New Visitor

Outlook Express Message download slow and often times out...

We need some help.  Our Outlook Express 6 client has been running without any problems for well over a year.  All of the sudden we are struggling to download e-mail.  Almost every time we try to pull down messages we time out.  This has been happening for over a week now.  It is getting so bad that we are forced to use the web page to retrieve our e-mail.  We have not loaded any new software on our PC - and clearly we didn't touch any of the Outlook Express settings.  Is anyone else having this same problem?  I have searched for posts - but all of them are months if not years old.  I have alrady confirmed my Outlook Express settings are correct by using Ask Comcast.  Again - we did not change anything and all of the sudden we had problems.  I work in IT - so I am not completely clueless on how to use software - but there is something I am missing here....help please.  Thanks!

Service Expert
Queen-Evie

Re: Outlook Express Message download slow and often times out...

When was the last time you compacted Outlook Express? It might help if you do compact OE.

See Compacting messages in Outlook Express which will explain exactly what compacting messages is, and why you may be seeing that message. It's possible that you don't have a lot of kept mail; however, OE stores messages within a database, which tends to grow in size and degrade the perfomance of OE. Even previously deleted messages that are removed from OE take up space in that database.

When you delete an email in Outlook Express, it is moved to the Deleted Items folder. The message disappears from its original folder, and when you empty the trash, it disappears from there, too.