Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
You can contribute an answer or post a question.
Reply
Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎06-30-2009
Posts: 2

How many devices can you have?

We have wifi at home and recently added four new devices (xmas presents). Does Comcast limit the number of IP addresses that are available on a home account or is it something to do with our router. We have a linksys. We have 8-9 devices accessing our home network. Sometimes one can't connect until we re-boot the router. Then a different device will get booted off. Just wondering where to start - comcast or upgrade router?
Posted by
Bronze Problem Solver
Member Since: ‎12-15-2011
Posts: 1,283

Re: How many devices can you have?

You get one IP from Comcast.  Your router can supply up to 254 address.  You need to start your troubleshooting at your router.  Make sure it is on the latest firmware and that you installed it correctly, power cycled it and reconfigure from scratch.  Make sure all your wireless adapters cards are fully upgraded also by going to the manufacturers site for upgrades.  What router model number do you have?

Posted by
Bronze Star Contributor
Member Since: ‎05-25-2011
Posts: 209

Re: How many devices can you have?

I have three desktops, three laptops and 5 smart phones all connected via a router. There is no limit but you can run in to problems of overloading your connection. 

Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎06-30-2009
Posts: 2

Re: How many devices can you have?

Thanks for the info. I'll start at the router!
Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,160

Re: How many devices can you have?

Check if there are any limitations in the DHCP range.

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,160

Re: How many devices can you have?


kraze1994 wrote:

 

There is no limit but you can run in to problems of overloading your connection. 


FWIW, there definitly is a DHCP range "limit", but it is rather high.....

Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎10-04-2009
Posts: 8

Re: How many devices can you have?

[ Edited ]

Any router can support up to 254 additional devices. Actually 255 devices but 1 IP is reserved for the router itself.

 

Double check that the DHCP is not limited to x number of addresses. I've seen some limit theirs to 5 ip addresses only. This is usually an option set within the router itself and can be adjusted.

 

If this is not the problem you might want to check to see if there is a firmware update for the router.

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,160

Re: How many devices can you have?

[ Edited ]

Phill2 wrote:

 

Double check that the DHCP is not limited to x number of addresses. I've seen some limit theirs to 5 ip addresses only. This is usually an option set within the router itself and can be adjusted.

 


FWIW, that is typically with a Comcast supplied router or gateway device that has a customized *crippled* Comcast firmware load installed.

Posted by
Recognized Contributor
Member Since: ‎11-26-2003
Posts: 1,161

Re: How many devices can you have?

[ Edited ]

I am running up to 15 devices at any time but it is rare that all devices are under a load.  I use high end routers and switches, with high throughputs, and have had no performance issues at all.  I highly recommend the Asus RT-N56U router if you plan to upgrade--outperforms my old Cisco business class router.  

Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎01-02-2012
Posts: 11

Re: How many devices can you have?

I have 44 devices on my subnet.  My router is a Linksys WRT160N running DD-WRT.  Everything works fine.

Posted by
Recognized Contributor
Member Since: ‎12-28-2009
Posts: 85

Re: How many devices can you have?

I used a Linksys WRT350n DD-WRT firmware for years. Attached to it were 2 gigabit switches 2 Linksys WAP610 wireless access points. all of this was used for 4 desktops, 4 laptops, 5 PS3s, 2 kindles, 2 tablets, a network printer a netgear network storage device and a wii. Never an issue til the router died. Went out and bought a Linksys E4200v2 ((mistake on my part...  tho the v2 is a beefier router than the v1, the performance levels are actually signigantly lower. Add to that the V2 has a marvell chip set and not a broadcom so there is no chance for any kind of DD-WRT support in the future)) and still no issues.

Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎08-14-2012
Posts: 2

Re: How many devices can you have?

Is there any truth about Comcast limiting to 5 the number of Wi-Fi connections one can make to any router connected to the Comcast cable modem? 

 

Thanks,

 

Karl

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,160

Re: How many devices can you have?

Please re-read this thread. Not if you own the straight router and it isn't a combo gateway device.

Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎07-17-2013
Posts: 2

Re: How many devices can you have?

Actually I am having the same problem.  After 5 devices are connected - no more can be added.

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,160

Re: How many devices can you have?

[ Edited ]

Can't say for certain but I have read things to this effect in the past.

 

Year and a half old thread now closed.

Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments