Reply
Contributor
bobl61
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-08-2012

SMC Model SMCD3GN

I can't get this gateway setup. Is this model supported? I see SMCD3GNV (IMS), SMCD3GNV (NCS), but not the SMCD3GN. From what I researched, this is for Rogers? Any help appreciated.

Bronze Problem Solver
Paraniod
Posts: 1,615
Registered: ‎06-15-2009

Re: SMC Model SMCD3GN

If you don't have the SMCD3GNV from Comcast, then I doubt you will be able to get the gateway provisioned. Did you buy the gateway? As far as I'm aware only the SMCD3GNV works with Comcast and it has to be leased from them.

 

I'm guessing you already called to try to get it provisioned...?

Contributor
bobl61
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-08-2012

Re: SMC Model SMCD3GN

Thanks for the reply. I picked up a used one to use as a backup. Guess I'll put it up for auction :smileywink:

Bronze Problem Solver
Paraniod
Posts: 1,615
Registered: ‎06-15-2009

Re: SMC Model SMCD3GN

Careful, if the box belongs to Rogers (Canadian cable), they might send the Mounties after you...Eh!

Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 43,246
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: SMC Model SMCD3GN

If the device happens to be listed in CC's database as being stolen / missing, then they won't provision it for service

Contributor
bobl61
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-08-2012

Re: SMC Model SMCD3GN

CC's database? How do I check?

Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 43,246
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: SMC Model SMCD3GN

A customer can't access their internal intranet databases.