Contributor
giesekejs

Error 14 when trying to use on demand

This has been an ongoing issue for nearly 2 years.

I would get error 14 or just some generic "an error has occured" with no explanation message when trying to access a show on demand.

Several signal resets later, tech support FINALLY sent a tech to my home. He suggested that the problem was with the attic cable because the cable coming to the house was RG6 and the cable from the wall to the box is RG6 but the cable in the attic was RG59.

I said ok go ahead and run cable. He told me that he COULDN'T do that but that customer service could set it up for $90 per hour and a minimum of 2 billable hours.

I run cable for a living and have a spool of RG6 in the next room. I ran a straight run of cable from the outside box to the single wall jack I need working. No splitters. No repeaters. One single run of cable from outside to my TV. This fixed the problem.

Last week, I started having the problem again. I called and spoke to tech support and they sent a refresh signal. No joy so I set up an appointment. Before the appointment, I checked and it was working so I cancelled the appointment. Later that day the error came back.

This morning, I swapped boxes at my local Comcast office. I hooked up the new box, turned it on and left the house for 3 hours.When I came home, I tried to get into on demand and the error 14 message still came up.

I called tech support and they sent what the guy claimed to be a BETTER refresh signal to my box.

He said to wait 45 minutes and try it again. An hour later, I tried it again and I'm still getting the error.

I know it isn't equipment because this is at least the 3rd if not 4th box this has happened on. I know it isn't cable because all the cable is RG6 and brand new on my end (when I reran the cable, I replaced the wall to box cable just because I could).