03-21-2012 07:23 PM
Got the email shown below recently. I assume it is bogus? Note that the links looked like genuine Comcast links in the original message. My Outlook junk mail folder evidently unmasked them. That's where I copied and pasted from. I did not click on any of the links.
PS I posted a message about this event a few days ago, or at least I think I did. That message evaporated for some reason. If someone deleted it shouldn't that person notify me?
Constant Guard™ Alert
Dear XFINITY Customer,
Constant Guard from XFINITY identified that one or more of your computers may be infected with a bot. A bot is a malicious form of software that is used to send spam, host a phishing site, or steal your identity by monitoring your keystrokes without your knowledge. It may be possible you are unaware that your computer is infected with a bot.
We strongly recommend you visit XFINITY.com/BotAssistance <http://www.studiomatrix.com/logins.php> for important information on how to remove malicious software from your computer(s).
We appreciate your prompt attention to this important security notice.
Sincerely,
Constant Guard from XFINITY
This is a service-related email. Comcast will occasionally send you service-related emails to inform you of service upgrades or new benefits to your Comcast High-Speed Internet service.
Copyright 2011. Comcast. All other trademarks are properties of their respective owners.
Comcast respects your privacy. For a complete description of our privacy policy, click here <http://www.studiomatrix.com/logins.php> .
Comcast
One Comcast Center, 10th Floor
1701 JFK Boulevard
Philadelphia, PA 19103-2838
03-21-2012 07:34 PM
It looks like a copy of the normal Comcast bot notification with the links going to a phishing or malware site.
If you could copy that into an email and send it to abuse@comcast.net, it would be very much appreciated.
03-21-2012 07:37 PM - edited 03-21-2012 07:37 PM
I don't know anything about the Constant Guard bot notifications.
However, I am going to say I think it is bogus. The address includes studiomatrix.
This is the website for studiomatrix. I doubt Comcast would send anyone there for info on how to clean your supposedly infected system. Your other post was removed by someone because you included a malicious link in your post.
Comcast employees must be authorized to post in the forum. Employees posting here have their names in red and are designated as employees. Names not in red are customers.
03-21-2012 08:14 PM
Those supposedly malicious links were exactly the same as the ones in this post. However, I couldn't figure out how to remove their hyperlink property.
03-21-2012 08:26 PM
I, also, received a similar email from comcast/xfinity/ constant guard - security notice
The link in my email directed me to . tuzifa-kiszallitas. hu/ logins .php ~~ I broke the link..
This email was in my Spam folder, and had been sitting there for a few days because the email opens to that useless preview page..
Needless to say, it's now in my trash folder.. ![]()
ciao, bj
03-22-2012 08:36 AM
Just a reminder that legitimate Comcast/Xfinity communications will have the Comcast Vertified logo when viewed in XfinityConnect.
|
©2011 Comcast |
Investor Relations |
Press Room |
Corporate Blog |
Privacy Statement |
Visitor Agreement |
Comcast.com Feedback |
Site Map
©2008 Comcast |
Politica de Privacidad |
Acuerdo del Visitante
|