Reply
New Visitor
tjg476
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-08-2013
Accepted Solution

Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

[ Edited ]

UPDATE (Issues resolved):

 

First, I appreciate the feedback very much, thank you!

 

After a lot of research on the internet I found another user with a simliar issue (on the TiVo forums) that suggested I not call Comcast - use chat instead - and request that the rep send an "INIT hit" to the box.  That solved the issue.  I did as directed - used Comcast chat - and a competent rep did as I asked.  10 minutes (and one reboot of the TiVo box later) and I'm in business.

 

I'm very happy to be past this issue.  I am not very happy that I had to be the person to figure out the problem with Comcast myself without Comcast's help.  I basically found a Comcast rep and directed him on which specific command I wanted him to perform.  It worked, and I'm completely satisified with the result, I'm just not thrilled that I had to tell the rep how to do something they should know how to do.

 

Anyway, case closed.  Thanks again for the feeback.  I sincerely hope that this forum submission helps at least one other person in my shoes in the future (hint: use Comcast chat - ask the rep to send an "INIT hit" to the box, and reboot.)

 

***

 

While Comcast states they support cablecards in Michigan and will happily provide you with one, please take my advice and don't even try to make it work (they don't...)

 

This is day 3 of attempting the rather basic task of pairing a cablecard with a brand-new TiVo Premiere box.  The saga so far has been as follows:

 

Day 1  (Lunch) - PIck up cablecard from Comcast service center on lunch break.  Easy so far.

Day 1 (6p) - First card is bad from the store and causes TiVo to see it only intermittently.  Gave up for the night early.

Day 2 - (Lunch) - Return bad card to service center and pick up new card.  Good customer service at service center (Lansing, MI)

Day 2 - (6p - 10p) - The new card works, and the TiVo recognizes the card.  Call #1 placed to cablecard activation number - after fighting a rather significant language barrier (I speak English as my primary language, the rep clearly has some understanding of English, but it's certainly not high up on his list of skills...the screaming toddler in the background was also a nice touch.)  I'm told to wait an hour and everything will show up (insert laugh here.)  Call #2 at 90 minutes after activation to inform Comcast that I can't see any channels above "Educational Programming" on channel 21 (I have the "Digital Preferred HD" package w/HBO, so that's a problem).  The rep on the phone sends multiple "activation" signals my way to no avail.  After wasting my Friday evening on a fools errand I give up around 10p.

Day 3 - I left the box on overnight hoping for a miracle.  I was disappointed to find the box in the same state when I woke up - no changes.  I place call #3 to Comcast and ask for more help.  This time (a new rep, of course) tries all of the same things the previous rep had tried - no luck.  After placing me on a very long hold I'm told she's handing me over to billing as my card is "fine" and everything looks "ok", but there are some "numbers missing" from my card that indicate a "billing issue."  A little more hopeful this time that someone with a brain has actually found the problem, I agree to be transferred to billing.  The woman in Comcast's billing department this morning definitely did not take her happy pill this morning - by far the most unpleasant woman I've dealt with in years in any customer service interaction.  Happily for me she took a whole 12 seconds to yell at me before transferring me off to a "tech."  After about a 20 minute hold later, I get a "tech" on the line who does everything that everyone's already done in previous steps.  Same BS here (everything looks fine/I don't know why it isn't working/I need to send a tech.)  A tech is supposed to be here tomorrow between 10a and noon.  After what I've read on the internet about Comcast and TiVo I'm not at all hopeful.

 

Comcast - Please stop saying that you support cablecards when you have absolutely no understanding on how to actually support them.  Stop giving them out.  Stop fooling people into spending days on something that will never work.  

 

If the tech can't fix it tomorrow (now I'm giving up personal time on the weekend to wait for a Comcast tech) I'll take every bit of Comcast hardware in my home and bring it back to the service center and they can shut my entire account off.  I'm done.

 

Adding insult to injury is the constant blurb you have to listen to from each person at Comcast about their "Customer Guarantee."  I guarantee this - Comcast is by far the worst utility company out there.  They do not need your business, and make no effort to be helpful.  They do not care, and they also don't have a clue as to what they're doing.

 

I give up.  Comcast 1 - Me 0.  I quit.

