Visitor

Collection Agency Issue After Return Of Equipment

[ Edited ]

I'm recently relocated and Transferred the comcast service to the new location.

The person who came to install the services, collected the cable modem
and DVR. He said my current internet

couldn't be started until i returned the older cable modem and dvr. 

I gave him the old equipment and my service started.

And now i just got a letter from collection agency demanding 380$ for
the box. This is ridiculous.

Isn't this a comcast policy that old modem should be returned before new services are activated? A policy which the new installation staff strictly follow. 

Now that i've been using the internet for 3 months, what's the point of raising this issue? I waste 2-3 hrs everyday trying to contact the comcast billing department and with the collection agency. 

Please do help in this regard. I have no idea how to approach the issue. Also i looked around and now am

unable to find the installation bill the person wrote 3-4 months ago. Can't comcast check on record that

my services have been activated and all the recent bills payed and resolve this issue?

Pranav 

Message Edited by Pranav on 02-24-2010 11:17 PM
Service Expert
Queen-Evie

Re: Collection Agency Issue After Return Of Equipment

[ Edited ]

You aren't the first and you won't be the last to complain of this issue.

The same thing happened to me a few years ago. Luckily I had the returned equipment reciepts.

It's unfortunate that you can't find the documentation. It would really help your case IF it documents the return.

Did you move to an area serviced by a different Comcast market? If you did, the equipment belongs to the market that issued it.

I will alert a forum admin to your post. Check back for a reply.

I realize this will not help you now; file it away for future reference: