Reply
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-09-2003

Connection problems and 192.168.100.2

I have been experiencing intermittent connection loss for the past 3 months.

I have had 2 visits from Comcast, had cables, connectors, splitters replaced, and signal boosted. Replaced a router, and finally a modem.  Even with all this, I still have problems. 

I bypassed my router several days ago and connected directly from modem to pc to see if this helped.  The connection lasted for several days, but then went down again.

The last time my connection was down (8/19), I did an ipconfig/release the renew. 

The renew command returned as follows:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]

(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Mark & Barbara>ipconfig/renew

Windows IP Configuration
 
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.100.2
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Why would I be seeing 192.168.100.2?  I'm not sure if this is telling me anything, but I would appreciate anyone's help with this.  Modem is a new Motorola SB5120.

Thanks
Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 40,141
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: Connection problems and 192.168.100.2

[ Edited ]
>>"Why would I be seeing 192.168.100.2?  I'm not sure if this is telling me anything, but I would appreciate"
 
 
 
This is showing that your modem was offline with Comcast, so the modems built in DHCP server is assigning your Computer's Network Adapter a private I.P. address from an address pool that likely begins at 192.168.100.2 (the address that you currently have), and is now acting as a LAN agent.
 
Notice that you do not have a "Default Gateway" to the internet.
 
This is also because the modem was offline.

Message Edited by EG on 08-20-2006 01:30 PM

Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-09-2003

Re: Connection problems and 192.168.100.2

Assuming that the problem is not with the cable or modem, could an intermittent problem like this be caused by a faulty ethernet adapter?

That's about the only thing that hasn't been replaced.

Thanks for your help.
Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 40,141
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: Connection problems and 192.168.100.2

[ Edited ]
It could, but I don't think so in this case.
 
This issue seems to clearly be the connection (or lack thereof), between Comcast and your modem.
 
You should read the two sticky topics at the top of the forum page, follow the suggestions for troubleshooting your connection, then post the requested information so that a further determination can be made.
 
Or, you could just call Comcast again :smileygrin:

Message Edited by EG on 08-20-2006 01:30 PM

Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-09-2003

Re: Connection problems and 192.168.100.2

Here are values from 192.168.100.1 status.  Upstream power level too high?

Downstream
Frequency 693000000 Hz
Signal to Noise Ratio37 dB
QAM256
Network Access Control ObjectON
Power Level-5 dBmV   The Downstream Power Level reading is a snapshot taken at the time this page was requested. Please Reload/Refresh this Page for a new reading

UpstreamUpstream
Value
Channel ID5
Frequency30000000 Hz
Ranging Service ID891
Symbol Rate2.560 Msym/s
Power Level56 dBmV
Recognized Contributor
Posts: 14,085
Registered: ‎10-01-2003

Re: Connection problems and 192.168.100.2



mgriff wrote:
Here are values from 192.168.100.1 status.  Upstream power level too high?



Yup, and that might explain the disconnects.  Time for yet another call to Comcast, I'm afraid.  I may be wrong, but I don't think there's much you can do on your own to correct that problem.
Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 40,141
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: Connection problems and 192.168.100.2

[ Edited ]
>>"Power Level56 dBmV"
 
 
>>"Upstream power level too high?"
 
 
 
 
 
Bingo !!!
 
Yeah..... it's borderline high, and likely to be migrating even higher intermittently.
 
That definitely will cause your Modem to lose sync.

Message Edited by EG on 08-22-2006 06:57 PM

Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-05-2004

Re: Connection problems and 192.168.100.2

Wow, I just moved to a new home (26+ year-old house, but new to me) and I'm sharing the same problems.  Comcast installer was here for 4 hours, could only get a 192.168.100.* IP.  I power cycled a dozen times that night and got a 67 and was up and running.  Tech came the next day and saw nothing too out of the ordinary, but scheduled to have the cable to my house dug up & replaced.  That evening, the modem went down, back to 192.168.100.* and has stayed that way for 3 days, no matter how many times I power cycle.  My power levels are all over the place, extreme highs & lows outside of what is should be (ex. Upstream Power Level 11.0 dBmV to 61.0 dBmV range).  I plan to wait 2 more days for the cable replacing to see if that helps, but I should hope I can get credit/pro-rated for my week of downtime.  :smileysad:  I'm shaking from withdrawals.
Most Valued Poster
Drewby
Posts: 3,197
Registered: ‎09-20-2004

Re: Connection problems and 192.168.100.2



arichesin wrote:
  I plan to wait 2 more days for the cable replacing to see if that helps, but I should hope I can get credit/pro-rated for my week of downtime.  :smileysad:  I'm shaking from withdrawals.


Hi,
 
As long as you don't have Service... Comcast is good in giving Credits, but you have to ask for it.... also make sure you watch your next bill!  I was given a $20 Credit on 7/5/06 but on my Bill they CHARGED me an extra $20 instead of a Credit..  lol :smileyangry:  So ask about a Credit and DO watch your next Bill..:smileysilly: