Reply
Regular Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎04-01-2007

How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

I had the Xfinity X1 service installed in my home yesterday. I had one X1DVR installed and one regular X1 HD installed. When I hit the power button on the remote the DVR box does not power off at all. The only way I'm able to power it off is physically hit the power button on it. To turn it back on I can use the remote just fine but then again I'm at not being able to turn it off with the remote. When I hit the power button I can see the cable box green LED light indicating it is receiving a remote signal but just doesn't power off. Is there a reason for this? Is this a bug maybe? My regular X1 HD powers off just fine with the remote. Other then that the box works fine. Thanks.

 

Bronze Problem Solver
C_DM
Posts: 886
Registered: ‎02-27-2013

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

One of the recent updates to the box changed the functionality so that the box wouldn't get powered off from the remote.  It used to be that it would only be like that when paired in RF mode, but now whether in RF or IR mode the remote won't turn off the box.  Technically speaking though, the box doesn't really turn off anyway--even when the power light would go off the box would continue running with a fan and everything else using about the same power as when the power light is not on.

Contributor
Contributor
K_S
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎12-10-2012

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

Turning it off would  shut the audio. I have HDMI going to the TV and Audio going to a Receiver. The remote cannot turn off the Recevier and now it cannot turn off the STB, so all it does it turn off the display and I have audio coming out of the STB and receiver. Every time I need to turn off the 'TV" i have to turn the STB off at the box itself.

 

Contributor
woodsfortysix
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-26-2013

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

[ Edited ]

Just had X1 installed today - DVR and 3 remote HD boxes.  None of them power off with the remote - at least the green light is still on until you do it manually.  Not concerned about the green light, but how do I really know if the box is off? 

Follow-up - looks like the X1 box is really on - if I "power down" via the remote the TV goes off, but the green light is still on.  If I manually turn the TV back on, then everything is on - the cable box never really went off.  I understand that this makes for a quicker startup, but really do not like wasting electrical power, or since one of these is in a unit with doors that close when it is off, I do not want the heat build-up.

Suggestions on how to turn it really off with the controller?

Bronze Problem Solver
C_DM
Posts: 886
Registered: ‎02-27-2013

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

[ Edited ]

woodsfortysix wrote:

Just had X1 installed today - DVR and 3 remote HD boxes.  None of them power off with the remote - at least the green light is still on until you do it manually.  Not concerned about the green light, but how do I really know if the box is off? 

Follow-up - looks like the X1 box is really on - if I "power down" via the remote the TV goes off, but the green light is still on.  If I manually turn the TV back on, then everything is on - the cable box never really went off.  I understand that this makes for a quicker startup, but really do not like wasting electrical power, or since one of these is in a unit with doors that close when it is off, I do not want the heat build-up.

Suggestions on how to turn it really off with the controller?


Take a look at the dicsussion earlier in the thread, pretty much all of this has been covered.

Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

I got my new X1 Monday.  It will not respond to the "Power Off" button on the Remote.  I called Xfinity and and after a 45 minute wait, was disconnected.  After another hour of on hold I reached a tech who had no clue and was sending out a tech.

 

Today, before my appoinment, I was called by a Senior X1 specialist.  He stated that the X1 is designed to NOT shut off with the remote.  I asked "Why?"  He stated that so many people would shut off the box, but the TV would stay on and it confused thousands of people?

 

Perhaps this is a sign of how bad our educational system is in the US?  People can't figure out how to do something, so the rest of us have to suffer?  Oh?  If you want the box off, do like they did in the 60's...go over and manually turn it off...

 

And in closing...when you want the X1 back on..the remote does do that?  Amazing mentality of whoever designed this..."on, but not off"

Visitor
AllanIm
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-07-2010

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

Comcast please fix this - hit power on - turn on - hit power off - turn off. Simple. Everything else works like this.  No logic can substantiate having to manually press a button to turn this thing off.  Then fix your chronically pathetic customer service - you have fair to good, and some very good, products but customer service so poor it seems impossible to get worse - you come up trumps there - first in every category of bad service.  Wake up Comcast management - smell the roses - your monopolistic position cannot last forever (or, wait, did I write that- this is the land of cronyism, fillibusters and lobbyists campaigning against consumer rights).  What a nice dream.  Hate supporting you.

