Reply
New Visitor
MarkMyers1958
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-19-2012

Re: Constant Guard Alert + VPN

I just got a mail from constant guard asking me to "reconcile my account". As my account is current, and I refuse to do their reconciliation, please advise as to where this mail can be forwarded to. I believe that it is a phishing attemp. If it is, I would like to get this to comcast so that the site can be disabled. The mail came in on my wifes account, and this mail is not an admin here at comcast. Please advise.

Security Expert
LoPhatPhuud
Posts: 2,601
Registered: ‎11-01-2005

Re: Constant Guard Alert + VPN

[ Edited ]

It's a phshing email.

 

See here:

http://customer.comcast.com/help-and-support/wireless-internet/phishing-scams/

 

 

You'll find examples of recent ph\ishing emails here:

http://xfinity.comcast.net/constantguard/Alerts/#ThreatInfo



"Once I talked to the inmates of an insane asylum in Hartford. I have talked to idiots a thousand times, but only once to the insane..."
Mark Twain

Microsoft MVP, Consumer Security, 2005-2012
New Visitor
TastesLikePuddi
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-19-2012

Re: Constant Guard Alert + VPN

Low and behold, I am not the only other person who saw this and went, "What...?"

I looked into some of the background information on the person who sent it. If comcast wished to crack down upon the pests trying to get account information, I have tracked one (In case there are many varied ones) of the e-mail addresses used. This one in particular was sent to me, by "tagph@mango.rapidvps.com"

"AS17183 Infinitum Technologies Inc." Is the company that is hosting the server.
"208.77.100.37" Is the direct IP address, and just as well it is located within the united states in Kansas near El Dorado off of NW 120th ST and River Valley Rd.
And if there was any true doubt of things:

"X-PHP-Script: affordabledentalimplants.orgsend.php"
And
"From: guard@xfinity.com " Don't exactly match as far as a professional business is concerned.

I hope this helps.