Reply
Regular Contributor
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎08-16-2009

Netgear R700, IPv6, and losing internet connection

Looking for a little help here.  I have two routers, an Asus RT-N66U which runs great, IPv6 is fine on it, and it reboots with no problem with IPv6 enabled.

 

On the other hand, I have a new Netgear R7000 that loses its internet connection when rebooted or power-cycled only when IPv6 is enabled and in use.  IPv6 itself works fine, but if the router needs to be rebooted and/or power-cycled, then when it comes back up it has no internet connection.  There are two ways of getting the internet connection back when this happens, either doing a factory reset and manually reconfiguring the router, or resetting my cable modem.  If IPv6 is disabled, no problems with reboots and/or power-cycling, the internet connection is never lost.

 

I have an Arris TM722g cable modem that is working really well, no problems with it.  And, like I said, the Asus RT-N66U doesn't have this problem at all, IPv6 works very well with it.

 

Just wondering if anyone else has seen this problem, since Netgear says this is an unknown problem, and this is the second R7000 that I've had that shows the same problem.  Which leads me to believe that I'm probably not the only person to experience it.  I can work around it, but IPv6 should just work without needing to perform gymnastics *smile*.

 

Any help out there?  Anyone else experience this problem, or a similar one?

 

Thanks very much.

Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 40,192
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: Netgear R700, IPv6, and losing internet connection

FWIW, seen some posts about issues with Netgear routers and IPv6. Have you tried updating it to the latest firmware available on the manufacturers website ?

Regular Contributor
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎08-16-2009

Re: Netgear R7000, IPv6, and losing internet connection

[ Edited ]

Yes, I do have the latest firmware.

 

Thanks.

 

Can't believe that I made a typo in the title of the thread....R7000, of course.

Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-06-2003

Re: Netgear R7000, IPv6, and losing internet connection

The R7000 and I think most Netgear router trying to use IPV6 will lose IPV6 connectivity when the Comcast lease expires. Do a hard re-boot and it will work until the lease expires again.

I have spent almost a week with the Netgear support script readers and get the same answer, none that makes sense.

I am just leaving IPV6 disabled until Netgear and Comcast can get their acts together. Netgear being the biggest problem.

Regular Contributor
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎08-16-2009

Re: Netgear R7000, IPv6, and losing internet connection

[ Edited ]

Hey, thanks...my problem has nothing to do with expiring IP address leases.  My problem is only related to power-cycling or rebooting my router with IPv6 enabled.  I don't know if all Comcast users experience this, but I've had this confirmed by other Comcast users with R7000 routers, so it isn't just me *smile*.

 

And Comcast IPv6 worked just fine with my Asus RT-N66U for about a year with no problems, other than one or two firmware versions that screwed up IPv6 functionality, but I could always go back to a working version.

 

Right now I'm using DD-WRT firmware, and that's working really well for me.  The lack of CTF (hw acceleration) is not a problem for me at the download speeds that we get from Comcast here in Santa Cruz (slow compared to most other areas), and IPv6 isn't implemented yet, which is okay for the time being.  But DD-WRT is very fast on the R7000 for wired connections and routing, and the wireless coverage and speed is great.  And the web admin interface is much better than Netgear's, as well. Highly recommended at this point!

 

Netgear is rumored to finally be releasing new firmware at the end of the month (February), so we'll see how that looks when and if it arrives.  Until then, no complaints about DD-WRT firmware.

Contributor
Bill57
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-05-2013

Re: Netgear R7000, IPv6, and losing internet connection

Same problem or darn close to it!

 

When rebooting these routers all with latest FW and using  SW_REV: 7.6.59M.SIP.PC20
MODEL: TM722G

 

WNDR4700

R6300V2

R7000

 

I also brought this up to Netgear while BETA testing these for Netgear.

 

The problem I see or have Is when a router is rebooted or Power cycled for any reason You no longer are able to pull A public IPV4 or IPV6 until you remove WAN cable for a few seconds then reconnect.

 

I first reported this to Netgear durring the WNDR4700 Beta test. They responded with some lame answer blaming too many request to comcast server.

 

I then reported same as above with R6300V2 in January 2013 durring it's beta test and nothing from them. Once again in Jan 2014 with another dual core FW test and still nothing.

 

I also contacted them again in late December 2013 when I bought a R7000 and HAD EXACT SAME problem.

