Reply
Regular Contributor
myounce
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎02-03-2004

D-Link DI-624 as repeater?

I have an old D-Link DI-624 Rev. C router (with 2.70 firmware) lying around and was wondering if I could use it as a repeater to extend the range of my Linksys WRT54G. I've searched through D-Links docs and some forums but couldn't find anything on using the DI-624 in this way. Anyone know if it's possible?

Thanks!
Most Valued Poster
N3tb0y
Posts: 2,662
Registered: ‎04-18-2004

Re: D-Link DI-624 as repeater?

To answer your question, I found this from the following:
http://www.cpcus.com/Library/manuals/0261605Rev3.pdf

Here is the excerpt that answers your question, yes the router acts as a repeater to further the signal.

Routers and repeaters are simply network devices that
aid in the flow of communication across an Echelon network.
They are necessary only when an Echelon network
installation exceeds one or more specifications, such as a
maximum total number of nodes or a maximum wire
length.
Repeaters are devices that receive network signals in
one end and repeat them at a higher strength through the
other end. They are sometimes needed in cases where network
wiring lengths are excessively high, but are also
sometimes used for convenience purposes to extend several
daisy chains from a single Einstein.
Routers are like repeaters, except they are also communications
filters. A router only allows messages to pass
through that are specifically addressed to devices on the
other side of the router. All other messages that aren’t
addressed to devices on the other side of the router are
blocked out, thus alleviating the amount of network traffic.
Routers are typically used in networks that have a large
amount of devices.
But don't take my word for it, ask a Comcast Forum Expert, or goto http://www.dslreports.com/
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Signature courtesy of Bladerunner
Regular Contributor
myounce
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎02-03-2004

Re: D-Link DI-624 as repeater?

Thanks, but that doesn't really answer my question. Yes, routers in general can act as repeaters, but can the DI-624? Can the firmware be configured for it?
Most Valued Poster
N3tb0y
Posts: 2,662
Registered: ‎04-18-2004

Re: D-Link DI-624 as repeater?

No need to configure the router, as long as this router picks up the signal from the other device, it will re-generate the signal starting at that device.
But don't take my word for it, ask a Comcast Forum Expert, or goto http://www.dslreports.com/
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Signature courtesy of Bladerunner
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-23-2005

Re: D-Link DI-624 as repeater?

I also have an unused DI624 that I'd like to use as a repeater/extender. I have a DI514 that I'm using currently to share my internet connection, but the signal doesn't make it to my remote master bedroom. I have a wired connection in the bedroom that I could hook the DI624 up to. Would it actually broadcast the signal and solve my problem that easily?

Sounds too simple.
Recognized Contributor
Posts: 1,158
Registered: ‎11-26-2003

Re: D-Link DI-624 as repeater?

You can use up to a 100 meter ethernet Cat 5 cable without the need for a repeater. If you need a longer cable, the repeater needs to be installed at at the 100 meter mark or shorter. You can borrow a Fluke cable tester and find the exact distance in the cable run. As I recall, you cannot use more than 4 repeaters in a cable run for a maximum of 500 meter cable run.