Reply
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-01-2009

How do I get a link?

[ Edited ]

Ok so why doesn't this work 

https://home.comcast.net/~yourusername/ yourfolder/yourfilename

So I just try going to https://home.comcast.net/something

 

I get a 404 error why? Then I tried https://home.comcast.net/something/oc

and I still get a 404 error??

How do I give public links to someone? (Oc is a valid folder)

Also the online manager is junk, slow and bloated... I just use filezilla but I can't share files with it. 

Message Edited by jigglywigglyZ on 07-10-2009 07:06 PM
Bronze Problem Solver
Posts: 5,958
Registered: ‎03-12-2004

Re: How do I get a link?

[ Edited ]

jigglywigglyZ wrote:

Ok so why doesn't this work 

https://home.comcast.net/~yourusername/ yourfolder/yourfilename

So I just try going to https://home.comcast.net/something

 

I get a 404 error why? Then I tried https://home.comcast.net/something/oc

and I still get a 404 error??

How do I give public links to someone? (Oc is a valid folder)

Also the online manager is junk, slow and bloated... I just use filezilla but I can't share files with it. 

Message Edited by jigglywigglyZ on 07-10-2009 07:06 PM

It should be http://home.comcast.net/~yourusername/YourFolderNameIfYouSetUpAFolder/YourFileName.extension

 

What is your real url that does not work for you? The file Oc is not the same as a file oc so make sure your case is consistent.

 

What do you mean you can't share files with filezilla? Filezilla is an ftp program used to upload your files to your pwp space not to share files.

Message Edited by FishMan on 07-10-2009 08:05 PM
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-13-2009

Re: How do I get a link?

I got a 404 error just Friday because Comcast doesn't have permissions set up correctly on their server, and I've had not much help from their technical support line. Several who answered couldn't understand English well.

 

I too found their on line manager to be slow, and some screens would not work.

 

I am waiting 48 hours for their higher level support to call me back.  

 

I've used other internet hosting sites and had excellent service with problems resolved within 15 minutes... Comcast has a lot of room for improvement.

Bronze Problem Solver
Posts: 5,958
Registered: ‎03-12-2004

Re: How do I get a link?

[ Edited ]

kl7907 wrote:

I got a 404 error just Friday because Comcast doesn't have permissions set up correctly on their server, and I've had not much help from their technical support line. Several who answered couldn't understand English well.

 

I too found their on line manager to be slow, and some screens would not work.

 

I am waiting 48 hours for their higher level support to call me back.  

 

I've used other internet hosting sites and had excellent service with problems resolved within 15 minutes... Comcast has a lot of room for improvement.


What permissions are not set up correctly on their server? If you are using the pwp file manager you need to set your files as public. If you are using ftp, all your files are automatically visible and no permissions need to be set. FTP a file to your root pwp space and access it at http://home.comcast.net/~yourusername/yourfilename.extension. Don't forget that directory and filenames are case sensitive.

 

Make sure you delete your browser cache so that your new page is forced to load when you browse to it. You likely have the error page in cache hence the reason your new page does not display if indeed it does not.

 

As far as the support folks not speaking English I don't know why you would experience that.

Message Edited by FishMan on 07-13-2009 09:22 PM
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-17-2009

Re: How do I get a link?

Yeah...well, typical of Comcast's "support"!!  I've tried over and over again, with as many variable changes as I can think of.  I've even done a cut and paste of my filename and copies of the links that they've provided in their "answers" with the apppropriate changes for MY username and it still doesn't work.  I get an error "http://home.comcast.net/site/error/error_404.html" EVERYTIME!!  I'm tired of trying to talk to people who don't understand ENGLISH enough to understand a simple question, so I'm asking here now.....WHAT'S GOING ON THAT THIS DOESN'T WORK AND I'M OBVIOUSLY NOT THE ONLY ONE WHO'S HAVING PROBLEMS!!!

 

Service Expert
Again
Posts: 6,684
Registered: ‎08-04-2006

Re: How do I get a link?


tickedoff78 wrote:

Yeah...well, typical of Comcast's "support"!!  I've tried over and over again, with as many variable changes as I can think of.  I've even done a cut and paste of my filename and copies of the links that they've provided in their "answers" with the apppropriate changes for MY username and it still doesn't work.  I get an error "http://home.comcast.net/site/error/error_404.html" EVERYTIME!!  I'm tired of trying to talk to people who don't understand ENGLISH enough to understand a simple question, so I'm asking here now.....WHAT'S GOING ON THAT THIS DOESN'T WORK AND I'M OBVIOUSLY NOT THE ONLY ONE WHO'S HAVING PROBLEMS!!!

