Bronze Star Contributor

Benefits of DOCSIS 3 modem?

I have been using the same Motorola SB5100 modem for close to 10 years.  It works fine and I rarely lose my connection.  It's not yet on the "end of life" list (whatever that means).  Is there any reason for me to upgrade to a DOCSIS 3 modem before my SB5100 gets added to the EOL list?

Gold Problem Solver
BruceW

Re: Benefits of DOCSIS 3 modem?

You might see a slight improvement in speed if you upgrade, but probably nothing dramatic, perhaps not even noticeable. In your situation I would wait until the modem goes EOL. Comcast describes what "End of Life" means here: http://customer.comcast.com/Pages/FAQViewer.aspx?Guid=9defdd9d-0e45-4216-8b5c-40e9eb19bc3e.

Connection Expert
EG

There are benefits to be had by using a D3 capable modem on an upgraded to D3 system such as increased connection reliability due to the multiple bonded channel redundancy and failover capability. There are also increased capacity/reduced congestion benefits which result in increased reliability of receiving one's provisioned speeds especially during times of peak usage/demand. Higher Powerboost assisted speeds have been noted as well. It's a win win for both the provider and the subscriber.

New Visitor
drake28

EG

Are there any upgrades or firmware updates that can be done to a DOCSIS 2 modem (ie SB5101) that would help improve performance before going the route of upgrading to a D3 modem?

Thanks in advance.

drake28

Connection Expert
EG

If there were any newer firmware loads available they would be automatically pushed out. But F.Y.I., firmware upgrades to a DOCSIS 2 modem can not physically do what the multiple channel bonding of DOCSIS 3 does. The device's "hardware" as well as the firmware needs to support multiple bonded channels.

New Visitor
drake28

So if I am getting Blast service should I see improved performance with a DOC3 modem? Thx
New Visitor

So how do I request a D3 modem to replace my SB5100?

Connection Expert