Reply
Contributor
Taaron
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-15-2011

Port 80 open

 

I can see your service on 69.246.217.36 on port (80) Your ISP is not blocking port 80

Can someone tell me why comcast is leaving port 80 open? Why is it not stealthed like all the other ports. I understand it is a http port. It use to be stealthed until comcast changed my ip. I use the norton firewall. This look's like a security risk to me. I called comcast..they could not say. Of all the ports not to stealth 80?

Security Expert
USAF_E-8_RET
Posts: 4,888
Registered: ‎10-28-2003

Re: Port 80 open


Taaron wrote:

 

I can see your service on 69.246.217.36 on port (80) Your ISP is not blocking port 80

Can someone tell me why comcast is leaving port 80 open? Why is it not stealthed like all the other ports. I understand it is a http port. It use to be stealthed until comcast changed my ip. I use the norton firewall. This look's like a security risk to me. I called comcast..they could not say. Of all the ports not to stealth 80?


Who or what is telling you that?

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'

Networking Expert
Baric
Posts: 24,238
Registered: ‎07-28-2003

Re: Port 80 open

Comcast does not interfere with most ports, including 80 (normal plaintext HTTP traffic).  If you are using some kind of external scanning service on your own IP address, then it means that you router or firewall does not have that port blocked.  Security of your network and computers is YOUR responsibilty, not Comcast's.  If you have your computer directly connected to your modem, then you need a software firewall.  Most OS's have one built-in, make sure it is active and no unnecessary ports are open.  If you are sitting behind a router, make sure its firewall does not have open holes, unnecessary port forwarding or triggering, etc.

 

For a list of ports that Comcast DOES block, see this link:

 

Comcast Port Blocks 

Contributor
Taaron
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-15-2011

Re: Port 80 open

https://www.grc.com/default.htm

I ran the shields up program from this site.

GRC Port Authority Report created on UTC: 2011-09-27 at 04:07:23 Results from scan of ports: 0, 21-23, 25, 79, 80, 110, 113, 119, 135, 139, 143, 389, 443, 445, 1002, 1024-1030, 1720, 5000 1 Ports Open 0 Ports Closed 25 Ports Stealth --------------------- 26 Ports Tested NO PORTS were found to be CLOSED. The port found to be OPEN was: 80 Other than what is listed above, all ports are STEALTH. TruStealth: FAILED - NOT all tested ports were STEALTH, - NO unsolicited packets were received, - NO Ping reply (ICMP Echo) was received.

http://www.pcflank.com/index.htm

one thing that may cause a false 'open' report is if your isp is

> intercepting incoming connections to prevent you from running a web server.

> i understand that instead of just blocking it completely some isp's are

> making it look like the port is open, then just dumping whatever comes in.

> this would make shields up think the port is open even though it isn't

> actually getting to your machine. PC Flank

Plus 

http://www.canyouseeme.org/

Windows 7 professional 64 bit IE9 ... Norton internet security 2011 running norton in smart firewall mode ..use emet 2.1... SpywareBlaster...Malwarebytes & SuperAntiSpyware both on demand...& winpatrol..WOT (web of trust). I never find anything on my computer. I never made any changes. I do not use a router. Like I said..the port was stealthed until Comcast started messing with things.

Comcast Aug 15th case..I called them back sept 22...case # CR258040273...case still open .

Contributor
Taaron
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-15-2011

Re: Port 80 open

[ Edited ]

Have done more research .. I ran netstat -aon | more

 

TCP    0.0.0.0:80             0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING       4  

 

process id 4 is my system NT Kernal  system32 so I do not know now. upgraded to norton internet security 2012. Same thing. Got on chat with norton..nothing solved. I will just keep digging. Thanks for your help Guy's. Take care.

Security Expert
USAF_E-8_RET
Posts: 4,888
Registered: ‎10-28-2003

Re: Port 80 open

@ Taaron,

 

You can post on the NIS Board over on the Norton Forums:

 

http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-Internet-Security-Norton/bd-p/nis_feedback

 

The guru's over there (as well as others) may be able to help you - they answer a lot more questions than Norton Chat/tech support answer.

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'

Networking Expert
Baric
Posts: 24,238
Registered: ‎07-28-2003

Re: Port 80 open


Taaron wrote:

Have done more research .. I ran netstat -aon | more

 

TCP    0.0.0.0:80             0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING       4  

 

process id 4 is my system NT Kernal  system32 so I do not know now. upgraded to norton internet security 2012. Same thing. Got on chat with norton..nothing solved. I will just keep digging. Thanks for your help Guy's. Take care.


You are running a web server on your system, it;s listening on port 80 and your firewall is allowing it.  If the web server is a local use only thing, then close the port on the firewall.  If you don't need the web server, uninstall it.

Contributor
Taaron
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-15-2011

Re: Port 80 open

I am not running a web server. If my computer is running a web server I sure do not know about it.

Contributor
Taaron
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-15-2011

Re: Port 80 open

All fixed..somehow the iss settings were all messed up. Thx for everyones help!

Contributor
tribjim
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-08-2013

Re: Port 80 open

 

Until the last couple weeks I ran the shields up program from this site.

GRCPort Authority

https://www.grc.com/default.htm

 

 

and it would always come up stealth on my ports.  Now ports 80, 23, and 443 are listed as closed

 

I wonder what changed on my router or Comcast.  I checked other sites like Taaron above did and I get the same result.

I have my SMCD3GNV router firewall set at Maximum Security (High)

 

Security Expert
CajunTek
Posts: 20,937
Registered: ‎10-07-2003

Re: Port 80 open

Posted to a two year old thread.. locked.

TANSTAAFL!!