 


Are you using http://home.comcast.net/~yourusername ?  If you used the PWP File Manager to upload your files, did you remember to make the files public?  Using the PWP File Manager to upload files automatically makes them private.

***** ***** ***** ***** *****
"When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be."
--- Lao Tzu ---
** ***** *****
"Life is not linear. It's all a circle. Our dust becomes the firmament on which the future walks."
--- © James Scott 2014 ---

Web Page Expert
BethKatz
Posts: 6,188
Registered: ‎11-14-2006

Re: How do I get a link?

Many people have web pages on Comcast's servers. It does work. Sometimes there are glitches, but overall it does work. But you need to know where things are. Here are some things to check.

 

Your file space is at http://home.comcast.net/~username which needs to have the ~ before the username. Any file and folder names below that are case sensitive and shouldn't include weird punctuation or spaces.

 

For example, I have a page describing some page-building options. It's at

http://home.comcast.net/~bethkatz/Word/index.html 

But if I tried to use the following (with case changes) it won't work. That's standard Unix file system and not something Comcast messed up. 

http://home.comcast.net/~bethkatz/word/Index.html  

 

I'm sure you enabled your pages under My Account. Have you reloaded the pages in your web browser? Web browsers try to be helpful and cache things including error pages.

 

Can you see the file you uploaded using the Comcast File Manager and is it public? 

 

If you post the URL (universal resource locator - web address) you are trying, maybe we can help you figure out what's not working. 

 

Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-17-2009

Re: How do I get a link?

Well, I can try posting the link I'm trying to use, but it's worked just FINE before.  Now all of a sudden it doesn't, indicating to me that it's NOT a problem that I'm introducing.  Here goes:

 

http://home.comcast.net/~modelbuilders78/ebaypics/BlackShoes1.jpg  

 

As you can see, I'm NOT mixing upper and lower case except in the actual file name.  I'm familiar with UNIX and the fact that it's case sensitive.  

 

Next?

 

 

 

Bronze Problem Solver
Posts: 5,958
Registered: ‎03-12-2004

Re: How do I get a link?

[ Edited ]

tickedoff78 wrote:

Well, I can try posting the link I'm trying to use, but it's worked just FINE before.  Now all of a sudden it doesn't, indicating to me that it's NOT a problem that I'm introducing.  Here goes:

 

http://home.comcast.net/~modelbuilders78/ebaypics/BlackShoes1.jpg  

 

As you can see, I'm NOT mixing upper and lower case except in the actual file name.  I'm familiar with UNIX and the fact that it's case sensitive.  

 

Next?

 

 

 


I guess you are missing the case matters part. Here is your image. http://home.comcast.net/~modelbuilders78/ebaypics/BlackShoes1.JPG

Notice the file name is a different case than you are using so I guess you did introduce the problem.

 

Message Edited by FishMan on 11-18-2009 07:32 AM
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-13-2009

Re: How do I get a link?

Comcast never fixed my problem.  The issue is, when I use a FTP to upload to the comcast home site, it won't even allow me to connect.   It gives me a "553 permission denied error".

 

I have 4 accounts corresponding to 4 email accounts.  3 of them have comcast web sites which work fine.  The 4th one was disabled by comcast because they said they needed to reset the password, and I haven't been able to do a FTP connect ever since.   I can, though, sign on to my email on-line and get my email, so the password is working with email.

 

I have given up on comcast support.  Talking via phone to their technical support people who haven't a clue what they are talking about, is a waste of time. 

Bronze Problem Solver
Posts: 5,958
Registered: ‎03-12-2004

Re: How do I get a link?


kl7907 wrote:

Comcast never fixed my problem.  The issue is, when I use a FTP to upload to the comcast home site, it won't even allow me to connect.   It gives me a "553 permission denied error".

 

I have 4 accounts corresponding to 4 email accounts.  3 of them have comcast web sites which work fine.  The 4th one was disabled by comcast because they said they needed to reset the password, and I haven't been able to do a FTP connect ever since.   I can, though, sign on to my email on-line and get my email, so the password is working with email.

 

I have given up on comcast support.  Talking via phone to their technical support people who haven't a clue what they are talking about, is a waste of time. 


What FTP address are you uploading to? What FTP program are you using? Try setting your FTP program to use passive mode. Post a log of your FTP session.

Web Page Expert
BethKatz
Posts: 6,188
Registered: ‎11-14-2006

Re: How do I get a link?


kl7907 wrote:

Comcast never fixed my problem.  The issue is, when I use a FTP to upload to the comcast home site, it won't even allow me to connect.   It gives me a "553 permission denied error".

