Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
You can contribute an answer or post a question.
Reply
Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎04-23-2010
Posts: 13
Accepted Solution

Can we update the Firmwire of the Modem?

Can we update the Firmwire of the Comcast Modem?

Posted by
Networking Expert
Member Since: ‎10-03-2003
Posts: 5,061

Re: Can we update the Firmwire of the Modem?

Comcast push firmware updates to rental modems, I believe...I don't think it would be adviseable to perform firmware upgrades, unless you own the modem.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don't work for Comcast...


Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions


Send feedback to Comcast using the 'feedback' link on this page:
http://www.comcast.com/Corporate/Customers/CustomerGuarantee.html?SCRedirect=true

Posted by
Email Expert
Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,241

Re: Can we update the Firmwire of the Modem?

I think Comcast also manages the firmware of customer-owned modems. I think it's buried somewhere in the ToS that even though you own the modem, you're authorizing management by Comcast when you connect it to the cable. This allows them to ensure compatibility between the modem and their CMTS.

 

When I go to my modem's web interface (Linksys BEFCMU10 v4), I don't even see an option to install firmware updates.

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 45,827

Re: Can we update the Firmwire of the Modem?

You can't.

Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎04-23-2010
Posts: 13

Re: Can we update the Firmwire of the Modem?

Hello Guys,

 

Because we are having issues here with regard to updating the modem. It is a Motorola Modem. And we also called Motorola regarding this one. And Motorola said the ISP should be the one who will update it. I'am Completely LOST!!!

 

Thanks Again!

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,438

Re: Can we update the Firmwire of the Modem?

Sorry they didn't explain it better.

The Cable Company, in this Case, Comcast pushes an upgrads/udate to your modem as they become available. 

 

If you feel that your  modem needs an upgrade/update, then we will see if we can help you get that to happen.

Can you share with us what it is that makes you think that your modem needs to be upgraded?

Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎07-12-2010
Posts: 7

Re: Can we update the Firmware of the Modem?

I am experiencing random disconnects (where my SB5101's event logs indicate 'ACK Not Received' and in that order) for each occurrence.

 

In addition, I noticed that the Upstream Channel is 7 when the modem is online. The downstream SNR levels look acceptable and pretty steady.

 

Here is the trend I have noticed:

When I get disconnected from the Internet, I find the Upstream Channel has changed to 8; however the device's status LEDs still indicate that the modem is ONLINE (all solid GRN, PC link randomly flashing AMBER), whereby I still have a valid IP address (it has remained unchanged.)

Needless to mention that there is no connectivity at that point.

 

The modem logs also indicate that SB5101 firmware upgrades ARE periodically being pushed and successfully installed (the same silver config file over and over). I have also confirmed this by observing both SEND and RECEIVE LEDs flashing simultaneously during the DL.

 

I have contacted CCS by phone multiple times with poor/intermittent connectivity concerns and questions in this regard, however all CCS agents I've spoken with were ready to make a statement under oath that 'CC never does any firmware upgrades to customers' equipment', and then the CCS agent usually attempt to guide me through bogus troubleshooting steps, such as 'Is your modem connected to its power supply and the cable outlet? Let's go ahead and reset the modem' or try to refer me to Microsoft (LOL) and Motorola for the firmware.  

 

Please advise.   

Posted by
Regular Contributor
Member Since: ‎12-06-2007
Posts: 67

Re: Can we update the Firmware of the Modem?

I have same modem, same issues and same question.  Would appreciate clarification of the issue.  Thanks.

Posted by
Networking Expert
Member Since: ‎10-03-2003
Posts: 5,061

Re: Can we update the Firmware of the Modem?

the 'silver' config file you see being loaded is just that...a configuration file that provisions the modem for the correct data throughput rates according to the speed tier you subscribe to...it is not a firmware update.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don't work for Comcast...


Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions


Send feedback to Comcast using the 'feedback' link on this page:
http://www.comcast.com/Corporate/Customers/CustomerGuarantee.html?SCRedirect=true

Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎07-12-2010
Posts: 7

Re: Can we update the Firmware of the Modem?

Thanks for the clarification.

 

Could you also address the random disconnects that co-incide with the Upstream Channel switching from 7 to 8?

 

Posted by
Networking Expert
Member Since: ‎10-03-2003
Posts: 5,061

Re: Can we update the Firmware of the Modem?

Sorry, I don't have an answer for that. There are some other 'Experts' here that are more knowledgeable aboutthe technicalities of cable modems than I, so hopefully one of them may be able to help. If not we can ask one of the official Comcast moderators to take a look at your problem. (The 'Experts' are Comcast customers, just as you are, and are trying to help out other customers...unfortunately we don't have all the amswers....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don't work for Comcast...


Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions


Send feedback to Comcast using the 'feedback' link on this page:
http://www.comcast.com/Corporate/Customers/CustomerGuarantee.html?SCRedirect=true

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 45,827

Re: Can we update the Firmware of the Modem?

[ Edited ]

surf247 wrote:

Thanks for the clarification.

 

Could you also address the random disconnects that co-incide with the Upstream Channel switching from 7 to 8?

