Reply
New Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-25-2006

arris telephony to belkin wireless router

I cannot get my belkin to talk to the arris to set up my wireless network, I have tried DHCP, Static IP, I know the router works, any suggestions
Most Valued Poster
N3tb0y
Posts: 2,662
Registered: ‎04-18-2004

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router

Is your router new to your network, meaning, did you have a different router before?  I also have an Arris modem, with the battery backup, and you probably do as well.  Turn the power off on your PC, and router.  Press the 'Standby' button on the front of the Arris modem, and leave it for about a minute or two.  Then press the 'Standby' button again.  Doing this resets the modem and clears the cache.  Now power on the router, wait a few secs for the lights to stablize, then power up the PC.  Hopefully this does the trick, let us know.
But don't take my word for it, ask a Comcast Forum Expert, or goto http://www.dslreports.com/
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Signature courtesy of Bladerunner
Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 43,074
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router

I am curious to know if the "Standby" button does indeed, also serve as a reset function.
Most Valued Poster
N3tb0y
Posts: 2,662
Registered: ‎04-18-2004

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router

EG, here is the answer about the Standby button:

http://www.timewarnercable.com/Media/68/FAQ/documents/Arris.pdf (page 2)

But don't take my word for it, ask a Comcast Forum Expert, or goto http://www.dslreports.com/
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Signature courtesy of Bladerunner
Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 43,074
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router

Sure....... gonna make me work for it..... huh !!! :smileyvery-happy:
Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 43,074
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router

Yes, but they still tell you to hit the reset button on the back if all else fails. If they were one in the same, why would the reset button exist ?
Recognized Contributor
Posts: 14,085
Registered: ‎10-01-2003

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router



EG wrote:
If they were one in the same, why would the reset button exist ?

As an elevator guy, you should know the answer to that one - it's just like the "Close Door" button on an automatic elevator.  It's there solely to provide the user with false feedback - he pushes the button and the door closes.  He thinks he made it happen!
Most Valued Poster
N3tb0y
Posts: 2,662
Registered: ‎04-18-2004

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router

EO, my sides are hurting, that was good!:smileyvery-happy:
But don't take my word for it, ask a Comcast Forum Expert, or goto http://www.dslreports.com/
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Signature courtesy of Bladerunner
Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 43,074
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router

Nice cop out Netboy.... you have yet to answer my question! :smileytongue: 
Most Valued Poster
N3tb0y
Posts: 2,662
Registered: ‎04-18-2004

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router

EG, in case one of them breaks!:smileywink:
But don't take my word for it, ask a Comcast Forum Expert, or goto http://www.dslreports.com/
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Signature courtesy of Bladerunner
Recognized Contributor
Posts: 14,085
Registered: ‎10-01-2003

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router



N3tb0y wrote:
EG, in case one of them breaks!:smileywink:



Isn't that the punchline to the old gag about a two-bagger?
Most Valued Poster
N3tb0y
Posts: 2,662
Registered: ‎04-18-2004

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router



EarlyOut wrote:

Isn't that the punchline to the old gag about a two-bagger?

Yeah, that and a pillow, to muffle the sound.
But don't take my word for it, ask a Comcast Forum Expert, or goto http://www.dslreports.com/
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Signature courtesy of Bladerunner
Most Valued Poster
Posts: 1,966
Registered: ‎03-12-2005

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router

At the risk of being a 2 bagger...
 
The standby button affects only the internet connection while leaving telephone service intact...reset takes the whole thing down...
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Most Valued Poster
N3tb0y
Posts: 2,662
Registered: ‎04-18-2004

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router

Birdie, absolutely right!  About the reset vs. Standby button.  As for the other comment, far from it!
But don't take my word for it, ask a Comcast Forum Expert, or goto http://www.dslreports.com/
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Signature courtesy of Bladerunner
Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 43,074
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router

>>It's there solely to provide the user with false feedback - he pushes the button and the door closes.  He thinks he made it happen!
 

 

Actually EO, I can tell that on most processor based control systems, the close button can be programmed to override the automatic door hold open dwell time parameter and force an instantaneous close. It also functions to close the doors when the elevator is put on manual rather than automagic service.

 

 

 

 

Recognized Contributor
Posts: 14,085
Registered: ‎10-01-2003

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router


EG wrote:

Actually EO, I can tell that on most processor based control systems, the close button can be programmed to override the automatic door hold open dwell time parameter and force an instantaneous close. It also functions to close the doors when the elevator is put on manual rather than automagic service.


I feel all warm and runny when you get technical.

Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 43,074
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router

I'm so glad !! :smileytongue: :smileywink:
Most Valued Poster
Posts: 1,966
Registered: ‎03-12-2005

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router



EarlyOut wrote:

EG wrote:

Actually EO, I can tell that on most processor based control systems, the close button can be programmed to override the automatic door hold open dwell time parameter and force an instantaneous close. It also functions to close the doors when the elevator is put on manual rather than automagic service.


I feel all warm and runny when you get technical.




EO...Please say you meant funny...cause the other...that's just wrong...LOL
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Recognized Contributor
Posts: 14,085
Registered: ‎10-01-2003

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router

Just can't resist jerking EG's chain once in a while....
Most Valued Poster
N3tb0y
Posts: 2,662
Registered: ‎04-18-2004

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router

Between this thread and another I just read, EG, we're starting to see another side to you.  Would you care to take a "swing"!
But don't take my word for it, ask a Comcast Forum Expert, or goto http://www.dslreports.com/
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Signature courtesy of Bladerunner
Connection Expert
EG
Posts: 43,074
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router

I'm up for all potential challenges !! :smileysurprised: :smileyvery-happy:
Most Valued Poster
N3tb0y
Posts: 2,662
Registered: ‎04-18-2004

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router

EG, check your PM
But don't take my word for it, ask a Comcast Forum Expert, or goto http://www.dslreports.com/
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Signature courtesy of Bladerunner
New Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-29-2006

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router

I too have an Arris router.  I just can't (or don't know) how to connect it to my modem...
Most Valued Poster
N3tb0y
Posts: 2,662
Registered: ‎04-18-2004

Re: arris telephony to belkin wireless router



lmbdlb wrote:
I too have an Arris router.  I just can't (or don't know) how to connect it to my modem...



First off, what is the model of your Arris router?  I am only familiar with Arris as a modem.  So if your Arris is actually a modem, then there is your problem, connecting a modem to a modem.
But don't take my word for it, ask a Comcast Forum Expert, or goto http://www.dslreports.com/
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Signature courtesy of Bladerunner