 

I have 4 accounts corresponding to 4 email accounts.  3 of them have comcast web sites which work fine.  The 4th one was disabled by comcast because they said they needed to reset the password, and I haven't been able to do a FTP connect ever since.   I can, though, sign on to my email on-line and get my email, so the password is working with email.

 

I have given up on comcast support.  Talking via phone to their technical support people who haven't a clue what they are talking about, is a waste of time. 


In this case, there is nothing we can do or help with. You *have* to contact Comcast to get someone who can fix the permissions on your file space to pay attention to it. I'll see if I can get someone to notice it, but they'll need more info from you.

 

I suggest that you try the 'email to Comcast' approach following this link. Politely and carefully describe your problem noting that you have accounts that work and one that does not. Note that someone who can fix the permissions needs to look at it.

 

Good luck. 

Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-17-2009

Re: How do I get a link?

Well, I guess I have to humble myself.  I'm well aware of the case issue, but I've never noticed the file extensions in CAPS before, probably because the "case" in the extension has never been the cause of a problem for me.  Thanks for pointing out MY shortfall in this case.  Next time I'll be more vigilant of case.  I guess what I need to find out now is WHEN that file extension was converted to all "CAPS", because the way I generate the link is in EXCEL using the "concatenate" command to add the "http://home.comcast...." to the picture name, and then ".jpg" to the end of all that to put in the eBay listing.  So, it might have been when FireZilla transferred the files that IT capitalized the file extension, or in the program I use to process the digital photos.  Anyway, I've decided that my next project will be to find out WHERE the file extensions are being capitalized.  Thanks again!!

 

Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-17-2009

Re: How do I get a link?

Sorry...one thing I forgot to mention.  Since all the negative comments about Comcast, and my own disgust with all the non English speaking (virtually non-speaking anyway) "help desk" people, I guess it doesn't surprise me that they never picked up on the case issue with the file extension.  Oh well, as I and so many others have said.......yeah, we all know about Comcast's "tech support".  Thanks again guys

 

Web Page Expert
BethKatz
Posts: 6,188
Registered: ‎11-14-2006

Re: How do I get a link?

You're welcome. I usually change the case of the file extension also when I give an example. I'll keep this interaction in mind the next time.
Bronze Problem Solver
Posts: 5,958
Registered: ‎03-12-2004

Re: How do I get a link?


tickedoff78 wrote:

Well, I guess I have to humble myself.  I'm well aware of the case issue, but I've never noticed the file extensions in CAPS before, probably because the "case" in the extension has never been the cause of a problem for me.  Thanks for pointing out MY shortfall in this case.  Next time I'll be more vigilant of case.  I guess what I need to find out now is WHEN that file extension was converted to all "CAPS", because the way I generate the link is in EXCEL using the "concatenate" command to add the "http://home.comcast...." to the picture name, and then ".jpg" to the end of all that to put in the eBay listing.  So, it might have been when FireZilla transferred the files that IT capitalized the file extension, or in the program I use to process the digital photos.  Anyway, I've decided that my next project will be to find out WHERE the file extensions are being capitalized.  Thanks again!!

 


Sometimes we look at something so much we miss the obvious. I know I've missed things like this before then when I ask someone else to look at it they point out my oversight right away. It happens to all of us.

 

I use filezilla and I don't think I've ever seen it change the case of filenames.

Bronze Problem Solver
lunski
Posts: 1,757
Registered: ‎09-03-2008

Re: How do I get a link?


kl7907 wrote:

Comcast never fixed my problem.  The issue is, when I use a FTP to upload to the comcast home site, it won't even allow me to connect.   It gives me a "553 permission denied error".

 

I have 4 accounts corresponding to 4 email accounts.  3 of them have comcast web sites which work fine.  The 4th one was disabled by comcast because they said they needed to reset the password, and I haven't been able to do a FTP connect ever since.   I can, though, sign on to my email on-line and get my email, so the password is working with email.

 

I have given up on comcast support.  Talking via phone to their technical support people who haven't a clue what they are talking about, is a waste of time. 


hi kl,
i would like to have our pwp folks look at this.
can you email me the three accounts having the issue? 

 

George Lunski
"Retired" Comcast Help Forums Administrator
Web Page Expert
lead5alpha
Posts: 1,197
Registered: ‎12-15-2007

Re: How do I get a link?

>I guess what I need to find out now is WHEN that file extension was converted to all "CAPS

 

Many digital cameras save the picture with the file name and extension in all caps.  IMG100045.JPG for example.  This could be where it came from.