 

Error message on TiVo: "This channel is not authorized.  Contact your cable provider for more information. (V58)"  This error message occurs for all channels above 21.

Bronze Problem Solver
edpeters
Posts: 3,325
Registered: ‎12-13-2007

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

Do not call Comcst normal number when you are dealing with a cable card:  

Call the Cable Card Hotline (during normal business hours on weekdays):  1-877-405-2298

Bronze Problem Solver
barbie123
Posts: 3,674
Registered: ‎10-18-2008

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

Do what ed said. No problems here with multiple Tivos. The people at the cablecard number knew exactly what to do, every time.

New Visitor
tjg476
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-08-2013

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

Thanks for the input - both of you - but I would argue that the people at 877-405-2298 do not always know what to do.  That was the first route I chose yesterday, and was the initial number dialed.  They didn't get it right the first (or even the second) time I called.

 

In the end I had to direct a rep (not at the number above) on what, specifically, I needed done.  That information came from TiVo, not Comcast.

 

I truly hope my 3 days of pain on this topic helps someone in the future avoid the same mess :smileyhappy:

New Visitor
ALANMAC67
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-01-2013

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

Same TiVo message (V58). I called the number (877) 405-2298 and they were able to reset my cable card for me. It is nice to be able to talk to the correct person the first time. I feel like having this number saved me an hour of frustration on the phone.

New Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-22-2009

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

I have a TIVO with a cablecard and I have been having an issue with the V58 and %s channel error message ever since I purchased an HD TV.  I just tried doing what you said sloved your issue, but the "analyst" i spoke to on chat said the "INIT hit" was something they sent to cable boxes not cable cards.  So I just want to clarify with you that you have a TIVO box with a cablecard that an "INIT hit" was sen to, right?

Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-19-2007

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

It took a week, and we finally have our Tivo up.  2 attempts at self install and one Comcast visit failed.  A supervisor (the only ones who apparently have working cable cards) got it working in minutes with a live visit.

 

I have filed a complaint with the FCC.  Comcast does not want you to use Tivo, they want you to use their own equipment.  They make self-install impossible.  We've been using Tivo with cable cards for over 9 years in multiple rooms, and we've never NOT had a big deal in getting them paired or even getting one that works.

Regular Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-28-2009

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

I WAS LUCKY; I got my TiVo Premiere (75 hr HD version) and hooked it up; it acted WEIRD; I do NOT remember what I did (called tech support and was to get a (service call) visit) and I got it squaread away. NOW the TiVo unit works flawlessly; I get all I paid for and can 'tape' and xfr all my stuff to my PC to do with it as I see fit

 

I see on boards all over the internet there is a LOT of issues with Cable Cards that CoMCAST supplies

 

I HAVE NO IDEA WHY; that is for people smarter than me to opine about.

 

AGAIN I LOVE the flexibility my 2 tuner TioVo gives me; well it isn't free but what is that works today ?!?!?

New Visitor
joe_v
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-24-2013

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

[ Edited ]

Thank you!  Thank you thank you thank you!  Lost my service due to an outage, and, after service was restored, was getting the V58 message on channels I know I had prior to the outage. 

After going through the provisioning of a different card, was sent to an Account Specialist because "rate codes were missing" -- went through several checks with him, and it was coming down to "the card isn't refreshing" and I figured the next step was "go get another card".

So, as I was forewarned with your AWESOME post, I said "you know, I did some Googling, and the first hit for 'Not authorized V58' is an incredibly well-documented post on Comcast's forums from a person who went through all this and more  -- recommendation is to request an init signal sent" -- the rep was like "that's not supposed to work, but we'll try it".

I now have all my channels back.  He was REALLY surprised stating that should only work for boxes, not cards.  I requested, and he was obviously making the request, this information be put in their Knowledge Base/Portal for future TiVo users.

Again, THANK YOU so very much!