 


There may be excessive noise ingress in the upstream channel. If the CMTS is having difficulty hearing the modem, it can trigger their newer systems to make an 'on the fly' DCC (Dynamic Channel Change)These DCC's 'should be' seamless..

Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎07-12-2010
Posts: 7

Re: Can we update the Firmware of the Modem?

Thanks for your time.

 

True, the DCC 'should be' seamless; however, the onlilne connection in my case is real ONLY IF the Upstream Channel ID = 7.  

 

(If you want to review my initial post) I have made several attempts to convince the CC agents on the phone that they should have the line checked, but nobody would ever listen.

 

All I get from CS is their awesome 'troubleshooting advice'...:smileycool:

 

Cheers.

 

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 45,827

Re: Can we update the Firmware of the Modem?

I will bring your concern to the attention of a Forum Administrator for an escalation.

Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎07-12-2010
Posts: 7

Re: Can we update the Firmware of the Modem?

EG,

 

I appreciate your attention very much, and believe that this escalation will produce a solution in a professional fashion. Thanks.

 

Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎07-12-2010
Posts: 7

Re: Can we update the Firmware of the Modem?

In the meantime, I have some supporting evidence from recent Modem Event Logs below:

2010-08-10 20:52:45

6-Notice

M573.0

Modem Is Shutting Down and Rebooting...

2010-08-10 20:52:03

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

2010-08-10 20:01:52

6-Notice

M573.0

Modem Is Shutting Down and Rebooting...

2010-08-10 19:29:54

3-Critical

R005.0

Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out

2010-08-10 18:22:01

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

2010-08-10 18:12:18

6-Notice

M573.0

Modem Is Shutting Down and Rebooting...

2010-08-10 18:12:01

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

2010-08-10 17:44:27

6-Notice

M573.0

Modem Is Shutting Down and Rebooting...

2010-08-10 17:42:01

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

2010-08-10 17:12:17

6-Notice

M573.0

Modem Is Shutting Down and Rebooting...

2010-08-10 17:12:01

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

2010-08-10 17:06:48

6-Notice

M573.0

Modem Is Shutting Down and Rebooting...

2010-08-10 17:02:01

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

2010-08-10 17:00:04

3-Critical

R005.0

Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out

2010-08-10 16:33:19

6-Notice

M573.0

Modem Is Shutting Down and Rebooting...

2010-08-10 16:32:01

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

2010-08-10 16:29:57

3-Critical

R005.0

Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out

2010-08-10 16:23:40

6-Notice

M573.0

Modem Is Shutting Down and Rebooting...

2010-08-10 16:22:00

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

2010-08-10 16:05:06

6-Notice

M573.0

Modem Is Shutting Down and Rebooting...

2010-08-10 16:02:01

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

2010-08-10 15:22:35

6-Notice

M573.0

Modem Is Shutting Down and Rebooting...

2010-08-10 15:22:01

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

2010-08-10 15:18:28

3-Critical

R005.0

Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out

2010-08-10 15:13:37

6-Notice

M573.0

Modem Is Shutting Down and Rebooting...

2010-08-10 15:13:14

3-Critical

R005.0

Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out

2010-08-10 15:12:00

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

2010-08-10 15:05:02

6-Notice

M573.0

Modem Is Shutting Down and Rebooting...

2010-08-10 15:02:01

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

2010-08-10 14:55:12

6-Notice

M573.0

Modem Is Shutting Down and Rebooting...

2010-08-10 14:16:34

3-Critical

R005.0

Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out

2010-08-10 05:42:00

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

2010-08-10 05:07:30

6-Notice

M573.0

Modem Is Shutting Down and Rebooting...

2010-08-10 04:41:59

4-Error

C401.0

DCC-ACK not received

2010-08-09 18:19:15

6-Notice

M573.0

Modem Is Shutting Down and Rebooting...

 

 

Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎02-27-2010
Posts: 9

Re: Can we update the Firmware of the Modem?

At least you can get the even logs to show the correct date. Mine seem to think we live in 1970. Anyone seen my bell bottoms? Never mind. Ignore this message because I haven't even been born yet, apparently.

Posted by
Cable Expert
Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 13,001

Re: Can we update the Firmware of the Modem?

1970 logs are created after a modem reboot and start to get logged before the modem has contacted the time server in the CMTS.  That is normal operation when it can't "hear" the CMTS when it is booting up and doesn't know what time and date it is.

Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎02-27-2010
Posts: 9

Re: Can we update the Firmware of the Modem?

Yeah, so mine has it all the time. Look in the thread I posted just below this. This seems like it could be at least attributing to the problems I'm having, yet I hit dead end after dead end support-wise.

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 45,827

Re: Can we update the Firmware of the Modem?

W.I.W., a non updated time of day handshake will not affect basic connectivity/block sync.

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎06-30-2003
Posts: 7,148
Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎11-11-2012
Posts: 3

Re: Can we update the Firmware of the Modem?

All cable companies have been given firmware updates for all cable modems 4 years ago

When your modem connects it checks the IP Address of your internet provider and if a firmware update is available it's suppose to be pushed to your modem regardless if it's Comcast modem or your own.

Talk to a supervisor and keep asking until you get someone who'll do it

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 45,827

Re: Can we update the Firmware of the Modem?

Three year old thread now closed.

Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments