Visitor
argondick

Optimal Settings for Motorola SBG6580

I've had a Motorola SBG6580 since moving to the area two months ago.  Setting the feelings and reviews aside, it met my needs.

Being a total noob to networking and seeing all the options available in the setup screen, I feel overwhelmed.  I've taken the default settings for the modem and have been able to setup a new user ID and PW and have disabled NAPT, but in looking for information on what the "optimal settings" are for this modem on Comcast's network - that's where I fall short.

I'd like advice on what basic, advanced, firewall, and wireless options should be looked at and possibly changed.  I essentially have multiple computers, smartphones, and gaming devices on wireless and three devices wired and cabled to the modem. 

What changes should be made?

Networking Expert
Baric

Re: Optimal Settings for Motorola SBG6580

When you placed it in bridge mode, you turn off all router features essentially, it's just a plain cable modem now, which kind of defeats the purpuse of such a gateway device.  There are NO user settable options on the cable modem side of the device.  If you want to connect multiple devices, you need to turn NAPT back, confiugure the WAN port for automatic DHCP (which is probably the default setting), then secure the wireless function with WPA2-PSK and set a strong wireless password.

If you are using another router, then leave it in bridge mode, and secure the wireless function on that other router.  I do wonder why you got a gateway if you do this, however...

New Visitor
CAPTAINPIKE57