Reply
Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-18-2006

Xfinity Arris TC862

Howdy. Last week, hooked up the Comcast supplied Gateway Arris TC862. This replaced a Motorola wireless modem. Since it's been hooked up, we have been on the phone with Comcast regarding connections, and had a service call today. Speed after the call was outstanding. However, the gateway has at times lost all connectivity to the internet. Has anyone else suffered with this gateway? Thanks!

Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-18-2006

Re: Xfinity Arris TC862

Downstream

 DCIDFreqPowerSNRModulationOctetsCorrectedsUncorrectables
Downstream 17687.00 MHz-5.40 dBmV35.97 dB256QAM3379223160
Downstream 21651.00 MHz-2.36 dBmV36.17 dB256QAM2047255510
Downstream 32657.00 MHz-2.38 dBmV36.39 dB256QAM2321201900
Downstream 43663.00 MHz-3.12 dBmV36.17 dB256QAM2290866200
Downstream 54669.00 MHz-3.67 dBmV36.17 dB256QAM2510883420
Downstream 65675.00 MHz-3.64 dBmV36.17 dB256QAM2906421410
Downstream 76681.00 MHz-4.57 dBmV36.17 dB256QAM2527583200
Downstream 88693.00 MHz-5.48 dBmV32.77 dB256QAM2283114810
Reset FEC Counters

Upstream

 UCIDFreqPowerChannel TypeSymbol RateModulation
Upstream 1324.20 MHz45.50 dBmVMixed (TDMA and ATDMA)2560 kSym/s64QAM
Upstream 3136.40 MHz47.25 dBmVDOCSIS2.0 (ATDMA)5120 kSym/s64QAM
Upstream 4229.50 MHz47.00 dBmVDOCSIS2.0 (ATDMA)5120 kSym/s64QAM

 

 Status
System Uptime:0 d: 0 h: 56 m
Computers Detected:staticCPE(1), dynamicCPE(1)
CM Status:Telephony-DHCP
Time and Date:Wed 2012-05-23 17:21:02

 

 Interface Parameters
Interface NameProvisionedStateSpeed (Mbps)MAC address
LAN Port 1EnabledUp100(Full)00:1D:smileylaugh:1:8C:5B:F1
LAN Port 2EnabledDown-----00:1D:smileylaugh:1:8C:5B:F1
LAN Port 3EnabledDown-----00:1D:smileylaugh:1:8C:5B:F1
LAN Port 4EnabledDown-----00:1D:smileylaugh:1:8C:5B:F1
CABLEEnabledUp-----00:1D:smileylaugh:1:8C:5B:F2
MTAInProgressDown-----00:1D:smileylaugh:1:8C:5B:F3
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎11-26-2007

Re: Xfinity Arris TC862

Yep, yep, yep! I too just recently had the Arris TG862 installed at my home to replace a EOL modem. At first it seemed fine but this past week or so it has been hellish. It takes minutes for IE to open and then it stalls some more when trying to enter a website and/or it freezes then stops entirely.

 

I've been with Comcast and it's predesessors for many years and I'm loathe to even call Customer Service as it's just futile on only provokes frustation and anger. I have no clue what type of training they get, if any, but have never found them remotely helpful, except when scheduling a tech to come out.

 

So far this morning it's not too bad, but I've decided I really need to look into other options. I have TV/Internet/Phone with Comcast but, the quality and service has gone downhill so bad lately. I'm sick of paying the high amount for such mediocre service.

 

I'm just plain sick and tired of it all.

Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 43,122
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: Xfinity Arris TC862

OP. The signals are o/k as long as they are remaining stable. FWIW, we have been seeing many posts here about issues with these Comcast supplied gateways (including your model) and their firmware loads. Perhaps it is also in need of an updated firmware push by them.

Regular Contributor
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎09-26-2008

Re: Xfinity Arris TC862

[ Edited ]

My Arris gateway will not allow me to login to secure websites when hooked up with the ethernet

connection.  This is a known issue and they are working on it from what I've been told.  I wonder if your issue is related.

Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 43,122
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: Xfinity Arris TC862

[ Edited ]

kab1 wrote:

My Arris gateway will not allow me to login to secure websites when hooked up with the ethernet

connection.  This is a known issue and they are working on it.  I wonder if your issue is related.


Please share the model number of the Arris device with all readers here. Is it the same as the thread topic title ?

Regular Contributor
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎09-26-2008

Re: Xfinity Arris TC862

Arris TG862G/CT gateway.

Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 43,122
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: Xfinity Arris TC862

Thanks for responding.

New Visitor
astweiby63
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-26-2012

Re: Xfinity Arris TC862

I switch from Verizon to Comcast about 2 months ago. After two days I lost connection to the internet and thereafter every weekend with the ARRIS TC862 connection since. I lost connection every weekend, I have called and have had three visits by comcast service folks and they are unable to point out the problem. The ARRIS TC862 usually connects itself after a day or two. But this is very annoying. I just had a disconnection, (May 26, 2012), and it reconnected itself after a few 30 minutes. I am now having second thought about comcast service.

Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-18-2006

Re: Xfinity Arris TC862

http://stage.results.speedtest.comcast.net/result/141864162.png

 

A quick update. Knock on wood, cross my fingers, and hope everything keeps going well. The new gateway has been performing without any incidents. This is after some calls with Comcast, a home visit from a tech, and a power down of the gateway. Speeds have been good, no loss of connectivity, etc.

 

I hope that this continues, and I also hope that ell others with gateway issues get the service they are paying for.

New Visitor
CABLE-STINKS
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-06-2012

Re: Xfinity Arris TC862

I have the same problem.  Intermittent internet connection with new Arris tc862 modem.  I am unable to find a manual as it was installed and no info was left.  Worked great for 2 days and then it started taking longer to load pages and if you openned a new tab to search another site, internet was dropped.  Frustrating!!  I have also had bad experiences with Comcast help and don't want to call.  I want an easy fix, not spend my day on tech support!!!

New Visitor
astweiby63
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-26-2012

Re: Xfinity Arris TC862

Well, I really don't know what they did; as for now it is running smoothly; for the last month and a half. My system became very slow and is still slow navigating online. I am sick of calling because I don't really get the help I need. I will see what happen going forward. Thanks for sharing.

New Visitor
arcangel4588
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-19-2011

Re: Xfinity Arris TC862

I too am having suffering the same Internet problems with the  Xfinity Arris TC862, that I installed on 7/30/12. I spent hours on the phone and had my calls dropped frequently. I still do not have working telephone. I have no problems receiving TV shows.

 

The box that contained the cable modem did not include any software disk nor any documentation. My internet is not reliable, I never know when it will drop connectivity or how many hours it takes to re-establish internet connectivity again.

 

Hopefully Comcast will resolve the problems we are having with their internet connectivity.

Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎11-26-2007

Re: Xfinity Arris TC862

I just finally got so fed up with mediocre equipment, inept customer service etc., etc. for so long I went with FIOS about 2 weeks ago when I moved. So far so good. Of course time will tell.