Reply
Contributor
Beanmedic
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-02-2012

Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

New modem 6 months ago. No splitter, connections tight. Drops throughout the day. Have pushed reset switch a number of times with no behavior change noted. Called Comcast and they immediately said was the modem. I'm not convinced.  Impressions or advise?

 

Beanmedic

 

*Startup Procedure*
*Procedure*    *Status*    *Comment*
*Acquire Downstream Channel*    585000000 Hz    Locked
*Connectivity State*    OK    Operational
*Boot State*    OK    Operational
*Configuration File*    OK    
*Security*    Enabled    BPI+


*Downstream Bonded Channels*
Channel    Lock Status    Modulation    Channel ID    Frequency    Power    SNR
Correctables    Uncorrectables
1    Locked    QAM256    3    585000000 Hz    6.0 dBmV    38.7 dBmV    1739312    390043
2    Locked    QAM256    1    573000000 Hz    5.4 dBmV    39.0 dBmV    925567    443472
3    Locked    QAM256    2    579000000 Hz    6.1 dBmV    39.0 dBmV    1584199    873716
4    Locked    QAM256    4    591000000 Hz    5.9 dBmV    39.0 dBmV    938017    133943
5    Locked    QAM256    5    597000000 Hz    5.9 dBmV    39.0 dBmV    393277    61614
6    Locked    QAM256    6    603000000 Hz    6.3 dBmV    39.3 dBmV    189029    115429
7    Locked    QAM256    7    609000000 Hz    6.9 dBmV    39.5 dBmV    65453    98603
8    Locked    QAM256    8    615000000 Hz    7.7 dBmV    39.9 dBmV    45142    114070


Total Correctables    Total Uncorrectables
5879996    2230890



*Upstream Bonded Channels*
Channel    Lock Status    US Channel Type    Channel ID    Symbol Rate    Frequency    

Power
1    Locked    ATDMA    5    5120 Ksym/sec    34800000 Hz    44.8 dBmV
2    Locked    TDMA    6    2560 Ksym/sec    27900000 Hz    44.5 dBmV
3    Not Locked    Unknown    0    0 Ksym/sec    0 Hz    0.0 dBmV
4    Not Locked    Unknown    0    0 Ksym/sec    0 Hz    0.0 dBmV

Bronze Problem Solver
Jim721
Posts: 2,629
Registered: ‎12-05-2010

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

[ Edited ]

There was a new firmware push for the zoom5341J maybe thats whats going on your signals look to be ok downstream could be a little lower but your within spec. I have the same modem and got the new firmware today and so far no connection issues.

 

Startup Procedure Procedure Status Comment
Acquire Downstream Channel597000000 HzLocked
Connectivity StateOKOperational
Boot StateOKOperational
Configuration FileOK 
SecurityEnabledBPI+
Downstream Bonded Channels Channel Lock Status Modulation Channel ID Frequency Power SNR Correctables Uncorrectables
1LockedQAM2568597000000 Hz3.9 dBmV40.4 dBmV00
2LockedQAM2561555000000 Hz3.2 dBmV39.8 dBmV00
3LockedQAM2562561000000 Hz3.6 dBmV40.3 dBmV00
4LockedQAM2563567000000 Hz3.8 dBmV40.2 dBmV00
5LockedQAM2564573000000 Hz4.0 dBmV40.4 dBmV00
6LockedQAM2565579000000 Hz4.2 dBmV40.8 dBmV00
7LockedQAM2566585000000 Hz4.2 dBmV40.8 dBmV00
8LockedQAM2567591000000 Hz4.1 dBmV40.8 dBmV00
Total Correctables Total Uncorrectables
00
Upstream Bonded Channels Channel Lock Status US Channel Type Channel ID Symbol Rate Frequency Power
1LockedATDMA85120 Ksym/sec27900000 Hz46.3 dBmV
2LockedATDMA75120 Ksym/sec34800000 Hz48.0 dBmV
3LockedTDMA92560 Ksym/sec22600000 Hz45.5 dBmV
4Not LockedUnknown00 Ksym/sec0 Hz0.0 dBmV
Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 41,805
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

There are two additional signal stats which can't be read at the modem level. They can only be read from their end by them polling the CMTS (Cable Modem Termination System) at the local headend facility.

They are the 'Upstream Receive Power Level' and the 'Upstream uSNR' (upstream Signal To Noise Ratio). Both of these are as equally important in diagnosing connectivity issues as are the modem's stats.

You can call in and ask what these figures are. The Upstream Receive Power Level should fall within the range of -10dB to +10dB with 0dB being in the middle and perfect.

