Visitor
Tater3
Accepted Solution

Does Constant Guard/Norton Security Suite protect against browser hijacking?

I'm an amateur tech support guy for a friend who lives 12 hours away. We're both Comcast Internet customers, by the way. My friend (an elderly lady and former neighbor) is--at her age--surprisingly good with a computer, but she's had a problem with downloaded malware that takes over her browser (Google chrome), changes her search preferences, and installs a "helper" toolbar. She has Constant Guard installed on her Windows Vista computer. We spent two hours on the phone Sunday evening trying to get rid of this stuff. I think we succeeded. My question: Can CG/NIS be configured to keep such software from installing?

Security Expert
USAF_E-8_RET

Re: Does Constant Guard/Norton Security Suite protect against browser hijacking?

Hi Tater3,

Hopefully she also has Norton Security Suite installed also.  I ask, as most users do not releize they are separate and independent system - either can be run, installed, uninstalled (and break) on their own.  So let's say both Constant Guard and NSS are installed. 

Now do you have any idea what you found/removed?  Was it found by something like MBAM or SAS?  they both sek out and remove PUP (Potentially Unwanted Programs) - something that Norton does not necessarily seek out and remove.  Most PUP's are installed y the user (although unknowingly in most cases) and Norton tends to not mess with items that the user installs on their own.  I now of now settings  in NSS that could help more than the default settings. 

Now with that said - we do have some Norton Support representation on the forum -  but of course they work days :smileywink:  I am sure they may add a lot more when they see this post - but I just wanted to get some info out to you tonight.

In reagtrds to CGPS - I'll leave that to CGPS-Support (a Comcast employee) who is the expert on Constant Guard on this board.