Contributor
ShadowBoxer78
Accepted Solution

Constant Guard, Norton, and Chrome

I have been using Constant Guard, Norton, and Chrome for 2 years now with no problems and last night I started getting a message from Norton saying that it was blocking and denying access for the following files/downloadafter "analyzing":

Filename: idvault.extension.chrome.dll
Threat name: WS.Reputation.1
Full Path: c:\users\shadowboxer\appdata\local\google\chrome\user data\default\extensions\faknfdmfmhcmgphbfjhgmomfcihmocmp\1.13.830.1_0\idvault.extension.chrome.dll

Details
Few Users,  Very New,  Risk Medium

Origin
Downloaded from Unknown

Activity
Actions performed: Actions performed: 1

Few Users
Hundreds of users in the Norton Community have used this file.

Very New
This file was released less than 1 week  ago.

Medium
This file risk is medium.

Threat type: Insight Network Threat. There are many indications that this file is untrustworthy and therefore not safe

Source: External Media
Source File:
idvault.extension.chrome.dll

The first time I did nothing and allowed the software to quarantine and remove the file. Then I started getting messages from Chrome that the Cosntant Guard extension could not load. Chrome is my default browser and it would not open any of the websites I had saved in my Constant Guard account, so I ended up having to unblock and restore the files in order to have my Constant Guard work.

Is this a known issue and will unblocking, ignoring the "intrusion" and restoring the file harm my computer?

Security Expert
USAF_E-8_RET

Re: Constant Guard, Norton, and Chrome

[ Edited ]

Hi ShadowBoxer78,

Would you believe Normal operation as far as the detection goes?

Although an older article - it is still the best I have seen it explained.

http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-Internet-Security-Norton/Clarification-on-WS-Reputation-1-dete...

Please bear in mind it is a different version of Norton than what you are using - but the basics still apply.