08-05-2011 09:14 AM - edited 08-05-2011 09:15 AM
I received an e-mail, supposedly from Comcast Billing [no-reply@comcast.net], stating:
"Unfortunately there has been a problem processing your billing information for this month. You will be able to update your billing information quickly and easily using our secure server. Please understand that without promptly updating your billing information, your Comcast internet service may be discontinued."
The e-mail provides a "secure" link to update my billing info, but the link is "http," not "https." Is this e-mail for real? I logged in to my account (but not using the e-mail link), and I couldn't see any problem with my billing info.
Solved! Go to Solution.
08-05-2011 09:22 AM
What you received is a phishing attempt.
Comcast employees must be authorized to post in the forum. Employees posting here have their names in red and are designated as employees. Names not in red are customers.
04-11-2012 04:41 PM
I just got a similar email today from support@comcast.us. The body of the message has the Comcast logo and states:
Dear Valued Customer,
During our regular update and verification of the Comcast online services,
we could not verify your current information.
Did you recently change your bank, phone number or credit card?
To ensure that your service is not interrupted
Click Here to update your billing information today
After a few clicks, just verify the information you entered is correct. ! ,
Thank You.
--------------------------
Comcast
One Comcast Center, 10th Floor
1701 JFK Boulevard
Philadelphia, PA 19103-2838
Attn: CHSI
04-11-2012 05:18 PM
rb740,
Click on OPTIONS in your post, choose Edit Reply and REMOVE the active phishing link. We know you are warning other customers about this mail; however, if the link is not deleted your post will be moved to a secure area of the forums out of public view.
After you have done that
Please read this Comcast Email Phish or Legit? How to Tell (and rules for posting about your mail) clickable link.
It contains very useful information about mail that purports to be from Comcast.
By the time you get through reading it YOU will be an expert on HOW to know that the mail is a phishing attempt.
Comcast employees must be authorized to post in the forum. Employees posting here have their names in red and are designated as employees. Names not in red are customers.
|
©2011 Comcast |
Investor Relations |
Press Room |
Corporate Blog |
Privacy Statement |
Visitor Agreement |
Comcast.com Feedback |
Site Map
©2008 Comcast |
Politica de Privacidad |
Acuerdo del Visitante
|