07-08-2012 11:10 AM
I just did a check for this malware on http://www.dcwg.org/. I checked out fine. However, the diagnostic gave a caveat. It said:
"Please note, however, that if your ISP is redirecting DNS traffic for its customers you would have reached this site even though you are infected."
How can I find out that Comcast isn't redirecting DNS traffic for its customers? How can I then, without a doubt, confirm that I'm not infected? Thank you.
07-08-2012 11:45 AM
You can visit https://amibotted.comcast.netto see if you're still infected with The DNS
Changer bot, and others as well. You can also visit https://dns-ok.us to see if you're infected with the DNS Changer specifically.
07-08-2012 12:00 PM
WiFiGuy wrote:
I just did a check for this malware on http://www.dcwg.org/. I checked out fine. However, the diagnostic gave a caveat. It said:
"Please note, however, that if your ISP is redirecting DNS traffic for its customers you would have reached this site even though you are infected."
How can I find out that Comcast isn't redirecting DNS traffic for its customers? How can I then, without a doubt, confirm that I'm not infected? Thank you.
Comcast isn't redirecting DNS. So, if you're 'green' on those sites you're probably ok. Also, we (Comcast) would have notified you if you were infected with the DNS Changer.
07-08-2012 02:23 PM
I went to the xfinity checker and it said that I had a bot...but it was a unclassified bot, while the DNS changer website said that all my computers were ok? So am I ok or not??? I'm sorta flipping out at the moment.
07-08-2012 04:33 PM
Jarzag wrote:
I went to the xfinity checker and it said that I had a bot...but it was a unclassified bot, while the DNS changer website said that all my computers were ok? So am I ok or not??? I'm sorta flipping out at the moment.
Hi Jarzag,
It sounds like you checked out OK as far as the DNS Changer goes, but could be infected with a BOT. I suggest you contact the Customer Security Assurance organization. This dedicated group of security professional are here and responds to issues pertaining to phishing, spam, infected PCs (commonly referred to as "bots"), online fraud and other security issues.
Normal business hours (6:00 am to 2:00 am EST, 7 days a week) 888-565-4329
A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'
07-08-2012 10:45 PM
Jarzag wrote:
I went to the xfinity checker and it said that I had a bot...but it was a unclassified bot, while the DNS changer website said that all my computers were ok? So am I ok or not??? I'm sorta flipping out at the moment.
You're ok for tomorrow (Not seeing any DNS Changer) - but we'll need to take a closer look into what you're seeing. Look for a PM from me.
07-08-2012 11:30 PM
I tried to check my computer out on the dns website posted everywhere, and it keeps telling me server not found. How am I supposed to check my pc out in a half hour if I can't even get onto the website??? Any help would e nice!
07-08-2012 11:34 PM - edited 07-08-2012 11:35 PM
Hi, I had checked my computer out earlier in the week and I think things checked out ok. For some reason I felt the need to make sure again tonight, and neither the dns.us.ok page would load for me or comcast's own page. I was just wondering is this because they were taken down since the deadline is tomorrow, or is this a reflection of a new problem? Thanks for your help.
Editted to add: Just saw the reply ahead of mine. Glad I'm not the only one I guess, who is getting the same error.
Michelle
07-08-2012 11:36 PM
i had tried to go to the website metioned but my IE says diagnose connection problems... how can i go around it?>?? or is this that i am infected?
i just recently bought this pc.. and i dont know if indeed could be infected! please help~
07-08-2012 11:43 PM
I got the same response. Instead of the US site I used the australian site and it worked fine.
07-08-2012 11:48 PM
The Canadian site is also working - http://www.dns-ok.ca/
07-08-2012 11:56 PM
you are genius!!!!! thanks... i am not infected.. i am very thankful.. i was a bit concern... have a great week!!
07-09-2012 12:58 AM
I am getting the same response...So I don't know if I'm affected or not....What do I do?
07-09-2012 01:56 AM
Has Comcast notified all customers about this? My service is new, just got my first billing. Thanks.
07-09-2012 08:58 AM
irThumper wrote:
Has Comcast notified all customers about this? My service is new, just got my first billing. Thanks.
We have notified all customers that we were infected with this bot. If you did not get a notice from us, you need not worry.
07-09-2012 08:59 AM
angarena wrote:
I am getting the same response...So I don't know if I'm affected or not....What do I do?
Give this a read. It should answer your questions.
|
©2011 Comcast |
Investor Relations |
Press Room |
Corporate Blog |
Privacy Statement |
Visitor Agreement |
Comcast.com Feedback |
Site Map
©2008 Comcast |
Politica de Privacidad |
Acuerdo del Visitante
|