Reply
New Visitor
fhavas
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
Accepted Solution

Comcast blocking site?

We are unable to get to 2 sites from the same service that we could reach last week:

 

http://costumeresearch.com/

and

http://www.alleycatscratch.com/

 

Can any one get to these and is there a place where we can go to check if a website/hosting service has been blocked by comcast?

 

Franchesca

Gold Problem Solver
BruceW
Posts: 6,919
Registered: ‎12-03-2007

Re: Comcast blocking site?


fhavas wrote: ... Can any one get to these and is there a place where we can go to check if a website/hosting service has been blocked by comcast?

Both of those sites work OK for me. As far as I know, Comcast does not deliberately block websites, although sometimes DNS or other glitches prevent access.

New Visitor
fhavas
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-22-2012

Re: Comcast blocking site?

How can I diagnose that?

Gold Problem Solver
BruceW
Posts: 6,919
Registered: ‎12-03-2007

Re: Comcast blocking site?


fhavas wrote: How can I diagnose that?

It depends on what happens when you try to visit those sites. If you're getting some form of "cannot find the site" message, you might try using different DNS servers, for example:

 

    Google     8.8.4.4   8.8.8.8
    Verizon     4.2.2.1   4.2.2.2
    OpenDNS 208.67.220.220   208.67.222.222

 

Be sure to switch back to Comcast's servers after testing.

 

The other common problem is that your IP has been banned by the site. In that case, if you're using a router you can try cloning the MAC address from one of your PCs to force a different IP.

 

If neither of those work, try contacting the problem site to see if they can help, or give Comcast Customer Security Assurance a call.

New Visitor
Danneaux
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-28-2012

Re: Comcast blocking site?

I am having a similar problem, and am so frustrated; coming up empty with every effort to address the problem. I have no problem accessing any site except for one.

 

I am trying to access thorncycles.co.uk a manufacturer of bicycles in the UK. They also operate a forum where I am a senior member. All has worked well till yesterday morning, when the connection times out. This is a problem for every computer on my network (24 real and virtual machines ranging from Macs and Mac-emulators to Windows XP, Vista, and 7, and several Linix distros). The site is also unaccessible (times out) from my neighbor's Comcast account and from the public library, but is available from McDonald's (AT&T) and Burger King and through a number of proxies.

 

Here is what I've tried so far:

 

1) Contacted the forum admin and confirmed I am not blocked, nor is my IP or range of IPs.

2) tracert shows a failure after the third hop, which is te-7-7-ur02.eugene.or.bverton.comcast.net [68.85.148.137]

3) Cloning my PC address into the modem results in a new ip with the same result, as does manually chaging the MAC addresses.

4) Changing DNS doesn't help, nor does bypassing DNS by entering the numerical address for the site directy into my browser.

5) Bypassing the router and connecting directly to the cable modem doesn't fix the problem, nor did resetting it, or trying three other wireless routers..

6) thorncycles.co.uk is not blocked by my firewalls, nor does it appear in my browser host files.

7) Flushing my dns and ip didn't fix the problem.

 

Please, can you help?

 

Grateful for any assistance,

 

Dan.

Bronze Problem Solver
Posts: 3,232
Registered: ‎05-12-2006

Re: Comcast blocking site?


Danneaux wrote:

2) tracert shows a failure after the third hop, which is te-7-7-ur02.eugene.or.bverton.comcast.net [68.85.148.137]



I'm seeing the same thing on the East Coast. I'd say that Comcast *is* blocking access to that IP address. They do that when they think it's a malware site, or someting like that. It looks like there are *lots* of sites hosted at that IP address, and it could be any one of them that triggered the block.

New Visitor
Danneaux
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-28-2012

Re: Comcast blocking site?

Thanks so much for checking from your end, Steve; much appreciated triangulation for what I suspicioned. I'll contact Comcast next and see what they can offer in the way of a solution. I just spoke with the Thorn Forum moderator and network admin, and he confirms no blocking of Comcast ip ranges there.

 

Do you have a suggestion for how best to float a request to Comcast to reconsider?

 

Best,

 

Dan.

New Visitor
Danneaux
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-28-2012

Re: Comcast blocking site?

I contacted Comcast Live Chat Support and quickly confirmed the thorncycles.co.uk site is blocked. Jan, the support specialist, gave me the following link to a form requesting a review for blocked sites and requested I post it:

https://www.comcastsupport.com/sdcxuser/asp/frameset.asp?mainframe=%2Fsdcxuser%2Fasp%2Fcomcast%5Fblo...

 

I am awaiting a decision, and will post the result here when I am notified of the outcome. I hope it will be soon, as I depend on the site for my business and interests.

 

Thank you and best regards,

 

Dan.

Bronze Problem Solver
Posts: 3,232
Registered: ‎05-12-2006

Re: Comcast blocking site?


Danneaux wrote:

I contacted Comcast Live Chat Support and quickly confirmed the thorncycles.co.uk site is blocked. Jan, the support specialist, gave me the following link to a form requesting a review for blocked sites and requested I post it:

https://www.comcastsupport.com/sdcxuser/asp/frameset.asp?mainframe=%2Fsdcxuser%2Fasp%2Fcomcast%5Fblo...

 

Well, that's a whole different ballgame, they're not talking about blocking in the same sense that we are. That form addresses the "blocking" of email senders, but what happens there is that the Comcast servers accept the connection, send back an error message saying why they're "blocked", and then disconnect. In your case the Comcast routers are configured to just drop all traffic to that address. The "blocking" in the email sense is common, but the router blocks are rare. I kinda suspect that you'd have a hard time reaching anyone at Comcast who could address the router block situation, but you could try Customer Security Assurance at 1-888-565-4329 (M-F 9am-11:30pm ET, S-S 10:30am-6:30pm ET). I also suspect that Comcast had a good reason for implementing the block, and that your inconvenience won't count for much.

 

I am awaiting a decision, and will post the result here when I am notified of the outcome. I hope it will be soon, as I depend on the site for my business and interests.

 

Don't forget to post back! I'm interested in what they have to say. In the meantime, you might find proxify.com useful.

 

Thank you and best regards,

 

Dan.


 

New Visitor
Danneaux
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-28-2012

Re: Comcast blocking site?

Hi, Steve and All,

 


steve-baker wrote:

Well, that's a whole different ballgame, they're not talking about blocking in the same sense that we are...In your case the Comcast routers are configured to just drop all traffic to that address.

 


You're absolutely right, Steve; the domain itself was unreachable because of a router block. I was requested to fill out the form, which seems primarily  intended to address mail blocks. In any case, it worked. The site was unavailable to multiple Comcast subscribers but was still accessible from competing ISPs and via proxy. After a thorough check of things at my end and with the target site admin, I knew it had to be a blockage at Comcast, confirmed by the third-hop failure in tracert and complete packet loss on directly pinging the site.

 

Good suggestion to try a proxy as a workaround. I did that early on with several, but found they gave me only basic access, and I could not conduct my full business using them.

 

As of late this morning, Comcast has restored full access to thorncycles.co.uk. No notification or email, but that's fine; it works again! My thanks to them and compliments to Jan, the Live Chat technician who worked with me. Jan was professional, polite, helpful and very timely in addressing my problem; very impressive and well done! By the way, while the resolved domain (thorncycles.co.uk) comes up fine, the numeric address pulls a red warning from WOT (Web of Trust); this is a characteristic of authoritative-only name servers that only return answers to queries about domain names that have been specifically configured by the administrator. This may have triggered the block, as the DNS-resolved site in question is "clean" and free of malware.

 

Per Jan's request, now my problem has ben addressed, may we label this as "Resolved" in the Forum?

 

My sincere thanks to the Forum and to you, Steve, for your help and assistance. Very much appreciated!

 

Best,

 

Dan.

Bronze Problem Solver
Posts: 3,232
Registered: ‎05-12-2006

Re: Comcast blocking site?


Danneaux wrote:

Hi, Steve and All,

...
As of late this morning, Comcast has restored full access to thorncycles.co.uk. No notification or email, but that's fine; it works again! My thanks to them and compliments to Jan, the Live Chat technician who worked with me. Jan was professional, polite, helpful and very timely in addressing my problem; very impressive and well done!

Wow. I'm almost shocked with the way things turned out! First that you got someone who even knew what you were talking about, and second that the situation was handled so quickly. I'm quite curious about the exact chain of events inside of Comcast that led to the lifting of the router block... but if I ever need to do Live Chat, I hope I get Jan!

 

Thanks for getting back to us!