Reply
Contributor
hnickm
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-26-2011
Accepted Solution

Image “too big” - not an aspect setting issue

Last week everything on Comcast was fine.

Over the weekend, I noticed the problem - during a baseball game in HD, the score display in the upper left only showed the visitors half of the display. The same problem was visible on the Weather Channel - graphics along the edge were only partly visible.

I tried all the aspect settings - they made the problem worse (including 4:3), as none of them make the source image smaller.

My first thought was that Comcast made some change, but I reviewed my settings in case I accidentally changed something. So, I rebooted the DVR - same problem after.

Current display related settings are:

DVR: Cisco RNG200

     Menu>Setup>Screen Position Setup: the arrows are centered on the screen

     BTW, the HD Zoom button on the remote has no effect

A/V Receiver:

     Menu>Input/Output Assign>Monitor Out>Resolution: Auto

     Menu>Source Setup>Picture Adjust>Wide Mode: Auto

     Menu>Source Setup>Picture Adjust>Picture Mode: Direct

TV:

     Menu>Picture>Picture Mode: THX

     Menu>Picture>Aspect adjustments>Screen format: Full 

     Menu>Picture>Aspect adjustments>HD Size: 2

     The “FULL” and “2” settings displayed the most picture area

 

Again, the various aspect settings neither fixed nor improved the problem.

 

Before I call Comcast (sigh), does anyone have any ideas to try?

Thanks

Silver Problem Solver
commanguy
Posts: 5,334
Registered: ‎01-11-2010

Re: Image “too big” - not an aspect setting issue

[ Edited ]

From the manual

Stretch and Zoom Program

You can stretch and zoom SD or HD programs by pressing the # key on the remote control.

 

Also just to ask how is the box connected to the tv? There have been a couple of other postings I believe on this same issue with the same box. It may be the signal coding from the broadcaster not getting decoded correctly.

Thanks and good luck

Contributor
hnickm
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-26-2011

Re: Image “too big” - not an aspect setting issue

Thanks for the help.

All the "stretch" functions make it bigger - i need to make it smaller.

I never thought about the decoding in the box, so I checked the SD stations (baseball and Weather Channel) and they are displaying properly.

Maybe it is the box.

Off to Comcast.

Contributor
hnickm
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-26-2011

Re: Image “too big” - not an aspect setting issue

Fixed!!

Called Comcast and the nice lady told me what to do.

Turn DVR on. Then turn it off and quickly press and hold the "menu" and "info" buttons.

An HD setup screen appears. Follow the directions.

HD is now correct again.

Contributor
DavH
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-29-2012

Picture of Image Displayed is too big on HD Channels

I just connected up a LG, model 47LS4500, LED and noticed all the HD channels were displaying too wide and cutting off part of the picture.  

 

I finally figured out the problem was with the "HD Zoom" setting on the Comcast Xfinity DVR box.  

 

You can see the HD Zoom button near the bottom on the Comcast Xfinity remote control.  

 

Pushing this button let me see the entire picture on the HD channels.  Hope this helps someone else new to HD channels.  

New Visitor
loloqui23
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-05-2013

Re: Image “too big” - not an aspect setting issue

you can set it back after that?

 

New Visitor
RickyDebbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-07-2013

Re: Image “too big” - not an aspect setting issue

None of the Solutions steps in the "Solutions" area worked for me. I have a Sony 42" and have been through every setup option for the cable box and the TV. I've looked at solving this off and on over the last 6 months. 

New Visitor
jc02
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-27-2013

Re: Image “too big” - not an aspect setting issue

just purchased toshiba 23 inch led. I have a digital box not an HD. The image is too big for the screen and connot find a solution to reduce the size of the image.

Bronze Problem Solver
barbie123
Posts: 3,680
Registered: ‎10-18-2008

Re: Image “too big” - not an aspect setting issue

You cannot adjust the output size on the small DTA boxes.

New Visitor
2880264
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-03-2014

Re: Picture of Image Displayed is too big on HD Channels

worked