 

This Sunday I bought a Linksys WRT1900AC guess what? No Problem with this issue. You could reboot or power cycle and be back on line with IPV4 and IPV6 with in minutes.

 

I've since dumped my R7000 and just yesterday returned the WRT1900ac only because of it lacking some features I was use too and now using a R6300v2 with latest FW and same problem once again.

 

I would suggest someone at Cable Labs and or Comcast Corperate  Take Note and Light a Fire under Netgear and Or remove their products like their gateways from your supported list until such time as you both come up with a solution.

 

Have Great Day

 

 

 

 

Regular Contributor
Jeffrey_Dumond
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎05-11-2012

Re: Netgear R700, IPv6, and losing internet connection

Are you still running into the same problems, RogerSC?

 

I have a Netgear R7000 Nighthawk myself, with firmware version 

1.0.3.24_1.1.20 installed on it (Netgear's own firmware - not a third

party one such as DD-WRT) - and I haven't had any problems at all

such as the ones you say you've been running into.

 

The best thing to do is to always keep your router up to date with the

most recent version of whatever firmware you may have installed on

the unit - whether it be the genuine firmware from the manufacturer

of the router, or a third party firmware such as DD-WRT.

 

Hope this helps you out a bit..

 

 

- Jeff -

Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-06-2003

Re: Netgear R700, IPv6, and losing internet connection

Hi Jeff.

Not trying to hijack, but rather tell you the problems I have with IPV6 enabled.

I also have the R7000 with the same firmware you have. Am using a Motorola 6141 modem.

After that firmware update I still can't have IPV6 enabled for over 3 days as everything associated with the internet starts to degrade to the point the internet is almost unusable until I disable IPV6, then everything is back to normal. I have tried every way possible listed in the drop down menu with the same results.

NetDog, one of the Comcast engineers is in contact with Netgear so they are aware of the problem, but like everything else Netgear support does, there may be a lot of deaths from old age before Netgears gets anything done. They are by far the worst tech support I have ever delt with.

I really like everything about the R7000, features, range, the way it looks etc.

Just hope Netgear gets their head out of the sand or wherever they have it and get this thing fixed. It's been many many months and so far nothing has been done about this problem

I know it's not just the R7000 having problems as I have friends who have the R6300, R6200, R6250 79AV and older routers with the same problem, which shot down the theory about it could be a Modem to router thing. There are 3 differernt brand modems that I know of, so the only common thing is the Netgear routers.

I am glad someone with a Netgear is not having these problems, you are very lucky.

 

 

Regular Contributor
Jeffrey_Dumond
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎05-11-2012

Re: Netgear R700, IPv6, and losing internet connection

What settings are you using for your IPv6 when you set up your Local Area Network (LAN)?

 

Are you using "Auto Config" or "Use DHCP Server"?

 

I have my IPv6 set to "Use DHCP Server" to designate addresses for any IPv6 compatible

device hooked up to my Local Area Network (LAN) via either a wired connection or a

wireless connection (depending on whether or not I've either run CAT-6E wiring to 

where they're located or am using USB 2.0 or USB 3.0 wireless adapters for them

to connect to the network I've got set up).

 

If you're presently using "Auto Config" - try changing over to "Use DHCP Server".

 

That might just resolve the issues you're experiencing.

 

Let me know how things work out, okay?

 

 

Regular Contributor
Jeffrey_Dumond
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎05-11-2012

Re: Netgear R700, IPv6, and losing internet connection

Just ran a speed test on speedtest.comcast.net - used the San Jose, CA server as my

test point, got download speed of 119.9Mbps and upload speed of 11.64Mbps over IPv6..

 

You really ought to consider trying out the suggestion I made in my previous reply -

that is, changing your IP Address Assignment settings in the LAN Setup area from

"Auto Config" to "Use DHCP Server"...

