Reply
Contributor
lkfrdeal
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-14-2012

Extreme 105 Speed Results Post

I need help from existing customers who has Extreme 105 high speed internet connection.

If you are a customer with that speed subscription, please post your speed test results with speedtest.net and speakeasy.net websites. You can post either graphics picture or simply speedtest website with download and upload speed results. It would nice if you include your metro city as well.

 

BTW, I am not getting more than 66MB download speed from those 2 websites. Upload is coming in 10MB ball park.

Here is my test results at this moment.

 

Metro: Chicago

Speedtest.net: Download:35.4, Upload:10.55

Speakeasy.net: Download: 48.5 , Upload: 10.02

 

 

Appreciate your help.

Cable Expert
i-am-nerdburg
Posts: 9,991
Registered: ‎06-27-2009

Re: Extreme 105 Speed Results Post

Like I said before: Try ShaperProbe instead. You won't get reliable results from flash/java based tests. There is no point in making comparisons with faulty tests.

Contributor
lkfrdeal
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-14-2012

Re: Extreme 105 Speed Results Post

Let customers speak for itself with their test results...It is not comparison of other speed test websites with Comcast speedtest website, rather comparison among speed test results from customers for same non-Comcast speed test websites...By doing that comparison, java/flash effect is nullified..

 

Existing customers --- Please post results from your test as stated earlier...

Bronze Problem Solver
Jim721
Posts: 2,309
Registered: ‎12-05-2010

Re: Extreme 105 Speed Results Post

Ok here is my speed test from the comcast site. I get the same results pretty much no matter were i test. Im on performance tier. I tried Blast but they never really got it working right so I went back to the cheaper performance package here is what I get most of the time.

 

  http://stage.results.speedtest.comcast.net/result/139747472.png

Bronze Problem Solver
Jim721
Posts: 2,309
Registered: ‎12-05-2010

Re: Extreme 105 Speed Results Post

[ Edited ]

FWIW here are my modem signal stats.

 

Downstream Bonded Channels Channel Lock Status Modulation Channel ID Frequency Power SNR Correctables Uncorrectables
1LockedQAM2568597000000 Hz4.5 dBmV40.8 dBmV00
2LockedQAM2561555000000 Hz3.2 dBmV39.9 dBmV00
3LockedQAM2562561000000 Hz3.8 dBmV40.3 dBmV00
4LockedQAM2563567000000 Hz4.1 dBmV40.4 dBmV00
5LockedQAM2564573000000 Hz4.2 dBmV40.8 dBmV00
6LockedQAM2565579000000 Hz4.4 dBmV40.9 dBmV00
7LockedQAM2566585000000 Hz4.6 dBmV40.8 dBmV00
8LockedQAM2567591000000 Hz4.5 dBmV40.8 dBmV00
Total Correctables Total Uncorrectables
00
Upstream Bonded Channels Channel Lock Status US Channel Type Channel ID Symbol Rate Frequency Power
1LockedATDMA85120 Ksym/sec27900000 Hz46.5 dBmV
2Not LockedUnknown00 Ksym/sec0 Hz0.0 dBmV
3Not LockedUnknown00 Ksym/sec0 Hz0.0 dBmV
4Not LockedUnknown00 Ksym/sec0 Hz0.0 dBmV
Regular Contributor
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Extreme 105 Speed Results Post

I have the Extreme 50 service.  4 bonded downstream channels and a single 5120 KSym/secsymbol rate upstream channel.  I consistently get speeds similar to the results in the link below.  I also get 50/10 sustained speeds from shaperprobe.

 

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1966044761.png

Bronze Problem Solver
Jim721
Posts: 2,309
Registered: ‎12-05-2010

Re: Extreme 105 Speed Results Post

Hey Doc you got some smoking speeds with that Extreme tier. What does CC charge you for that just curius ?

New Visitor
BWGSF
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-30-2012

Re: Extreme 105 Speed Results Post

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2092330592.png

 

This is what I get in the city of San Francisco after an undisclosed $249 installation fee for what turned out to be absolutely no more than 5 minutes of some technicians time. 