The Upstream SNR should be least 30dB, and the higher it is the better. You could have a noise ingress issue in the upstream path.

Bronze Problem Solver
Jim721
Posts: 2,629
Registered: ‎12-05-2010

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

After seeing more than 2 million plus uncorrectable codewords I would agree with EG you may have noise on the line.

Contributor
Beanmedic
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-02-2012

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

Thanks. I typically don't register a product online unless there is a problem. But since they don't show a firmware update I have registered to see if one is sent my way.

 

Thanks for the info on the signals through Comcast. I will give them a call Monday. Something is certainly not right. The only other connection I can see to tinker with is the ground outside. It could be cleaner.

Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 41,805
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

[ Edited ]

Jim721 wrote;

 

"After seeing more than 2 million plus uncorrectable codewords I would agree with EG you may have noise on the line."

 

 

FWIW, it could be either but I have yet to see enough posts here and at other forums indicating a widespread issue with the latest firmware push. I haven't had a problem so far after three days.

Bronze Problem Solver
Jim721
Posts: 2,629
Registered: ‎12-05-2010

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

No registering will do you no good as it's Comcast that pushes the firmware updates not Zoom.

Contributor
Beanmedic
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-02-2012

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

Does Comcast push firmware updates even if I bought the modem independent of them?

Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 41,805
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect


Beanmedic wrote:

 

Thanks for the info on the signals through Comcast. I will give them a call Monday.


It's usually best to call for the uSNR figure and to report the problem when it is actually happening in order for them to be able to see it as it could very well be interrmittent.

Bronze Problem Solver
Jim721
Posts: 2,629
Registered: ‎12-05-2010

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

[ Edited ]

Yes EG and I both own are 5341J and we got it. Did you check your modem for the new firmware 5.5.4.9J ?

  Seeing in your post of modem stats your upstream signals show a different level for each bonded channel that was one of the fixes so i think you have the new firmware,

Contributor
Beanmedic
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-02-2012

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

[ Edited ]

Well I called and the Upstream Receive Power Level is "0"  and the Upstream sNR is 34.1, Downstream sNR is 38-39.6 over a period of time, which the tech said was "golden". Interesting thing is that the interruptions are so fast that they are not posting at Comcast. They can't see them. They don't doubt them, but they don't see them. I have had two more since my last post here.

 

They also said they don't really push firmware, but boot files that set speed ranges???? Anyway, I do have 5.5.4.9J, which is good.

 

Since I am within the warranty period I think I'll bother Zoom to see if I can get a replacement. This is a recent problem and if the signal data are good it may well be a modem.

Bronze Problem Solver
Jim721
Posts: 2,629
Registered: ‎12-05-2010

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

[ Edited ]

For them to tell you they dont push firmeware is a joke they told you wrong and this is common. Your stats as read at comcast are good but that dont mean there is not a problem. I had some bad times with CC myself and I can tell you your signals can be fine and have disconnects it happened to me many times in the past thats what made it so hard to trace and fix. Your modem may be to blame but I would try another one before you rush for a refund. Good luck I hope it workes out for you..

 

  FWIW: Boot files (Speed files) are totally different than Firmware. And if Comcast dont push firmware updates who is doing it the little green men from Mars.

Contributor
Beanmedic
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-02-2012

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

I understand and agree. If I can simply swap the modem it would rule that out. Then CC would have a difficult time blaming the modem. If they do I'll tell them to get out here with one of theirs for a test.

 

I really appreciate the help and information. Happened on this forum by accident when doing a web search for intermittent connection problems. This is a GOOD resource!!

 

Will post back what I find.

Bronze Problem Solver
Jim721
Posts: 2,629
Registered: ‎12-05-2010

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

Please do post back when you get things right your problem may help others that have the same thing going on. Jim !!

Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-29-2008

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

replace splitters with new ones.. I had this same problem, new splitters worked perfectly...

 

we get alot of electrical storms in south florida.. splitters get zapped all the time (especially since only splitters outside the house are usually grounded.. it's not enough.. splitters inside still get zapped)

Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 41,805
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

FWIW, poster stated "no splitters". Besides that, their modem power levels and SNR doesn't point to a "splitter" issue.

Visitor
jon-graham
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-20-2010

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

I'm having a similar problem. On August 4th lightning struck nearby and I lost my cable modem (my neighbors lost theirs too, plus their a/c circuit board and a few other things). I had a DOCSIS 2.0 modem, so I replaced it with a Motorola SB6121 and ever since August 5th my Internet connection will drop randomly for about 30 seconds. I found a thread about the SB6121's not working with CC, even with the latest firmware, which I had, so I returned it and bought a Zoom DOCSIS 3.0 Model 5341J - hooked it up about 5 hours ago, and lost connection twice. I called CC support on the SB6121 and they said everything looked fine. Obviously it's not.

 

When I try to paste my signals I get a message stating that there is invalid HTML and it runs my nice table into trash. How are you guys posting your signals so neatly?

Regular Contributor
wrldtvlr
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎08-08-2012

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect


jon-graham wrote:

When I try to paste my signals I get a message stating that there is invalid HTML and it runs my nice table into trash. How are you guys posting your signals so neatly?


One way is to screen cap part of the screen and upload it as an attached picture.

Visitor
jon-graham
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-20-2010

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect


jon-graham wrote:

I'm having a similar problem. On August 4th lightning struck nearby and I lost my cable modem (my neighbors lost theirs too, plus their a/c circuit board and a few other things). I had a DOCSIS 2.0 modem, so I replaced it with a Motorola SB6121 and ever since August 5th my Internet connection will drop randomly for about 30 seconds. I found a thread about the SB6121's not working with CC, even with the latest firmware, which I had, so I returned it and bought a Zoom DOCSIS 3.0 Model 5341J - hooked it up about 5 hours ago, and lost connection twice. I called CC support on the SB6121 and they said everything looked fine. Obviously it's not.

 

When I try to paste my signals I get a message stating that there is invalid HTML and it runs my nice table into trash. How are you guys posting your signals so neatly?


Let's try this:  http://home.comcast.net/~jon-graham/ZoomSignal.jpg

 

Bronze Problem Solver
Jim721
Posts: 2,629
Registered: ‎12-05-2010

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

I just copy and paste.

 

Downstream Bonded Channels Channel Lock Status Modulation Channel ID Frequency Power SNR Correctables Uncorrectables
1LockedQAM2568597000000 Hz4.3 dBmV39.9 dBmV00
2LockedQAM2561555000000 Hz3.3 dBmV39.5 dBmV00
3LockedQAM2562561000000 Hz4.0 dBmV39.9 dBmV00
4LockedQAM2563567000000 Hz4.2 dBmV39.9 dBmV00
5LockedQAM2564573000000 Hz4.2 dBmV40.2 dBmV00
6LockedQAM2565579000000 Hz4.4 dBmV40.5 dBmV00
7LockedQAM2566585000000 Hz4.5 dBmV40.3 dBmV00
8LockedQAM2567591000000 Hz4.5 dBmV40.2 dBmV00
Total Correctables Total Uncorrectables
00
Upstream Bonded Channels Channel Lock Status US Channel Type Channel ID Symbol Rate Frequency Power
1LockedATDMA75120 Ksym/sec34800000 Hz47.3 dBmV
2LockedATDMA85120 Ksym/sec27900000 Hz45.8 dBmV
3LockedTDMA92560 Ksym/sec22600000 Hz45.0 dBmV
4Not LockedUnknown00 Ksym/sec0 Hz0.0 dBmV
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-29-2008

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

[ Edited ]

there's always a splitter somewhere.. can be outside your house.. it's common for singals to be 'split' between residents at the poles (or underground connections in some communities). often, comast will place a singal ampliphier on your lines to help.

 

even with a good signal.. interference can cause havoc, even the slightest interference on a digital transmission can cause disconnects (just like with old acccoustic modems.. the slightest static int he phone line, no matter how good the signal is, and poof, connection gone)

 

just to add.. interference doesn't always show in reports, it can often blend in with the signal itself, and look like everythings fine to you, but it's not.. the modem will pick it up as corrupt data.. sometimes it can CORRECT it, sometimes, it's UNCORRECTABLE because too much of the data was broken up or noise was over it... sometimes, it simply breaks the signal and the modem drops.

 

I used to have this problem all the time, but again, i replaced all splitters with new ones, kept them away from anything with an electrical signal (jsut like with the modem and router), even replaced the cable lines in the house with heavier lines and gold plated connectors with rubber shielding over the connectors.. haven't had a problem since... and i have two splitters before my modem (ther'es 6 tv's and a tv card in my computer.. so connection is split 8 ways including to the modem)

my stats:

