Reply
Contributor
manuel5
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-16-2013

setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax machine

Can i hook up a 4-in-1 HP printer/fax/copier/scanner to my 3-in-1 modem/router/wifi?  How do I set up the modem to accept fax calls?

Official Employee
Posts: 3,761
Registered: ‎10-04-2008

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

Do you have phone service?
New Visitor
sunshinegirl13
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-17-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

I also have an HP All in One (Officejet 6600) that i just purchased.  I have set up the fax through the wireless settings and it seems to work fine (pass the test).  My only problem is that in order to receive faxes I have to be home because of the fact being that I have voice mail through my Comcast line.  In order for it to auto answer there is the need for an additional phone number.  I haven't checked in with Comcast/Xfinity on the additional charges for the second phone number or if I could even get an additional line as of yet, but planning to.  Hopefully the additional $$ are too much, I'm already paying enough.  

New Visitor
crazedrn1
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-17-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

I also have a wireless HP all in one.  How did you get it set up to send and recieve faxes?  All I get is "active phone line no detected"!  

Contributor
manuel5
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-16-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

yes, i have phone service. i found the answer on my printer's user's guide,had to use the phone cord that came with the printer (HP says their phone cord is different from other generic phone cords). because i already have another phone line for voice, i asked comcast to turn off the voicemail on my fax line.  I then turned on the Auto Answer so my printer could receive faxes automatically. comcast current rate for secondary line is $21.90/mo

New Visitor
sunshinegirl13
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-17-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

Make sure the phone line is connected to line-in #1. and not the one that has the white cover on it. If you have the wireless setup it was pretty easy. Also make are you are entering your home phone number when prompted during setup. Good luck.....

The biggest issue that I am having now is: I have an iMac All in One desk top about 4 yrs old with snow leopard 10.6.1, when I download the software it tells me that I have problem with download because I don't have 10.6 or better (which I do have). It won't let me have the HP Utility tray. I'm thinking that I will have to uninstall then re-install, but not today, very busy.
New Visitor
sunshinegirl13
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-17-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

Wow!!! an additional $21.90 a month, the fax ain't that important to me, just nice to have when I need it. They're already draining my wallet dry....
Official Employee
Posts: 3,761
Registered: ‎10-04-2008

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

Actually it's 11.95 second line with no features, 21.95 with features, fax lines don't need features
Contributor
manuel5
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-16-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

thanks for the tip!  i'll call comcast to downgrade my fax line to $11.95.

New Visitor
crazedrn1
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-17-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

My HP officejet 8600 isn't setting up as a fax.  I have the 2 prong wire, but still nothing.  HP has you buying all these different wires:  RJ-11, RJ45.  I have WiFi and bluetooth, why can't I use them?  It seems so much easier.  

 

COULD SOMEONE PLEASE HELP?  there are quite a few posts to set up, but only one answer  :smileysad:

Regular Contributor
14Kc
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎02-24-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

I too just installed an HP printer today!  So - assuming reading your post there is NO WAY of using Xfinity's Voice mail Service along with the auto answer on the fax or have you found other alternitives?

New Visitor
crazedrn1
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-17-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

I gave up waiting for a reply and did a "chat" online.  You would not believe how easy it was for me to fix my fax.  NO ONE mentioned that if you connect your gateway directly into a phone jack the rest of your phone jacks are now accessable!!! I now have my fax plugged directly into a jack and it works fine.  AMAZING!  Took a month to find out something soo darn simple!  Good luck.  Hope you find an answer too.  

 

I will have to get rid of the voice if I want to have my fax answer automatically again though.

Regular Contributor
14Kc
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎02-24-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

Thanks! I was able to 'hook' up the fax to phone line after trial n error!  I'd like to use the Voice Mail & Fax  together but guess this can not be done??? Can an answering machine be hooked up to our Xfinity X1 equipment to have use of a voice recorder & Fax machine for 24/7 useage? Thanks

Contributor
manuel5
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-16-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

thanks crazedrn1!  AMAZING tip!

Regular Contributor
14Kc
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎02-24-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

If an answering michine is able to be hooked up - let me know! How ? Thanks!

New Visitor
ctupton
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-03-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

I could not believe HP help line could not help me set up the 8600 Officejet Pro printer fax with my wireless Comcast Internet service. She told me I had to use the cord to connect the printer to the wall. That contradicts the HP instructions about using the wireless syste,. That says DON'T have a cord connecting the printer to the wall.  I have read the other answers here, but I am still confused. Thanks, chris (christine)

Regular Contributor
14Kc
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎02-24-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

ctupton -  Are using the X1 Platform?  If so and have the Combo Wireless  / Router single tall slender box you can hook your HP Printer on the same line as your Phone Line on the back of this box but you will need to purchase an adaptor that allows 2 items to go into a single phone connect on the wireless/Router box. Hope this helps!  It's how I was able to get my HP wireless fax up and running! PLUS be sure to use the cord which comes with the printer as a generic longer one which I had would not allow me to get the machine working only until I switch back to the HP cord ( as stated in the Instructions)  would it start working correctly!  Good Luck! 

Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-01-2004

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

ii have an hp all in one and cannot fax.  the 2 wire phone cord is plugged into the wall and then to the line 1 on the fax; the ext 2 cord is plugged into the adaptor on the modem; another cord from the modem to the answering machine.  also, i have a router connected to the modem. help

Regular Contributor
14Kc
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎02-24-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

If you are using the X1 - Xfinity wireless router / modem combo tower - Hook the HP Fax line  and Phone line together using a double line connector see below -in  the upper left side where the single phone line usually goes. Hook HP into electrical outlet and it should work. If you hook the HP line to the Right side of phone line without using the dual connector it will NOT work! I did this myself when I was setting up my HP printer !  Below is the 2 for 1 connector I used:

 

RCA® TP257/TP257X 2-IN-1 Modular Adapter

RCA® TP257/TP257X 2-IN-1 Modular Adapter

Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-01-2004

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

thank you, that does work.

Regular Contributor
14Kc
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎02-24-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

:smileyblush:Glad I could help!

New Visitor
jrb311
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-25-2014

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

I plugged my HP8600 directly into the wall and still nothing. I have this AIO at home and at the office with Comcast and same result.

Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-01-2004

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

i have comcast x1 platform/voice modem and a router.  the cord from the fax line 1 port plugs into the double adaptor on the modem.  another cord from the double adaptor to the wall.  the third cord from the fax ext 2 port to the telephone/answering machine.  i hope this works for you.

New Visitor
ask-jud
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-26-2014

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

Need to have a double ring when a fax comes in.  How do I accomplish this?

Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-01-2004

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

i'm not sure what you mean by double ring-have you called the manufacturer?

Regular Contributor
14Kc
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎02-24-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

Are you using - RCA® TP257/TP257X 2-IN-1 Modular Adapter which is pictured above?  This has to be inserted in the top LEFT Phone slot on the X1 all-in-one Wireless/Router box.  Then insert the Phone line and HP Printer line into this single device. 

New Visitor
ctupton
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-03-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

No one ever suggested that. I will check on it. Where do I get that?Thanks, christine

Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-01-2004

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

i think you can get them from Radio Shack, Best Buy, and probably ATT stores-probably others as well.

Regular Contributor
14Kc
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎02-24-2013

Re: setting up HP fax/printer to modem as fax mach

also try WALMART or a Hardware Store. It's around $3  cheap fix! Worked for me anyway!