Contributor
Sandmaneo
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-31-2012

Re: Extreme 105 Speed Results Post

I am on the Extreme 50 Tier and these are my results as of today.. no doubling going on here.. even tho I got the email from Comcast telling me it has been setup here already... 

 

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2094370131.png 

Networking Expert
kevj
Posts: 4,640
Registered: ‎10-03-2003

Re: Extreme 105 Speed Results Post


lkfrdeal wrote:

.By doing that comparison, java/flash effect is nullified..

 


No it isn't...if the test is potentailly flawed, what is the point. 

 

What you re saying is analogous to saying that if you are driving your car at 70mph, and you go through a radar gun that is faulty, and only shows you going 50 mph, just because it shows everyone else that is driving 70mph is also only going 50mph, you are going to believe the broken equipment, and conclude that everyone was going at 50 mph  rather than 70....

---------------------------------------
Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions


Send feedback to Comcast using the 'feedback' link on this page:
http://www.comcast.com/Corporate/Customers/CustomerGuarantee.html?SCRedirect=true

Regular Contributor
hyatis
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎03-10-2011

Re: Extreme 105 Speed Results Post

[ Edited ]

Speeds are also restricted by your equipment i.e. computer and router. That old dell pentium 4 computer with less then 1 gb ram probably wont be seeing faster speeds. i've seen one computer get 23 only, another show 60, and a macshow 50... we had to get some small toshiba notebook with a 1 GB ethernet connection to see higher then 70mbps on speedtests, all off the same router.

 

That old wireless G linksys blue and black router wont be seeing fast speeds.

 

Also speeds are based on wired connection direct to modem. lots of wireless network connections will show lower speeds then wired.

 

Now obvisously I dont know what kind of equipment you have, just something to keep in mind.

 

 

Regular Contributor
hyatis
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎03-10-2011

Re: Extreme 105 Speed Results Post

[ Edited ]

speedtest.net also has some very messed up hosts. 

 

I live in the mountains and the glennwood springs host(15 miles away) is always less then 10,

 

where as the denver host which is 250 miles away always 20+.

 

Cant go off just that to test speeds. there are a million speed test sites, low speeds off one host does not determine the quality of your service.

Regular Contributor
hyatis
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎03-10-2011

Re: Extreme 105 Speed Results Post

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2102002846.png  -- glenwood

 

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2102003787.png -- denver hosted comcat

 

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2102004501.png -- hosted by someone else.

 

i pay for 12mb... docsis 2 modem.. get my drift...

 

also they say UP TO... not always.. it will change.. you can run speed tests every minute all day and get different results.

 

most issues are equipment driven, computers/routers

Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 40,110
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: Extreme 105 Speed Results Post

To my experience and from what I have seen from other tech savvy folks and actual cable techs recommendations  in other forums, the Shaperprobe tool seems to be much more reliable than any of the run of the mill Flash and Java based testing sites.


Real life multiple concurrent file transfers (say four or five) via a download manager app from close by and known to be fast servers will always be more accurate to max out the pipe and reveal what it is truly capable of delivering.

Contributor
Sandmaneo
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-31-2012

Re: Extreme 105 Speed Results Post

Update: Full power off of complete system, Reset of modem to get new updates.. Extreme 50 user:

Cat6 Network, Cisco Gigabyte Router, Cisco Gigabyte Switch & Doc 3.0 Modem. In Northeast, got letter from Comcast.. Will wait a few more days to see if Aug 7th, really brings the boost. 

 

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2102694349.png 

Contributor
Sandmaneo
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-31-2012

Re: Extreme 105 Speed Results Post

Ok . Been very patient. No increase as of today.. 

 

Xfinity

http://stage.results.speedtest.comcast.net/result/163524492.png

 

Speed test 

 

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2129811979.png

 

I am still at my speed at extreme 50.... Power cycled everthing, even disconnected my network and went straight thru the modem. 

 

Now, i am going to probably downgrade the service to blast.. Why pay more for nothing?? 

Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 40,110
Registered: ‎12-24-2003