New Visitor
Charmaine2011

Cisco RNG150 set top box - Help

I received my new Sony Bravia KDL40HX800 last week and also received a Cisco RNG150 set top box from Comcast. I am new to HDTV. It took awhile for my box to be activated. When it finally activated, the channels were showing but they were not good quality. For example, on Oprah's new network, OWN, the name OWN was blurry. The channels were poor quality - blurry, pixelated. I have a coaxial cable connected to the set top box and an HDMI cable connected from the box to my Sony TV. ALL of the channels are showing in 480i. My new TV is supposed to deliver picture in Full HD 1080p. This is a widescreen TV which should show in 16:9 resolution, but is only showing in 4:3. Why is that? Also, I am not receiving ANY HD channels, only standard channels. When I turn to a HD channel, it has something about the channel not being authorized and to call a number that is pictured on the screen. I ordered the HD kit so that I could receive HD channels. I called to get this set top box activated and when I did, only standard channels were available? Why am I not receiving the HD channels?????

In my HD kit, I received the CiscoRNG 150 set top box. Here it is: http://www.comcast.com/MediaLibrary/1/1/Customers/Customer_Support/Digital_Cable_with_OD/Digital_Cab...

The Easy Setup Guide that came with my HD kit has a section in it called - Configuring Your High Definition Picture Settings. It states "If your digital cable box is a high-definition (HD) cable box, it can accommodate various types of HDTV screens and HD picture output formats. Follow these steps to configure your HD cable box to match the settings on your HDTV:

- Confirm that the digital cable box and HDTV are connected and turned on.

***I did this***

- Turn OFF the digital cable box (not the TV) and then immediately press MENU on the digital cable box. An on-screen picture settings list will appear on your TV.