 

I've had my unit up and running for two weeks now, and have had absolutely no problems

whatsoever. Plus, all of my devices successfully get both an IPv4 address and an IPv6 address..     :smileyhappy:

Regular Contributor
Jeffrey_Dumond
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎05-11-2012

Re: Netgear R700, IPv6, and losing internet connection

In case you're wondering what I'm using for equipment here on my end,

I've got a Cisco DPC-3008 (now distributed by Linksys / Belkin) 8x4

cable modem  ( 340+Mbps max download capability, 120+Mbps max

upload capability - currently on BLAST service, with 105+Mbps [usually

average 115Mbps to 120Mbps] download speeds and 10Mbps to 20Mbps

upload speeds [usually average about 12Mbps to 15Mbps - but it's okay

for the upload speeds to be slower than the download speeds, unless

you're trying to send a large file such as a high-resolution medical x-ray

or MRI to a doctor or medical facility, in which case one would be better

off with something like Metro Ethernet, with its much higher download

and upload speeds due to it being based on an entirely fiber-optic network] ),

which is connected to my Netgear R7000 Nighthawk 802.11AC router.

Two systems (1 desktop and 1 laptop) are connected to the router directly

via a wired 10/100/1000 Ethernet switch - the other two desktops are

connected via Netgear A6200 USB 2.0 wiress adapters, and my printers

(a Hewlett Packard Officejet Pro 8000 and a Hewlett Packard Officejet Pro 8100)

are connected via their own internal wireless networking adapters (the HP

Officejet Pro 8000 connects to my 2.4gHz network in 802.11G mode, and

the HP Officejet Pro 8100 connects to my 2.4gHz network in 802.11N mode).

The only glitch I ran into was with my printers, which I had to completely

reset and enter all of the new information from my new configuration into -

as both of them were previously connected wirelessly to a Netgear WNDR4500

router  ( maximum speed on both the 2.4gHz network and the 5gHz network

was 450Mbps per side - the Netgear R7000 Nighthawk can do up to 600Mbps

on the 2.4gHz side with compatible adapters that use 256-QAM modulation

on the 2.4gHz frequencies, and can easily do 1.3Gbps on the 5gHz side with

compatible 5gHz adapters that use three-stream signal transmission and reception

[the Netgear A6200 USB 2.0 adapters are two-stream transmission and reception -

which limits them to roughly 867Mbps to 900Mbps speeds, but that's still a 

heck of a lot faster than the maximum 600Mbps that a 256-QAM modulation

on 2.4gHz 802.11N can achieve!] ). Besides having to reconfigure my printers -

I've had absolutely no problems at all!     :smileyhappy:

Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-06-2003

Re: Netgear R700, IPv6, and losing internet connection

I have had the IPV6 set for auto detect, DHCP, auto config and about everything in between, still the same problem.

As far as any hardware connected wireless, I have a HP printer, Droid cell phone, iPad2, Visio smart TV and they all work fine with IPV6 enabled for about 3 days. After that, anything that has to do with the internet degrades to where it's almost impossible to use. Disable IPV6 and all is golden again.

I use only Cat6 cable for the modem, router and computer wired connections.

What the last firmware update did was fix a problem I had with my smart TV and Netflix. Before when IPV6 was enabled, I couldn't access Netflix. I called Visio tech support told them the problem and the tech said "you are using a Netgear router aren't you" He said they were in contact with Netgear about the problem. The last update from Netger fixed that problem.

My neighbor was away for 2 weeks so I borrowed his Asus router (don't remember the model) and hooked that up to my system and enbled IPV6. Worked great for those 2 weeks, not one problem.

When he got back I hooked up the R7000 and the trouble returned.

This is not only happening on the R7000, it did the same thing with the two previous Netgear routers. A R6200 and a 79AV router so it is a firmware problem with Netgear routers which they have known about for a very long time and don't really care about it all that much. After all,they already have our $$$.

I am going to wait a couple more months and if Netgear doesn't get their act together and give me what I paid for, I will sell the R7000 to someone who doesn't care or even know about IPV6 and buy a new Asus brand router.

I have been a fan and user of netgear products for many years, but that loyalty will end unless they get something done to fix this problem. The net is full of complaints about this problem, so I know it's not just me.

Thanks for your input and as I said before, you are very lucky you don't have the problem that most of the users on Comcast have with the Netgear routers when enabling IPV6.

Have a great weekend:   smileycool:

 

 

 

 

 

Contributor
Bill57
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-05-2013

Re: Netgear R7000, IPv6, and losing internet connection

This is a link to a Netgear thread I started describing the on-going problem with Netgear Routers & IPV6. It makes no difference which IPV6 setting is selected pick one, enable it, reboot netgear router and wait until the cows come home and you never get a IPV4 IP or IPV6 IP. YET a Linksys WRT1900ac works out of the BOX.

 

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=89422