Reply
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-26-2007
Accepted Solution

Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

***This message was also posted to the Internet Connection forum, but someone suggested this forum might be a better fit...***

 

I have two Macs, one running 10.4.11 and a new one running 10.6.5. I use Firefox and Safari on both machines, and all browsers are up to date. For some reason I cannot log in to any Comcast Web site on the machine running 10.6--not comcast.net, comcast.com, or xfinity.com. I can access the Web sites just fine (and I can download/send my e-mail through Entourage no problem), but I need to log in to the Comcast sites to actually do anything (check e-mail online while traveling, watch shows, etc.), and the browsers just hang when I try. The machine running 10.4 logs in to the sites just fine, but of course it's so old, it can't run Web video worth a darn, so it's useless.

 

I've tried deleting cookies, disabling the browsers' autofill, and deleting the Comcast entries in my keychain, all to no avail.

 

I finally thought to look in Firefox's error console, and these sites result in a bunch. Under the "Messages" section, there are 18 lines that each read some variation of "login.comcast.net : server does not support RFC 5746, see CVE-2009-3555". Does this mean it's some sort of certificate problem? The error message I get in Safari is "Safari can't establish a secure connection to the server 'login.comcast.net'". I do not get this error on my machine running OS 10.4.

 

Does anyone have any idea what the problem could be here? It's really annoying.

 

 

Web Page Expert
BethKatz
Posts: 6,086
Registered: ‎11-14-2006

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

Your original thread is over in Web Browsers at:

http://forums.comcast.net/t5/Web-Browsers/Cannot-Log-In-to-Comcast-Sites-Mac-OS-10-6-4/m-p/841505/hi...


I locked that one and both threads have links to the other.

 

You've tried clearing cookies and caches. A machine with older OS (10.4.11) works to log in to Comcast sites. But the machine with newer OS (10.6.5) does not. Both Safari and Firefox are affected. 

 

On the newer machine, could you download yet another web browser and see if that works? That would suggest that it is something in your overall system rather than a setting switched in both browsers.

 

I'm heading to bed, but other people will probably wander by here. I think more of us check this board than the Web Browsers board. I only went over there by request to help you.

Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-26-2007

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

Thanks so much to all for your help, but I figured it out. I needed to download a few Verisign certificates. Very annoying (shouldn't updates to browsers and operating systems take care of this?), but works now.

Web Page Expert
BethKatz
Posts: 6,086
Registered: ‎11-14-2006

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

Good to see you got it to work. I'll post your solution in the other thread for completeness.


"Security" through certificates is only helpful if they mean anything. They don't seem to be as helpful as the certificate creators imagined.

Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-26-2007

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

In the end, it was not a problem with my computer or my security certificates. It was my router. On vacation, I learned I was able to log in to the sites away from home. I logged in using an Ethernet connection rather than wireless, and after that they worked, even wirelessly.

Mac Expert
Joel
Posts: 5,829
Registered: ‎12-01-2003

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

The problem you describe sounds like a firmware issue with the router. Just for our future reference, can you tell us what kind of router you're using, how the machines are connecting (both wireless; one wireless, one ethernet?), and if its controlling software (firmware) has been updated.

Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-26-2007

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

Yes, I agree. Unfortunately, I use an older Linksys router, WRT54GX4, which is out of warranty and is no longer supported by Linksys. They no longer update the firmware, and I have the latest version. For now, I log into Comcast sites with my Ethernet plugged in, and then take my laptop elsewhere in the house for the session. Annoying, but at least it works... Thanks to all for their help with this one.

Bronze Problem Solver
UHFhd
Posts: 1,571
Registered: ‎03-06-2011

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

Just for the heck of it .......... try using Google chrome      http://www.google.com/support/chrome/bin/answer.py?answer=95346

Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-26-2007

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

Yes, I tried that too. Didn't make any difference. I only seem to be able to log in and/or do anything interactive on Comcast sites (like reply to these postings) while hardwired, doesn't matter which browser I use. I will reset the router again and see if that helps...

Bronze Problem Solver
UHFhd
Posts: 1,571
Registered: ‎03-06-2011

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

           Wondering if it has anything to do with the dns prefetching .  When you tryed google chrome, did you by any   chance turn off dns prefetching in preferences ? 

Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-26-2007

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

No, it doesn't make any difference. I am guessing that given the sites work only when I'm connected to the router via Ethernet, there are some sort of IP address issues happening (I had to assign IP addresses for my network because I have a wide assortment of very old and very new equipment). I have decided not to worry about it for now, particularly as it only affects me when I'm on my home network. I'll just plug in with an Ethernet cord when necessary... Thanks again for your help!

Bronze Problem Solver
UHFhd
Posts: 1,571
Registered: ‎03-06-2011

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

Your welcome  i tryed .

Bronze Problem Solver
UHFhd
Posts: 1,571
Registered: ‎03-06-2011

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

Just spent 15 minutes wondering why i couldn't get into forums.comcast.net using vista pc , http://www.forums.comcast.net  does not work     http://forums.comcast.net does works         don't know why its all Voodoo to me !!!!!!

