Regular Contributor
psmith2100

Xfinity Internet Incompatible with 802.11n Wireless-N and QoS WMM Support

[ Edited ]

I am an Electrical Engineer and Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP), and I recently upgraded my router to a Cisco Linksys e1200 Wireless-N (not draft N) router, which I later found out is not supported by Comcast, and my WiFi Internet download speeds dropped to below 0.5 Mbps until I disabled Wireless Multimedia (WMM) Support in the router's Quality-of-Service (QoS) settings which was on by default because it is required for 802.11n Wireless-N.  Upload speeds were unaffected at about 3 Mbps before and after I disabled WMM Support.  I also ran a Wireshark sniffer capture with WMM enabled and saw a TON of TCP retransmits and duplicate acknowledgements.

Xfinity incompatibility with WMM is a huge problem because WMM (WiFi Qos) and WPA2 security are defined in the 802.11n standard as requirements for Wireless-N (not draft N) and disabling WMM or using WPA or WEP security causes Wireless-N devices to connect at the much slower Wireless-G speed of 54 Mbps.  With WMM enabled, I connect at 300 Mbps and get about 250 Mbps between devices on my local LAN, but Internet access is broken.

Xfinity incompatibility with WMM is a huge problem for people who have the 50 or 100 Mbps Xfinity plans and actually *require* Wireless-N to get the full benefit from their WiFi connected devices of the download speed for which they are paying.  It is a problem for me because Wireless-G limits the speed between devices on my local LAN and does not impact my 12 Mbps Xfinity plan.  But I won't upgrade my plan because 54 Mbps is Wireless G in a clean room with no interference, i.e. no walls, phones, microwaves, neighbor WiFi, solar or background radiation, etc.  In reality, I get about 25 Mbps on average but sometimes as low as 10 Mbps even on a channel that none of my neighbors use and with 1.9 GHz DECT 6.0 phones that do not interfere with the 2.4 GHz WiFi band.