New Visitor
arnoldbe
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-25-2013

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

I wish I would have found this about 2 hrs ago. I access xfinity on demand via TiVo. I have been getting errors about 80% of the time when trying to access xfinity on demand. Usually I just keep trying and eventually I get in--Except for this past weekend. I have been trying to get caught up on Graceland using xfinity on demand. Normally once I get in, I can watch shows fine. This entire weekend every time I try to watch anything, it starts and then freezes. Meanwhile, the timer bar looks like the show is playing. I spent 2 hours and chatted with about 4 different Service representatives. The canned responses they keep giving you are infuriating. Also, even though I told them about 10 times that I was using a TiVo, they kept telling me to return my cable box. Finally, one rep claimed to be sending some commands to my TiVo. That didn't work so he had me unplug my TiVo, wait 60 seconds and voila it worked, after waiting for my TiVo to boot up for 10 min that is. Next time, I'll start with the TiVo reboot and if that doesn't work I'll go straight to the forums to get help from someone who has a clue!
New Visitor
danep
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-17-2013

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

This worked for me when nothing else did.  After several days, dealing with "chat" and making phone calls, the Cable Card Activation number (877) 405-2298, fixed my problem in about 20 Minutes.

Recognized Contributor
DeltaOne
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎02-22-2013

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

I'm thinking of stopping by my local Comcast office and getting a CableCard.  Then stopping by Best Buy or Walmart and getting a Tivo Roamio.  Once home I'll disconnect my Comcast DVR, set up the Tivo Roamio and call the CableCard tech support for activation.  

 

Then evaluate the Tivo for about two to three weeks.  Then either return the Comcast DVR or Tivo.  I'll be paying for both the Comcast DVR and Tivo for two to three weeks -- but I figure this will give me an easy way out if I don't like the Tivo. 

 

Anything wrong with this plan?

Bronze Problem Solver
barbie123
Posts: 3,674
Registered: ‎10-18-2008

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

That sounds like a good plan. Make sure they scan the cablecard onto your account.

Plug in the Tivo for a few hours and let it run all of its updates before putting in the cablecard.

I have not used the Roamio, but my XL4 is awesome.

Post back how it goes.

Regular Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-28-2009

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

I have the TiVo premiere; like 500 hr recording in SD; I DESPISE SD

I do NOT have ON DEMAND in my area (YET) and found out that THIS SECTION of the KEYSTONE AREA'; N.E.P.A. is not yet pumping out the capability for using VOD in my TiVo unit.

KNOWING is 3/4 the battle...now to wait...The COMCAST HD-DVR in the other room works fine. I found out about this after scouring the forums and then contacting *THE* number at Comcast I can't recall (highest you can go and MOST informed... no entry level CSR SLUGS!))

 

TiVo users are supposed to have an activation in their bill:

 

  • ·The fix was someone in Comcast Billing department needing to add the Tivo Premiere 4 billing code for Xfinity on Demand to my Comcast account. It's called "Tivo Premier" and it's under the Bolt-On Section, not in the standard cable card section

At that point *I* got the V58 and 'call your cable co' on the screen; but again it isn't available in the 18634 zip code area; so I  need to wait until it is!

 

ALSO NOT EVERY TiVo REGARDLESS will even **ALLOW**  VOD; be AWARE!!!

 

kctobyjoe

Bronze Problem Solver
barbie123
Posts: 3,674
Registered: ‎10-18-2008

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

You are right that "on demand" is not available to all Tivo users everywhere. Thats a comcast issue, not Tivo.

I have " on demand" in my area and rarely use it. We use Netflix, amazon and hulu along with the quad tuners, and huge storage ability. Still blows away anything comcast has to offer,even the X1.

Recognized Contributor
DeltaOne
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎02-22-2013

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

barbie123 wrote: 

That sounds like a good plan. Make sure they scan the cablecard onto your account.

Plug in the Tivo for a few hours and let it run all of its updates before putting in the cablecard.

I have not used the Roamio, but my XL4 is awesome.

Post back how it goes.

 

It went well.  Set up two Tivo Roamio units last night.  One failed -- one of the two CableCards given to me by my local Comcast office was DOA.  So, one of the two Roamio's was set up and working well.  Love the guide and user interface!

 

Went back to the Comcast office this morning to swap the DOA CableCard.  And I asked for a 2nd, just in case.  Good thing I did -- one of the two was also DOA.  Came home and set up the 2nd Roamio Plus -- and it's working well.  So, all in all -- I was given four CableCards and two were DOA.