New Visitor
MrSid
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-13-2013

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

Well then. I got it in my home today and noticed the same thing. So it won't turn off huh? And it hasn't been able to for at least 6 months. I have a feeling I'm gonna get a tech guy on the line telling me they do not turn off. Which might have been in the manual but I'm a lazy bas.. Well I didn't read it. I think I'll go do that. FINE!!!

Regular Contributor
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎09-26-2008

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

[ Edited ]

This may help.  Comcast says they are working on it.

 

 

 

http://customer.comcast.com/help-and-support/cable-tv/x1-power-save-faqs

New Visitor
mcdonaldtm
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-19-2013

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

I have the same issue and just got off a chat with Comcast support.  Comcast remotes do not power on/off my yamaha receiver, but are able to control the volume.  So, when I attempt to power off the sound is still on because the X1 box doesn't go into power save mode, and the receiver doesn't power off because the remote can't control its power.

 

So, they've temporarily disabled power save (not actually power off), but the on-site technicians nor customer support know this.  I had to do a Bing search to find this.

Regular Problem Solver
Posts: 923
Registered: ‎11-03-2008

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

So with power save off, an HDMI control command is issued to turn the receiver on when the box is powered up?

 

That's how my Sony Internet Player with Google TV works.  I leave power save off so that the unit powers up when I select the HDMI input that it is connected to on my TV.

New Visitor
mcdonaldtm
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-19-2013

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

The problem is not related to HDMI, and I doubt the X1 box has the ability to control power with other manufacture TVs/receivers like you do with Sony.  Comcast's X1 box is programmed to ignore the remote's power down (power save, actually) command.  Therefore, the box stays on in full power mode unless you push the button on the console itself, then it goes to sleep.

 

For those of us with receivers, Yamaha in this case, what happens when you power down all components is that only the TV turns off and cable w/sound stays on.  Comcast tecnician told me to exchange my remote, which I'm not going to do.  In my case, the sound stays on because the Comcast remote isn't able to toggle the power on my receiver, but it does control the volume just fine.

New Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-14-2007

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

I was told that it was so that they can do upgrades and updates in the middle of the night. If you turn off the box, you don't get the updates.

Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-07-2006

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

Glad I'm not the only one! I just read the announcement about Comcast's addressing of this issue. However I'm going to say that I'm sure the percentage of people who DO know how to use a remote correctly seriously outweighs those who don't. It's completely unfair that such a drastic measure, yes drastic, was made about something that has been a common feature on remotes for an extremely long time. I say drastic because when it's late at night and I'm in bed and want to turn off my tv, I do NOT want to have to get out of bed just to turn off the box!

My suggestion to Comcast is to make it an extra setting that you can disable the remote's ability to power off the box. Make the ability to turn the box and tv on and off with just the power button on the remote a normal function of the power button. I'm sure you see by reading these comments that it's an enormous inconvenience and is definitely not with the times. Please stop inconveniencing all of your customers because a small few aren't as technically inclined as the rest of us. And it really does not take a techie genius to figure out how to use a remote.
Bronze Problem Solver
John3758
Posts: 2,392
Registered: ‎09-09-2009

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

[ Edited ]
Yes it's annoying. Honestly, I don't know why Comcast can't just put something on the screen when the box is off. Both Dish and Verizon do this, it says something like "Your cable box is off, press *button* to turn it on"

Also for the conspiracy nuts out there, it also gives the channels ratings that don't deserve them. I refuse to watch poor taste stuff like Jerry Springer, but if I leave my cable box on that channel and go away somewhere, when it comes on they get the rating increase because the cable box is still on that channel.
Bronze Problem Solver
RickGr4
Posts: 3,665
Registered: ‎10-10-2013

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

Why does it matter? The difference in power draw between on and off is minimal.

