09-21-2010 10:44 AM
Within the last 2-3 weeks my emails from Outlook 2007,2003 and Express (I only use the 2007 & 2003) are being blocked by Verizon. All other emails are going through without a problem. I have sent email, via Comcast Smartzone, to my Verizon contacts and they are receiving the emails without a problem.
I haven't changed anything recently that I believe would cause this problem. I have reviewed my email settings and they are;
smtp.comcast.net
Port 587
ssl on
authentication on
My wireless router has WPA-PSk password security
Norton Security is active and up to date
There are no "signatures" contained in the emails
I receive no bounce back or error messages regarding the email
they just appear to have been sent
Checking Blacklist alert.org gives the following listing results:
dsslb.sorbs.net
12.apews.org
zen.spamhaus.org
l1.apews.org
A check of cbl.abuseat.org shows no listing
I've read most of the post regarding this issue and haven' been able to come up with a solution.
Some mentioned going to the Cloudmark site, which I did, but in order for them to do anything they require the error message.
Any suggestions would be apreciated.
Ron
09-21-2010 05:09 PM
Do you put a signature in your Outlook emails, in particular a signature with a website link? Try sending without the signature and see if that fixes it.
09-21-2010 05:40 PM
I do not use a signature on any emails.I have also refrained from embedding any web addresses on the last of my "test" cases to the Verizon email accounts.
Ron
09-21-2010 05:42 PM
Are you getting a bounce message, or are the messages being lost silently? If you get a bounce, can you post it here (with account names redacted)?
09-21-2010 06:15 PM
Barmar wrote:Are you getting a bounce message, or are the messages being lost silently? If you get a bounce, can you post it here (with account names redacted)?
If this is what it looks like, there won't be any bounces. Verizon inspect the header and just throw the email away when an address listed in the Cloudmark CSI shows up in a Received: line. I haven't been able to figure out how to check to see if an address is listed by the CSI. Any ideas?
09-21-2010 07:05 PM
No bounce back at all. I only discovered it was a problem when a friend emailed that they hadn't heard from me for a couple of weeks,
Ron
09-21-2010 07:07 PM
A request can be made on their web page to change your IPs status but it requires a copy of the error message. In this case there is no error message.
Ron
09-23-2010 09:33 AM
We're looking into it and will get back to you shortly.
09-23-2010 09:45 AM
We have requested removal for you. Please try to send the messages again and let us know if the issue is now resolved.
Thanks,
Heather
09-23-2010 04:58 PM
The problem seems to be resolved !!!!
Thank You Very Much for the quick resonse and solution.
Ron
09-23-2010 06:30 PM
ronforres wrote:The problem seems to be resolved !!!!
Thank You Very Much for the quick resonse and solution.
Ron
Keep in mind that there was a *reason* for your IP address being listed. Maybe it was about the previous user of that address, or maybe it's about your computer being used by a spambot. Or maybe it's about something else entirely, I don't know what their listing criteria are. I'm just saying that the underlying problem might not be solved.
09-23-2010 06:59 PM
I agree - I would like to know the reason for the listing. I don't do any large mailings (sending and email to a batch of ten people is a lot for me), my mail is scanned both incoming and outgoing and generally sent to friends of long standing. I have found that the Norton Security Center is pretty effective but nothing is infallible. My passwords are "strong" and changed often on my wireless router and each account that requires a username/password.
Thanks for the input,
Ron
|
©2011 Comcast |
Investor Relations |
Press Room |
Corporate Blog |
Privacy Statement |
Visitor Agreement |
Comcast.com Feedback |
Site Map
©2008 Comcast |
Politica de Privacidad |
Acuerdo del Visitante
|