New Visitor

Move cable modem to another house

When I visit my father (who also subscribes to Comcast), I bring my cable modem and connect to the internet.

I am using MY cable modem, for which I pay Comcast for the service I use.  BUT I am NOT using it in my home.  I am using it in a completely different home which also subscribes to Comcast.

Is there any wording in our High Speed contract that prevents me from doing this?  Can Comcast prevent me from doing this?

Repeat.  I am paying for the service AND only using it in ONE location at a time.
Networking Expert
Baric

Re: Move cable modem to another house

You would have to call Comcast to get a ruling.  I suspect that you're violating your TOS, but I'm not a lawyer.  My reasoning is the HSI service is provided to a particular residence, not as a mobile service to YOU as an individual.  This section of the Comcast Subscriber Agreement would seem to confirm my opinion, but I don't know if Comcast would have the same understanding:

6. Maintenance And Ownership Of Equipment