Channel Lock Status Modulation Channel ID Frequency Power SNR Correctables Uncorrectables
1LockedQAM2564597000000 Hz-9.4 dBmV37.9 dBmV00
2LockedQAM2561579000000 Hz-8.3 dBmV38.2 dBmV00
3LockedQAM2562585000000 Hz-8.6 dBmV38.2 dBmV00
4LockedQAM2563591000000 Hz-8.7 dBmV38.2 dBmV00
5Not LockedUnknown00 Hz0.0 dBmV0.0 dBmV00
6Not LockedUnknown00 Hz0.0 dBmV0.0 dBmV00
7Not LockedUnknown00 Hz0.0 dBmV0.0 dBmV00
8Not LockedUnknown00 Hz0.0 dBmV0.0 dBmV00
Total Correctables Total Uncorrectables
00
Upstream Bonded Channels Channel Lock Status US Channel Type Channel ID Symbol Rate Frequency Power
1LockedATDMA75120 Ksym/sec34800000 Hz39.0 dBmV
2LockedTDMA82560 Ksym/sec27900000 Hz38.0 dBmV
3Not LockedUnknown00 Ksym/sec0 Hz0.0 dBmV
4Not LockedUnknown00 Ksym/sec0 Hz0.0 dBmV
Contributor
Gundam2400
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-11-2012

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

I am not sure you are aware of this. Your issues happen to Motorola SB6121 as well. I don't think the firmware can cause issue with 2 different brand name modems. I think this issue is cause by comcast. And I don't think they are putting any effort to fix our issues. I have been checking the forums daily. And I tried everything they mention in the forums. But none of them work for me.

I think you would be better off take it to the corporate level.
Good luck!!! Let me know if you find the solution please.

thanks!!

 

Contributor
Beanmedic
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-02-2012

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

My problems continue. I spoke at length with CC (see above) and the problem went away for awhile. My uncorrectables were low during that period. Now the problem is back and the uncorrectables are up. I'm connected to internet only, and from the CC inside connector to my modem to computer. So my bet is the connections up the pole at the street. When I am going to be home for a stretch of time I'm going to schedule a repair visit and see if they will check those. I will post back with results.

Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 41,805
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

[ Edited ]

mabny wrote:

there's always a splitter somewhere.. can be outside your house.. it's common for singals to be 'split' between residents at the poles (or underground connections in some communities).

 

The taps on the poles or in the pedestals are where the "splitting" occurs for the individual drops to the homes and the cable plant / infrastructure is designed with the specific local requirements in mind to supply equal signal strength to all who share the segment. There are no *hidden* splits in the plant. The only hidden splits are those that may be hidden in the walls / attics / crawl spaces of ones home.

 

often, comast will place a singal ampliphier on your lines to help.

 

That is not a general plant policy at all.  Plant is designed with the proper line actives that are needed to compensate for the length of the mainline runs. Individual drop amps are generally discouraged and only done as a band-aid on an individual customer basis will a drop amplifier be used.

 

even with a good signal.. interference can cause havoc, even the slightest interference on a digital transmission can cause disconnects

 

This is true.

 

(just like with old acccoustic modems.. the slightest static int he phone line, no matter how good the signal is, and poof, connection gone)

 

These two different transport technologies can't really be compared to each other one on one.

 


I used to have this problem all the time, but again, i replaced all splitters with new ones, kept them away from anything with an electrical signal (jsut like with the modem and router), even replaced the cable lines in the house with heavier lines and gold plated connectors with rubber shielding over the connectors..

 

Gold plating is basically bogus and unneeded in cable infrastructure.

 

my stats:

Channel Lock Status Modulation Channel ID Frequency Power SNR Correctables Uncorrectables
1 Locked QAM256 4 597000000 Hz -9.4 dBmV 37.9 dBmV 0 0
2 Locked QAM256 1 579000000 Hz -8.3 dBmV 38.2 dBmV 0 0
3 Locked QAM256 2 585000000 Hz -8.6 dBmV 38.2 dBmV 0 0
4 Locked QAM256 3 591000000 Hz -8.7 dBmV 38.2 dBmV 0 0
5 Not Locked Unknown 0 0 Hz 0.0 dBmV 0.0 dBmV 0 0
6 Not Locked Unknown 0 0 Hz 0.0 dBmV 0.0 dBmV 0 0
7 Not Locked Unknown 0 0 Hz 0.0 dBmV 0.0 dBmV 0 0
8 Not Locked Unknown 0 0 Hz 0.0 dBmV 0.0 dBmV 0

0


             
             
             
          FWIW, your downstream power is basically on the weak side

 

Visitor
jon-graham
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-20-2010

Re: Zoom 5341J intermittent disconnect

Can anyone tell me if my figures look good?

 

http://home.comcast.net/~jon-graham/ZoomSignal.jpg

 

I had issues with a SB6121, now have a Zoom 5341J and have issues.  I saw someone post that they thought having Google Drive installed is causing issues but I don't know if that's true.

 

I'm considering switching to this modem: 

http://www.amazon.com/Linksys-DOCSIS-Cable-Modem-DPC3008-CC/dp/B006IJHK96/ref=sr_du_1_map?ie=UTF8&qi...