Reply
New Visitor
catherine1234
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-06-2011

unable to logo onto magicjack

can not connect to magicjack. I think comcast is blocking me

Connection Expert
JamesR
Posts: 6,433
Registered: ‎09-29-2007

Re: unable to logo onto magicjack

[ Edited ]
What error message do you get?
New Visitor
catherine1234
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-06-2011

Re: unable to logo onto magicjack

Say I am forbidden to acess this server  http://216.234.76.40/   ?????

New Visitor
catherine1234
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-06-2011

Re: unable to logo onto magicjack

I get error message 401 from Magic Jack

Connection Expert
JamesR
Posts: 6,433
Registered: ‎09-29-2007

Re: unable to logo onto magicjack

Yea looks like I can tracert to it but I can't ping it. Do you have someway to call them?
Connection Expert
JamesR
Posts: 6,433
Registered: ‎09-29-2007

Re: unable to logo onto magicjack

Heh heh :-) like a cell phone perhaps? I would just keep trying to complete the connection. Seem like some sort of routing error. Should resolve itself shortly.
Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 43,756
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: unable to logo onto magicjack

FWIW, I can't browse to that IP either here in Northern, N.J. Both ping and trace work here, it's the same protocol. ns lookup reveals three other IP's for magicjack.com, none of which I can browse to..

Bronze Star Contributor
Rolo42
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎10-13-2011

Re: unable to logo onto magicjack

[ Edited ]

401 Unauthorized

The request requires user authentication. The response MUST include a WWW-Authenticate header field  containing a challenge applicable to the requested resource. The client MAY repeat the request with a suitable Authorization header field. If the request already included Authorization credentials, then the 401 response indicates that authorization has been refused for those credentials. If the 401 response contains the same challenge as the prior response, and the user agent has already attempted authentication at least once, then the user SHOULD be presented the entity that was given in the response, since that entity might include relevant diagnostic information. HTTP access authentication is explained in "HTTP Authentication: Basic and Digest Access Authentication"

Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 43,756
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: unable to logo onto magicjack


catherine1234 wrote:

I get error message 401 from Magic Jack


I get a "403" using FF-8

Networking Expert
kevj
Posts: 4,853
Registered: ‎10-03-2003

Re: unable to logo onto magicjack

I just browsed www.magicjack.com without any problems....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don't work for Comcast...


Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions


Send feedback to Comcast using the 'feedback' link on this page:
http://www.comcast.com/Corporate/Customers/CustomerGuarantee.html?SCRedirect=true

Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 43,756
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: unable to logo onto magicjack

Try the IP addy they posted in message #3 Kev.

Regular Problem Solver
Posts: 790
Registered: ‎03-14-2005

Re: unable to logo onto magicjack

It's a shared server and needs the FQDN to know what you're trying to access. I can browse to http://magicjack.com just fine, and "dig magicjack.com" returns that same 216.234.76.40 IP address. But, if I try to browse to http://216.234.76.40 I get "Forbidden."

Networking Expert
kevj
Posts: 4,853
Registered: ‎10-03-2003

Re: unable to logo onto magicjack


MelvinTheGrate wrote:

It's a shared server and needs the FQDN to know what you're trying to access. I can browse to http://magicjack.com just fine, and "dig magicjack.com" returns that same 216.234.76.40 IP address. But, if I try to browse to http://216.234.76.40 I get "Forbidden."



As does browsing all the other IPs magicjack.com resolves to...it's one of the effects of host headering...the site MUST be accessed using the FQDN, rather than the IPs. The site is only browseable if the HTTP request headers contain the FQDN. If you browse using the IP address they do not, so the server rejects the request.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don't work for Comcast...


Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions


Send feedback to Comcast using the 'feedback' link on this page:
http://www.comcast.com/Corporate/Customers/CustomerGuarantee.html?SCRedirect=true