OS. I've played around with the networking tools and have tried all sort of things but since I'm relatively new with Linux OS I haven't been able to get anything to work. I've been able to pick up other people's wi-fi signals and get internet just fine. So I've got to imagine that there HAS to be a way to use my Xfinity service on my Ubuntu OS. Any help would be greatly appriciated otherwise I have no choice but to cancel my subscribtion from Comcast and complain for not forewarning there customers that Xfinity is not Linux freindly. 

Regular Contributor
Logic_Bomb

Re: Can't get Ubuntu (Linux) to connect to my Xfinity internet service

[ Edited ]

Are you trying to connect wirelessly, or is your laptop connected directly via an ethernet cable?

Networking Expert
Baric

Exact laptop model?  If using wireless, what router and what adapter in the laptop?  What version of Ubuntu? 

Wireless setup in Linux systems is notoriously difficult due to lack of decent drivers.  Depending on the adapter in question, this can be simple or near impossible.  It's all about the details here.

Contributor
shorty3300

[ Edited ]

I have a HP pavilion dv6700 connected directly to my modem. I believe it's ubuntu 10.10. I'm not that familiar with it. But I feel like I might have to somehow manually set up a "wired connection" or a "VPN". 

Regular Contributor
Logic_Bomb

[ Edited ]