 

I am in the audio video industry and part of my job is programming universal remotes. Trust me, we prefer that source units such as cable boxes and sat receivers stay on 24-7-365. We have found it creates far fewer problems.

 

Sometimes I think people get bent about this because it is something that has been taken from their control.... I don't care about that. I care about making things simple and foolproof.

 


DJS4 wrote:
Glad I'm not the only one! I just read the announcement about Comcast's addressing of this issue. However I'm going to say that I'm sure the percentage of people who DO know how to use a remote correctly seriously outweighs those who don't. It's completely unfair that such a drastic measure, yes drastic, was made about something that has been a common feature on remotes for an extremely long time. I say drastic because when it's late at night and I'm in bed and want to turn off my tv, I do NOT want to have to get out of bed just to turn off the box!

My suggestion to Comcast is to make it an extra setting that you can disable the remote's ability to power off the box. Make the ability to turn the box and tv on and off with just the power button on the remote a normal function of the power button. I'm sure you see by reading these comments that it's an enormous inconvenience and is definitely not with the times. Please stop inconveniencing all of your customers because a small few aren't as technically inclined as the rest of us. And it really does not take a techie genius to figure out how to use a remote.



 

 

Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-07-2006

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

[ Edited ]
It matters because the box lights up in the middle of the night, makes noises, and wakes me up. As it is I have to turn off the clock light at night because it's too bright for me. I'm not that worried about power draw.

I don't see it being about getting upset because we can't control it. It's because something such as an all power button is no longer what it's supposed to be for. Why have a separate TV power button right next to the all power one? Isn't THAT more confusing than trying to figure out how to push the power button on or off on your tv to sync it with the box being on or off??
Bronze Problem Solver
RickGr4
Posts: 3,665
Registered: ‎10-10-2013

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

I have a Companion box in my master bedroom. I turned the front panel lights down to 1 and they do not bother me. If you an X1 DVR near where you sleep, RF pair the remote and bury the thing somewhere it doesn't bother you...

 


DJS4 wrote:
It matters because the box lights up in the middle of the night, makes noises, and wakes me up. As it is I have to turn off the clock light at night because it's too bright for me. I'm not that worried about power draw.

I don't see it being about getting upset because we can't control it. It's because something such as an all power button is no longer what it's supposed to be for. Why have a separate TV power button right next to the all power one? Isn't THAT more confusing than trying to figure out how to push the power button on or off on your tv to sync it with the box being on or off??



New Visitor
guitarslv
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-14-2014

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

This does matter when the box is hooked up to a receiver that will switch to the correct audio channel when the box is turned on such as my Sony. It was for convenient only having to press one button and use one remote to switch from Blu Ray to regular tv workout using a second remote or pressing a second button. Technology is designed make things easier for the users not more difficult. By adding a little step of turning off a set top box may not seem like a lot but it is counter productive especially if technology is used to something that has been in place since the beginning of the set top box.

Comcast please add a setting in the setup menu that allows the box to either stay on or turn off when the remote sends it a signal to turn off.

Thank you
Bronze Problem Solver
manamok
Posts: 2,387
Registered: ‎01-20-2009

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?


guitarslv wrote:
This does matter when the box is hooked up to a receiver that will switch to the correct audio channel when the box is turned on such as my Sony. It was for convenient only having to press one button and use one remote to switch from Blu Ray to regular tv workout using a second remote or pressing a second button. Technology is designed make things easier for the users not more difficult. By adding a little step of turning off a set top box may not seem like a lot but it is counter productive especially if technology is used to something that has been in place since the beginning of the set top box.

Comcast please add a setting in the setup menu that allows the box to either stay on or turn off when the remote sends it a signal to turn off.

Thank you

Think of the X1 as a computer - not like an older cable box - and like a computer it takes about 5 minutes to boot up.  You wouldn't want the box to shut off every time you turned the TV off - then you would have to wait for the X1 to boot up every time you turned the TV back on.  You might miss the kickoff!!

 

It's best to leave it on 24/7/365.