 

Then I set up two Tivo Mini's (let you watch live or recordings from the Roamio Plus).  One in kitchen, one in bedroom.  They're set up and running well -- we can watch live TV or recorded shows in both the kitchen and bedroom.  You can even schedule recordings -- you can do anything at the Mini that you can do at the Roamio Plus.  Neat stuff.

 

We're really going to enjoy having HD in the kitchen and bedroom -- never had that before.  And it'll be great to have ALL our channels in those rooms too -- and to be able to watch recordings.

 

Next Saturday I'll be returning our old Comcast set top boxes -- all of them.

 

I was told that CableCards are $7.50/month -- when you also have a Comcast STB.  Once I return the Comcast set top boxes, the first CableCard will be free, the 2nd one will be $7.50 a month.

 

Wish I'd made this change from Comcast STBs to Tivo long ago!

 

 

Bronze Problem Solver
barbie123
Posts: 3,674
Registered: ‎10-18-2008

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

That's awesome. The Roamio sure makes the X1 look pretty sorry.

 

Regular Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-28-2009

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

I was under the impression COMCAST cable cards are $1.50 a month. NO MORE

I have a 2nd COMCAST HD-DVR in the other room; no other COMCAST units

Bronze Problem Solver
barbie123
Posts: 3,674
Registered: ‎10-18-2008

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

My first card is no charge, the second one is $7.50/mo.

Recognized Contributor
DeltaOne
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎02-22-2013

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

[ Edited ]

Before purchasing our Tivo, I had learned from the Tivo web site that Comcast OnDemand was available in our area.  Once the Tivo was set up I couldn't get OnDemand to work, kept getting an error message.  I was getting to OnDemand by going to channel 1.  Later I found a better way.  Choose Watch Live from Tivo Central and scroll down a bit -- there's an Xfinity OnDemand option.  And it works!

 

I suspect we'll be using OnDemand less (or not at all) now that we have a Tivo with six tuners.  But it's there just in case.

Recognized Contributor
DeltaOne
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎02-22-2013

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

[ Edited ]

Re: That's awesome. The Roamio sure makes the X1 look pretty sorry.

 

I'm curious -- my Tivo Roamio and Mini connect via my home Ethernet network.  Does X1 use Ethernet or coax to connect?

Bronze Problem Solver
barbie123
Posts: 3,674
Registered: ‎10-18-2008

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

When the On Demand feature is available, it appears in the Tivo menu.

My understanding is the X1 connects via coax, with the ethernet for future use.

Regular Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-28-2009

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

$1.15 on my bill verified for cable card; using only 1... it may have something to do with the TIER I buy ?!?!?

Bronze Problem Solver
barbie123
Posts: 3,674
Registered: ‎10-18-2008

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

Comcast has different pricing in different areas. Even they can't tell you what their charges will be.

New Visitor
maryjane1313
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-15-2013

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

I havent had much issue with the cable cards working, but i am unable to use on demand or PPV, i have a Series 3 HD, and even though a customer service rep said he has been using it for 5 years i am still unable to locate this "xfinity" option in my Tivo menu. Any ideas? Or was the first rep right saying it wont work. 

Bronze Problem Solver
barbie123
Posts: 3,674
Registered: ‎10-18-2008

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

On demand for the Tivo is only available in certain areas. It will just appear in your menu when it is available.

New Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-05-2007

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

[ Edited ]
After 15, yes 15 phone calls about not having VOD on my TiVo and 3 cable cards and 3 techs in my house and losing my premium station 2 times. The latest tech finally figured out that the problem was a low comcast signal from the street and had nothing to do with TiVo or the cable card that I have. Always ask them to check the signal coming to the TiVo, outside house and at the street. I hope this helps. It would have saved me hours and days and many phone conversations with less than competent comcast people. The last two tech that came to the house were great.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-28-2009

Re: Comcast + TiVo = DON'T DO IT!

The ON DEMAND setup for us TiVo users...well it was NEVER a network wide rollout (all at once)

After getting everything 'ready' billing- wise; the right 'group' turned on in billing...at least is the 'Northeast Corridor' (?) NEPA is still is not available ;-( ;      I wasn't given a FIRM rollout date...it, like Christmas 'is coming' .    They basically told me to just keep checking...I can live with that !!!

 

kctobyjoe