Contributor
LH12

Linux Ubuntu: Comcast Email Does Not Work

I've just built a new computer and installed Linux Ubuntu - the first time I've tried Ubuntu.  While I'm new to Ubuntu, I'm familiar with computers and Windows.  I like Ubuntu so far, but the inability to get Comcast email to work with it has me tempted to go back to Windows.

Comcast email doesn't work, either through Smartzone webmail, or using an email program like Thunderbird or Evolution.  All other email (Yahoo, Google) works fine.  But not Comcast.

I've spent two days on this problem and tried everything I could find - nothing works.

Is anyone using Ubuntu with Comcast mail and getting it to work?   I called Comcast support, and their answer was "not supported."

I have managed to get Thunderbird to send emails, but neither it nor anything else receives emails.

When trying to login to receive emails with Thunderbird, I get "Host Contacted, sending login information" and then after an extended delay get an error message: "Sending of password did not succeed.  Mail server mail.comcast.net responded: invalid username/password".

However, my username and password that I'm entering are correct (they work with a Windows computer and Thunderbird Windows).

I've tried every coombination of setup settings suggested by Comcast, and by others (there are lots of combinations), and nothing works.

With SmartZone, I get the login screen and can enter my username and password, but then the screen just freezes with a blank.  I've tried clearing cache, cookies, you name it, and it still doesn't work.

I can't figure out what's wrong, except that maybe Comcast rejects any login attempt from an Ubuntu machine.  Is that true?

I'd appreciate any suggestions.  Thanks for your input.

Les

Networking Expert
kevj

Re: Linux Ubuntu: Comcast Email Does Not Work