Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
You can contribute an answer or post a question.
Reply
Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎12-19-2012
Posts: 4
Accepted Solution

Connecting Cisco modem to linksys wrt54g router

[ Edited ]

Which of the connections does Comcast use?

 

DHCP, PPOE, ???

 

I have tried them all.  The router does not connect.  The straight wire modem to desktop works fine.  Also the link light on the cisco modem is orange and blinking even when connected.  I have no documentation on the modem.

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,219

Re: Connecting Cisco modem to linksys wrt54g router

DHCP. You need to properly powercycle/reset the modem each and every time that you change the device that is being directly connected to it by removing the A.C. power for a minute. If it is a telephony type modem (eMTA) that has a built in backup battery then you'll need to use the recessed reset button on the rear instead of powercycling it

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎12-19-2012
Posts: 4

Re: Connecting Cisco modem to linksys wrt54g router

I'll give that a try.  You are speaking of the modem not the router, right?

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,219

Re: Connecting Cisco modem to linksys wrt54g router

Right.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎12-19-2012
Posts: 4

Re: Connecting Cisco modem to linksys wrt54g router

Thanks for the quick response and suggestion.  I am a retired Electrical Engineer (Power Transmission).  Sometimes the little things don't strike me.

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,219

Re: Connecting Cisco modem to linksys wrt54g router

Happy surfing ! :smileyhappy:

Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments