Reply
Visitor
Deb33
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-27-2011

Outage Reporting

Anyone know if there is an area either on-line or by calling Comcast to get outage status?  Our area has been out of all three Comcast services since last night around 7PMish...   Would just like to know when it's back so I can go back home.  :smileygrin:

Thank you.

Visitor
Moqy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-27-2011

Re: Outage Reporting

Deb,33 what area are you in, I'm in the Waynesboro VA area.

 

I just found out that we can't receive outside calls. Don't know how long this has been going on. I can call a Comcast customer, but can't receive calls from other people. Someone had been trying to all me all morning but couldn't.  I called and got her though. 

 

 There is no way to contact Comcast because all I get is the same recorded message my caller got "All circuits are busy at this time, try your call later".  Rather ridiculous there is no way to find out what is going on.

 

 

 

New Visitor
james5
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-27-2011

Re: Outage Reporting

What's up with customer service is there no way to speak directly with comcast. my phone is out and there VM points me directory assistance. Not real pleased at the moment!

Visitor
Moqy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-27-2011

Re: Outage Reporting

Finally found how to contact Comcast Customer Service, had to do it through a chat window.  I spoke to Jullane, she was very nice and patient but could only relay the info she was given and that alone was a mish mash of nothing.  I did not get nasty with her but she did realize the frustration.

 

First I was told it was a maintenance issue so I asked if this was the case and that their work would result in an outage why were the customers told. They don't do that.

 

Then I was told it was an planned outage, again I asked why customers weren't notified, then it was an unplanned outage.

 

Then there was an on going problem with a phone node and/or server in our area.  Back to the question of why no notification....Can't do that when there is a problem like that.  I brought it to her attention that if it was an on-going problem then Comcast should have a back up plan for their customers so they can continue to get the services they paid for.  Nope that doesn't happen, only in selected markets. 

 

Yep it was that ongoing problem and selected markets that got me hot....if it really was an ongoing problem then an email could have been sent, or some telemarketing type call before the situation blew into no service or even something in our bills telling of this problem and what we could expect if it happened would have been nice.....but then to also be told that we aren't in a selected market where apparently notices are given?  You'd think Comcast would care about ALL their customers and give them all the services, respect and care they give anyone else.  Guess not.

 

Our bill has NEVER been late in being paid.  I pay for services and I expect those services and I also expect to be treated like a Class One Customer, not some Podunk just because I don't live in a selected market.  Pathetic Comcast!  But again Jullane was very competent and pleasant to deal with.          

Cable Expert
i-am-nerdburg
Posts: 11,199
Registered: ‎06-27-2009

Re: Outage Reporting

Okay first...just forget everything anybody said in Comcast Chat, they tend to give bad information (don't get me started.) Usually when you can call out but calls are not coming in, there is a problem in a switch somewhere. You need to call Comcast and have them escalate the problem to a specialist. I guess you'll have to use your cell phone :smileysad:

Visitor
Moqy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-27-2011

Re: Outage Reporting

I understand that but even calling Comcast's 800 number I'd get the same recorded message.....about all circuits are busy, try again later.  My son tried calling several people he deals with through his work and could tell who was on Comcast and who wasn't.....as he kept getting the same message....so even using a cell phone to call Comcast you still wouldn't get through,    

Cable Expert
i-am-nerdburg
Posts: 11,199
Registered: ‎06-27-2009

Re: Outage Reporting

Ahh okay I misunderstood your issue. Drop a note to we_can_help@cable.comcast.net. Most likely if it is a large outage Comcast is already aware of the problem, but it wouldn't hurt to tell 'em anyhow.

New Visitor
james5
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-27-2011

Re: Outage Reporting

I was also able to resolve my problem via chat. the only issue was not being told that a complete hard reset means pulling the modem battery out too. I figured that out on my when all the lights didn't go out after pulling the plug. I wonder who you contact if your bundle goes out and you don't have internet either?

Hope I never have to find out.

Visitor
Moqy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-27-2011

Re: Outage Reporting

Fortunately late that afternoon I got a call from my brother in the midwest, only then did I know we could receive calls but by that time of day all business I should have gotten done was put on hold until Tuesday. 

 

 

New Visitor
salvacionpc1
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-29-2011

Re: Outage Reporting

Okay Everyone,  I've had comcast triple play since 09/2010.  Cable and internet are fine but digital voice is terrible.  6 mos out of the last 7 mos of service I've experienced dropped calls, poor reception, outages and squirrles chewing on the cable lines.  Comcast is supposed to be the leader in fiber optics, so I believe these outages are intentional to save Comcast money!  Take a look at your digital voice fee if you have triple play.

That fee is the cheapest of your itemized bill.  Think about it!  You get unlimited local and long distance calling toll free for about $8.00 to $9.00 per month!  Comcast has to make up that expense somewhere.

 

FYI, always get to a computer/laptop and chat with service rep to resolve digital voice issues.  It may take an hour or so but they can get you back up and connected.   Calling in to resolve the problem will get you no where.

New Visitor
New Visitor
ilo
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-30-2012

Re: Outage Reporting

we still have no TV or Internet .. i am in the Waynesboro VA area... does anyone know how long it will take to be fixed ?

Contributor
deb1928
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-25-2012

Re: Outage Reporting

We have been without phone service since 2 pm yesterday. There are no answers as to what happened and Customer Service can only say they are working in our area. I've yet to see one Comcast truck anywere in this area.

Contributor
deb1928
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-25-2012

Re: Outages

We have been without phone service since 2 pm yesterday. There are no answers as to what happened and Customer Service can only say they are working in our area. I've yet to see one Comcast truck anywere in this area.