12-03-2010 07:13 PM
does anyone know if you can keep your comcast email acct for a fee if you cancel their service?
No you cannot, once you cancel service you will no longer have access. The best thing to do now,
Ahead of time, is to set up email with a free email service, such as Gmail & notify all your contacts to use that new email address right away. IF you have messages in Smartzone now, move them. You can also export your Smartzone address book as a csv file (Preferences>Address Book>Export) so that you can then import your Contacts elsewhere.
Need Email Help? Please post the following information in your post.
Do you use XfinityConnect? The Full or Lite version?
Do you use an email client? Which one? (Eg; Windows Live mail, Outlook, a smartphone etc.)
Which browser/version do you use? And- have you cleared your browser cache?
Which operating system? XP, Vista, Windows 7, Mac OS X
Details of the problem you are having.
12-06-2010 10:30 AM
So once your subscription is ended, do they freeze your account from access (allowing further email forwarding?) or do they just delete it entirely?
Is there a way to set up a forwarding service if a customer does plan on canceling their subscription?
12-06-2010 12:22 PM
Once the cancellation becomes effective the account is deleted and you lose your email address. Mail to the address after that point will not be delivered or forwarded.
The sender will receive a bounce notification telling him/her that the address is not a valid address.
Please note that you will lose access to any Comcast page that requires you to sign in with a Comcast user name and password.
Comcast employees must be authorized to post in the forum in an official capacity. Employees posting here have their names in red and are designated as employees. Names not in red are customers.
This is done to protect customers and for assurance that they are dealing with a Comcast employee.
Non-Authorized Employees are allowed to post but cannot state they are employees nor can they allude to being employees.
12-06-2010 01:07 PM
When your account is terminated, the account name will be put on hold for 90 days, to give you time to notify all your contacts before the name might be reassigned to another customer.
To import/export address book contacts, go to Preferences->Address Book.
©2011 Comcast | Investor Relations | Press Room | Corporate Blog | Privacy Statement | Visitor Agreement | Comcast.com Feedback | Site Map