New Visitor
guitarslv
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-14-2014

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

It doesn't take five minutes to turn on. I have turned it off at the box a number of times and used the remote to turn it on again and it takes the same amount of time as my tv to turn on. In fact it is quicker than the tv. Again as the customer you want things to be easier not more difficult. I understand many people are confused when it comes to electronics but that seems like a trivial thing to change. My recommendation is to add an option in the settings menu for this option. If it needs to update software then have a time that works best to do it through another option or a pre-programmed time.

BTW Your analogy is a good one but today computers are moving much quicker. In fact the new ones load in a few seconds and don't cost more than $700.
Bronze Problem Solver
RickGr4
Posts: 3,665
Registered: ‎10-10-2013

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

A properly programmed 3rd party universal remote would solve your concerns.

 


guitarslv wrote:
It doesn't take five minutes to turn on. I have turned it off at the box a number of times and used the remote to turn it on again and it takes the same amount of time as my tv to turn on. In fact it is quicker than the tv. Again as the customer you want things to be easier not more difficult. I understand many people are confused when it comes to electronics but that seems like a trivial thing to change. My recommendation is to add an option in the settings menu for this option. If it needs to update software then have a time that works best to do it through another option or a pre-programmed time.

BTW Your analogy is a good one but today computers are moving much quicker. In fact the new ones load in a few seconds and don't cost more than $700.



 

 

Regular Contributor
robut
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎04-13-2014

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

[ Edited ]

guitarslv wrote:
It doesn't take five minutes to turn on. I have turned it off at the box a number of times and used the remote to turn it on again and it takes the same amount of time as my tv to turn on. In fact it is quicker than the tv. Again as the customer you want things to be easier not more difficult. I understand many people are confused when it comes to electronics but that seems like a trivial thing to change. My recommendation is to add an option in the settings menu for this option. If it needs to update software then have a time that works best to do it through another option or a pre-programmed time.

BTW Your analogy is a good one but today computers are moving much quicker. In fact the new ones load in a few seconds and don't cost more than $700.

It doesnt take five minutes because it isn't completely off. In fact it's mostly running with the green or blue light off.  Try to pull the plug, that's off.  Part of the intent is to allow Comcast to do an automatic update during off hours at night.  It easily takes five minutes to turn on from a truely off condition.  As pointed out before it's like a computer.  Notice how long to boot it up a computer.  Also notice when microsoft does an automatic update, how long it takes to go off and turn on.  I'm sure there would be many threads of complaints if people have to wait them out.  Comcast reboots your DVR during the night.  It takes more than five minutes.

New Visitor
Tbirdgreg
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-16-2014

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

I just had my DVR installed yesterday and noticed the same issue - the box does not turn off and the blue light stays on.  That's not a problem in itself, but my DVR goes into my Samsung Home Theater system via HDMI cable then via HDMI to the TV  (video only).  Even though I power off the Samsung, it still sees the signal from the DVR and continues to play the audio even though it looks like it's off.   I have to manually power down the DVR to kill the audio.

 

I suspect that i'll have to reroute the HDMI cables to go to from the DVR to the TV then back to the Samsung. Unless anyone has any other ideas.

New Visitor
heilbrunn
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-12-2014

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

a universal remote would be an easy solution but one i can't get to work either.  my logitech harmony hub can not power cycle the remote, therefore my hdmi hub does not see the right input when i power on the tv.  i have to get up, which doesn't really make it a remote

Official Employee
ComcastAmber
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎09-15-2014

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

Hello All, were there anymore questions regarding this thread ?

Recognized Contributor
Rustyben
Posts: 433
Registered: ‎10-22-2012

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?


ComcastAmber wrote:

Hello All, were there anymore questions regarding this thread ?


add due to popular demand an exit>exit>exit>power button to put X1 in standby mode. Can't save that much power and reboot will turn it back on anyway.

Official Employee
ComcastAmber
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎09-15-2014

Re: How come my X1 DVR box does not power off?

Thank you for that suggestion!