Bronze Problem Solver
UHFhd
Posts: 1,571
Registered: ‎03-06-2011

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

[ Edited ]

Running vista pc today I noticed that "safari web browser"  I tried to get to http://www.forums.comcast.net which did not work  I then entered forums.comcast.net into Google and noticed the web browser used http://forums.comcast.net  which did work .                 I put this here in Macintosh forum because it was originally moved from web browsers to here .                ( please do not delete again )

Web Page Expert
BethKatz
Posts: 6,086
Registered: ‎11-14-2006

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

[ Edited ]

Why would you be going to the wrong web address? The help forums are at http://forums.comcast.net without the www. You can't just put www in front of a site name and expect it to work.

Bronze Problem Solver
UHFhd
Posts: 1,571
Registered: ‎03-06-2011

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

[ Edited ]

 Interesting how some web pages work just fine with or without  the added www. And others do not i.e.  forums.comcast.net  . If at one point comcast worked with the www. And it was stored in bookmarks, that way,this might account for not being able to reach the address .

 

 

 

 

 example       http://testinternetspeed.org     http://www.testinternetspeed.org

Networking Expert
kevj
Posts: 4,650
Registered: ‎10-03-2003

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

Whetehr a site works with www as part of the host name is entirely related to how the owner of the site decides to set  up their DNS...it can also be related to the way in which they implement SSL authentication.

 

In the case of DNS, it is a simple matter to perform an nslookup from your computer to see if the host name exists in DNS...for instance, using the hostnames in this thread specifically:

 

 

C:\>nslookup
Default Server:  pdcdns.vzbi.com
Address:  166.37.130.87

> www.forums.comcast.net
Server:  pdcdns.vzbi.com
Address:  166.37.130.87

*** pdcdns.vzbi.com can't find www.forums.comcast.net: Non-existent domain
> forums.comcast.net
Server:  pdcdns.vzbi.com
Address:  166.37.130.87

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    comcastsupport.lithium.com
Address:  208.74.204.149
Aliases:  forums.comcast.net

 

 

This indicates that Comcast never set up a hostname of www.forums.comcast.net...just because you can't reach it, doesn't mean there is anything wrong....

 

Regarding the use of SSL certs for https sites....companies will often try to save money by using 'wildcard' certificates that are used to authenticate to the second level of a domain. The 'common name' associated with these certs might be something like *.bar.com... By using a certificate of this type, they can enable SSL on any number of sites, such as foo.bar.com, and charlies.bar.com, however by definition in the Internet RFCs, wildcard certs can ONLY be used to go to one additional level of naming for a site....so they cannot use the same wildcard cert for really.foo.bar.com as they use for foo.bar.com. The really.foo.bar.com site would require them to purchase an SSL cert with a specific common name, and SSL certificates are not cheap...

The result is that for companies that implement SSL sites AND use wildcard ssl certs, you'll tend to see hostnames that are only three levels deep, so adding www in some cases is omitted for these reasons. It is also a somewhat archaic concept, that all websites should start with www...it simply isn't the case these days.

 

 

---------------------------------------
Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions


Send feedback to Comcast using the 'feedback' link on this page:
http://www.comcast.com/Corporate/Customers/CustomerGuarantee.html?SCRedirect=true

Bronze Problem Solver
UHFhd
Posts: 1,571
Registered: ‎03-06-2011

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

I thank you for your reply . I guess cheap as far as comcast is concerned means   89.99?              http://www.godaddy.com/Compare/gdcompare_ssl.aspx?isc=sslqgo002a

 

                                         I thank you again for the information you provided .

Networking Expert
kevj
Posts: 4,650
Registered: ‎10-03-2003

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

[ Edited ]

 


UHFhd wrote:

I thank you for your reply . I guess cheap as far as comcast is concerned means   89.99?              http://www.godaddy.com/Compare/gdcompare_ssl.aspx?isc=sslqgo002a

 

                                         I thank you again for the information you provided .


The information i posted about SSL certs was an attempt to explain why some website owners do what they do with hostnames...Comcast was never a specific example or subject in that portion of the discussion. In fact, the sites you were troubleshooting (www.forums.comcast.net (non-existent) and forums.comcast.net) don't use SSL encryption, so your attempt to imply that Comcast are cheap is inappropriate in this particular scenario...

 

---------------------------------------
Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions


Send feedback to Comcast using the 'feedback' link on this page:
http://www.comcast.com/Corporate/Customers/CustomerGuarantee.html?SCRedirect=true

Bronze Problem Solver
UHFhd
Posts: 1,571
Registered: ‎03-06-2011

Re: Cannot Log In to Comcast Sites (Mac OS 10.6.5)

[ Edited ]

My original post was about bookmarked pages basically and thought www might play a role in not being able to get to website .   

 

 

          As far a comcast being cheap for the convenience of users who might mistakenly type in the www as I did one would think they would have included some workaround archaic or not .