New Visitor

Keep Losing Conection? I know WHY!!

I keep loosing my connection also. You are not alone...
Sometimes for as long as a couple of hours. It usually comes back, but it goes down again. I've gotten to the point where I expect it to go down again! That's how crappy this service has gotten.
At first I thought it was my cable modem, but I decided to look into it a little more. (I'm a network engineer)

The reason I thought it was my cable modem was because if I rebooted it, my service usually (not always) came back. Sometimes I had to reboot my router too.
Well, I logged into my router and checked the routes on it. Since it uses DHCP for the WAN interface, the Gateway (next hop) is provided automatically. While it was down, I decided to Ping the Gateway to see if I got a reply.

What I found was that the first few attempts failed, but connectivity returned by about the 5th ping. Conincidence? Nope.
This hinted that the problem may be do to an ARP issue. I decided to create a batch file that would ping the remote gateway everytime my service went down. I play a lot of online games, so I know exactly when it goes away because I get disconnected from my gaming.
After it goes down, I quickly click on my batch file and everything is as expected. The first few Pings fail and then the service kicks in again.
Why does that fix it? It's simple. When you ping the remote gateway, the remote gateway puts your routers mac address in its ARP table for easy reference. ARP entries have a time out value, once the value reaches 0 it gets deleted from the ARP table. Once the ARP entry in deleted, your router has to send out an ARP broadcast the next time you request an Internet connection and it again registers itself with the Remote Gateway's ARP table. But what would happen if the ARP broadcast your router (or the remote router) sends never makes it to the remote gateway (or your router)? Your Internet connection would break. Until it is succesfull.