Reply
Regular Visitor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-09-2007
Accepted Solution

"Verify Your Account"

[ Edited ]

I got the following message:

 

From: Comcast Xfinity - support@comcast.net

 

Dear comcast Member,

According to our records, log in attempts were made to log in to your account from different foreign IP addresses.
This is a review of your comcast account and if you accessed your account while traveling, the unusual log in attempts may have been initiated by you.

Click the link to verify your account:

Sorry for the hassle, and thank you for your understanding.
Sincerely,
Comcast  Review Department.

 

Is the message legitimate or phishing?

I did not click the link.

Any light you can shed on this will be appreciated.

Thanks

Jim

 

Silver Problem Solver
BruceW
Posts: 3,236
Registered: ‎12-03-2007

Re: "Verify Your Account"

[ Edited ]

It's a phishing email, an attempt to steal login and account information.

 

Please edit your message to remove the phishing link, which is still active! (Click Options, Edit)

 

Please see http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Security-and-Anti-Virus/Comcast-Email-Phish-or-Legit-How-to-Tell-and-ru... for more information about identifying and reporting phishing emails.

Email Expert
CCCarole
Posts: 24,306
Registered: ‎05-21-2006

Re: "Verify Your Account"

To the OP:

 

PLEASE edit your post and remove the blue link.  To do:  Open your post and click on Options on the right side.  Thern click on Edit Reply.  A new window will open showing th orginal post.  Delete the link there and then click on post.  Thank you.

 

CC



Need Email Help? Please post the following information in your post.
Do you use XfinityConnect? The Full or Lite version?
Do you use an email client? Which one? (Eg; Windows Live mail, Outlook, a smartphone etc.)
Which browser/version do you use? And- have you cleared your browser cache?
Which operating system? XP, Vista, Windows 7, Mac OS X
Details of the problem you are having.




Service Expert
Queen-Evie
Posts: 12,313
Registered: ‎02-04-2004

Re: "Verify Your Account"

[ Edited ]

To edit your post, click OPTIONS in the post. Choose Edit Reply.

 

Microsoft Smart Screen alerted me to this when I clicked the link to see if it was still active. I did not contine to the site as I have no doubt it would be a fake sign in site. The unsafe address is the clue it is a fake site. Comcast does not have any addresses at .org

 

ScreenHunter_17 Jun. 25 12.59.jpg



 


Comcast employees must be authorized to post in the forum. Employees posting here have their names in red and are designated as employees. Names not in red are customers.

Regular Visitor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-09-2007

Re: "Verify Your Account"

I figured that it was phishing.

Looks like that address is on the no-go list.

Thanks

Fortenorte