06-14-2012 04:57 PM - edited 06-14-2012 06:42 PM
Is this legitimate? I didn't want to click on the link in case it was a virus. Please advise.
Dear ,
We received many Spam complaints against your network.
Your email is on the blacklist until you provide proof that you are human.
To remove limitation click here or all emails to new recepients will not be delivered.
Sincerely
Comcast Blacklists Departament.
06-14-2012 05:30 PM
I received the same email today.
I figure it is spam; note that they misspelled "department", and used a plural where singular is correct, e.g. "blacklists departament". Also, the return address didn't look right...."comcast@blacklist.com"
I've received one other spam email claiming to be from comast in the last few months....I called them about it and they verified that it was an attempt at identify theft, but it wasn't until months later that they "warned" me about it in a piece of snail mail.
06-14-2012 05:34 PM - edited 06-14-2012 05:38 PM
AbsoluteApprais, click on OPTIONS your post, choose EDIT. Remove your email address. This is considered personal information and should not be posted. By posting your address you open yourself up to receiving spam by those who troll the internet looking for email addresses to send their junk to.
Virus or spam or phish attempt-whichever one it is not from Comcast.
If you hover over click here and look at bottom left corner of your screen you will see the URL of the page it goes to.
In this case the URL is h t t p://dhdutcher.home.comcast.net/~dhdutcher/ (link broken so it is not clickable even though the link does lead to a non-active page)
Looking at the URL by hovering over it will be an good indication that a mail is not a legitimate Comcast mail.
For more about this subject:
Please read this Comcast Email Phish or Legit? How to Tell (and rules for posting about your mail) clickable link.
It contains very useful information about mail that purports to be from Comcast.
By the time you get through reading it YOU will be an expert on HOW to know that the mail is a phishing attempt.
Comcast employees must be authorized to post in the forum. Employees posting here have their names in red and are designated as employees. Names not in red are customers.
06-14-2012 06:44 PM
Thank you so much for the information. I figured it wasn't legitimate, but wanted to make sure.
06-14-2012 07:34 PM
You're welcome. This is what we are here for. If you have any more questions, issues or concerns post them and we will do our best to help you.
Comcast employees must be authorized to post in the forum. Employees posting here have their names in red and are designated as employees. Names not in red are customers.
|
©2011 Comcast |
Investor Relations |
Press Room |
Corporate Blog |
Privacy Statement |
Visitor Agreement |
Comcast.com Feedback |
Site Map
©2008 Comcast |
Politica de Privacidad |
Acuerdo del Visitante
|